Fonds 175 Valleyview & District Chamber of Commerce Millennium Photograph collection

fonds-175

Click Here To Order Photos

1907-1994. — 2 cm of textual records. — 463 photographs.


Back to Finding Aids

Biographical Sketch

Sturgeon Lake was a favoured fishing and hunting base for First Nations people, first for their own food supply and later for supplying the fur trade posts around Lesser Slave Lake with meat and furs. The land was inhabited first by the Beaver First Nation, who were joined by the Cree, and after 1870 by an influx of Metis of various ethnic origins, including Cree, Iroquois and Assiniboine.

The first fur trade post was established by the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1877. By 1879, when George Dawson came through the area via an established Indian trail across the Wapiti and Smoky Rivers, a settlement had been establised there with a few log homes and several gardens containing barley, potatoes, turnips, carrots, beets and onions. The settlement increased substantially in the early 1880s and by the time the NWMP conducted their first inspection tour in 1897, there were about 40 homes and 4 fur trade posts, including the Hudson’s Bay Company compound of shop, fish house and factor’s home.

After Treaty No. 8 was signed in 1899, Sturgeon Lake Indian Reserve #54s was established beside the Lake. Sturgeon Lake Settlement was surveyed in 1907, with lake-front property granted to the HBC, the RNWMP, the Roman Catholic Mission and Revillon Freres Trading Co. Metis families living in the settlement prior to 1907 were also granted 40 acres each. That same year, the Residential School was established at St. Xavier Mission on the lake shore. The Oblate fathers had been visiting the area since 1884, and built a church in 1905. They also added a Mission Farm on the south-east shore of the lake, where they produced grains, garden crops and raised livestock. The Residential School also accepted day students, such as the Kerr and Williamson children.

Metis families, such as Eli and Eva Badger and their two sons, Paul and Dan, were among the areas first settlers. They were experts at building log cabins, craftwork such as snowshoes, and gardening. They raised the first crops, about 1905, on the land which became the Valleyview townsite and supplied hay for travelers coming in over the Edson Trail in 1911. Paul’s wife was known to be the area’s midwife. In 1916 the first European homesteaders, such as Daniel McMillar began to arrive, with the Williamsons and Adolphsons coming in 1918. Some land was settled through Soldiers Settlement Board after World War I, but the main influx of settlers began to arrive in the late 1920s.

The community’s first post office opened in 1929 along with the Red Willow Creek Store. It was with the renaming of the post office and store that Red Willow Creek became “Valleyview.” Also in 1929, the Calais School District was organized, and in the summer of 1930 the first resident nurse, Jessie Hyde, arrived. A temporary nurse residence and office-dispensary was set up in David Williamson’s original homestead cabin. Later in the 1930s a new home and office for Nurse Hyde was built. The initial medical fees were along the following lines: house-calls $1.00, visit to the office $0.50, and maternity care (including pre- and postnatal care) $10.00.

Fishing, hunting and trapping remained prodominent in the Valleyview area, where there were bear, moose, martin, fox and beaver whose furs were valuable. Traditionally in the First Nation and Metis communities, women were in charge of preparing fish, activities which included cleaning, frying, and smoking fish, saving them for months to come. In the 1930s a major winter commercial fishery was developed at Sturgeon Lake. The fish market was based on supplying eastern Canadian and American markets with whitefish, which were considered as the finest whitefish in Alberta. In the 1950s this market disappeared with the establishment of inspection proceedures and the Federal Fish Marketing Board.

Sawmills were another source of jobs and income. Burrough’s Mill operated north of Sturgeon Lake operated with a crew of fifty men, and supplied lumber for the High Prairie market as well as their own. Also, Sturgeon Lake continued to be a focal point for the Valleyview area. As early as 1920, there were “resorts” and cabins for rent around the lake to provide for recreational time.

By 1949 Valleyview was expanding with the completion and opening of a new ten room hotel, a beer parlour, and a restaurant. In September, 1950, the Pacific Petroleum Company stuck oil about seven miles north-east of the tiny hamlet. As a result of the discovery, Valleyview boomed. In only one year, 1955, the community went from hamlet to village to town status.

Custodial History

The photographs were gathered by Mary Ellen MacGregor for the “Journey to the Millenium” collection sponsored by the Valleyview and District Chamber of Commerce.

Scope and Content

This fonds consists of 463 digitized photographs, 210 digitized documents and research regarding the history of the Valleyview and Sturgeon Lake areas. A binder containing research text and scanned copies of photographs, articles and maps acts as the finding aid. The digitized documents are 210 pages of a 1910 Revillon Freres Trading Post Counter Book, preserved by the Williamson family who ran the post.

Notes

Title based on the contents of the fonds.
This collection is on display at Valleyview Public Library. Copyright belongs to several organizations as is noted in the description of each photograph.

Table of Contents

File 175.001Sturgeon Lake: The Eary Days (1)
File 175.002Sturgeon Lake: The Early Days (2)
File 175.003The North West Mounted Police
File 175.004Sturgeon Lake Trading Posts
File 175.005The Sturgeon Lake Mission
File 175.006The Sturgeon Lake Church (1)
File 175.007The Sturgeon Lake Church (2)
File 175.008The Mission Farm (1)
File 175.009The Mission Farm (2)
File 175.010The Mission School (1)
File 175.011The Mission School (2)
File 175.012The Mission School (3)
File 175.013The Mission School (4)
File 175.014The Badger Family
File 175.015The Badger/Gouchey Families
File 175.016“Two Gun” McMillar
File 175.017The Hudson’s Bay Company (1)
File 175.018The Hudson’s Bay Company (2)
File 175.019The Bodeker Family
File 175.020The Hudson’s Bay Company (3)
File 175.021The Hudson’s Bay Post at Sturgeon Lake
File 175.022The Williamson Family
File 175.023The Williamson Family (2)
File 175.024Alexander John Williamson
File 175.025The Williamson Trading Post
File 175.026Tom Kerr (1)
File 175.027Tom Kerr (2)
File 175.028The Clough Family (1)
File 175.029The Clough Family (2)
File 175.030The Keillar Family
File 175.031Keillar’s Resort
File 175.032Sturgeon Lake Sports Day (1)
File 175.033Sturgeon Lake Sports Day (2)
File 175.034The Suek Family
File 175.035Trapping (1)
File 175.036Trapping (2)
File 175.037Fires
File 175.038Fire Fighting
File 175.039Water
File 175.040Travel During Floods
File 175.041Early Farming (1)
File 175.042Early Farming (2)
File 175.043Homesteaders
File 175.044Horses
File 175.045Founding Valleyview (1)
File 175.046Founding Valleyview (2)
File 175.047Early Roads: Sturgeon Lake and Area
File 175.048Brown’s River Place
File 175.049The Sid Brown Family
File 175.050Gravel: Crushing and Hauling at the Smoky
File 175.051Community Gatherings
File 175.052The Emard and Jorgensen Families
File 175.053Rupert (Bob) Clough
File 175.054Adolphsons
File 175.055Hunting and Fishing
File 175.056Sawmills (1)
File 175.057Sawmills (2)
File 175.058Burrow’s (Burrough’s) Mill
File 175.059Wood Cutting
File 175.060Sawmills (3)
File 175.061The Soderquist Family
File 175.062Oldtimers
File 175.063Commerce
File 175.064Valleyview Co-op
File 175.065The Valleyview Motor Hotel
File 175.066Valleyview: From Village to Town
File 175.067Early Valleyview
File 175.068Booming Valleyview
File 175.069The Jack Williamson Family
File 175.070Valleyview’s Dairy
File 175.071Sturgeon Lake Settlement
File 175.072Children at the Sturgeon Lake Mission
File 175.073Indian Families at Sturgeon Lake (1)
File 175.074Indian Families at Sturgeon Lake (2)
File 175.075(No Title)
File 175.076The Stenseth Family
File 175.077The Mission School (5)
File 175.078Sturgeon Lake
File 175.079Old Families (1)
File 175.080Early Oilfield
File 175.081Old Families (2)
File 175.082The Tingstad Family
File 175.083Veterans
File 175.084Old Families (3)
File 175.085Homesteading
File 175.086B&D Cabins
File 175.087The Ramstad Family
File 175.088Hunting
File 175.089The Roman Catholic Church
File 175.090The Churches of Valleyview
File 175.091Nurses at Valleyview
File 175.092Old Families
File 175.093The Valleyview Post Office
File 175.094B&D Cabins (2)
File 175.095Early Oil Rigs (1)
File 175.096The Holmen Family
File 175.097Early Oil Rigs (2)
File 175.098People of Valleyview and District
File 175.099Early Oil Rigs (3)
File 175.100Valleyview Building Supplies
File 175.101Boy Scouts: Valleyview & Sturgeon Lake (1)
File 175.102People
File 175.103Cantex #10
File 175.104Boy Scouts: Valleyview & Sturgeon Lake (2)
File 175.105Early Oil Rigs (4)
File 175.106Margo’s Café (1)
File 175.107Frank Reber’s Blacksmith
File 175.108Margo’s Café (2)
File 175.109Sturgeon Lake Elders
File 175.110The Adolphson Family
File 175.111Guthrie Rig Fire
File 175.112Oilfield Trucking (1)
File 175.113Highway 43 (1)
File 175.114Highway 43 (2)
File 175.115Guys ‘n Gals
File 175.116Oilfield Trucking (2)
File 175.117Seismic Outfits
File 175.118The Roman Catholic Church
File 175.119Frohbergers
File 175.120Jubilee Theatre
File 175.121The United States Army Convoy
File 175.122Moving Rigs
File 175.123Revillon Freres Counter Book
175.001Sturgeon Lake: The Eary Days (1) Pre-1900Very early in the colonization period, the Indians resorting to the Lesser Slave Lake posts had chosen favoured places for seasonal hunting and trapping. Sturgeon Lake was used by the Lesser Slave Indians as the exploited all of the surrounding country within three to eight days march from the lake (HBC Archives B.115/e/4). Sturgeon Lake was used as a fishery and a hunting base by a “fort hunter” to supply Lesser Slave Lake by the latter half of the eighteenth century. Natives of the surrounding area also used this area as it is documented that in the 1870’s Cree and Métis from Edmonton and Jasper travelled to the forks of the Smoky River and the Grande Prairie every summer to hunt and pick saskatoon berries (Loggie Papers). Until the late nineteenth century Sturgeon Lake was also a favourite hunting and fishing spot for the Beaver Indians from Dunvegan (HBC Archives D.25/9). At the close of the nineteenth century, a number of intricately woven factors affected colonization and settlement at Sturgeon Lake. The expiration of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s Charter and the incorporation of the north west into the Dominion of Canada in 1870 effectively ended the fur trade era and opened the doors for the agrarian period. With the demise of the plains bison herds, the prohibition of fall fisheries at Lac Ste Anne and the end of Ford Edmonton as the primary provisioning post of the Hudson’s Bay Company, the potential for employment as well as provision of their own subsistence for the Lac Ste. Anne Métis fell sharply. With the influx of settlers into Edmonton – Lac Ste. Anne region, the resident “half-breeds” of various ethnic origins, including Cree, Iroquois and Assiniboine chose to move into the relatively unpopulated Grade Prairie – Lesser Slave Lake area. Other, primarily Iroquois, came from Jasper house. Salteaux families fled to the area from the plains fearing for their involvement with Big Bear. The main reason for choosing the Grade Prairie area, other than the relative absence of white settlers, was the rise in price of furs produced by the infiltration of independent American trades into central British Columbia and the desire to maintain their nomadic lifestyle. A North West Mounted Police report indicates that in 1901 the number of “half-breeds” in the Lesser Slave Lake area was between 500 and 600 as compared to 65 at Peace River, none at Dunvegan, and five families at St. John and twelve families at Vermillion. The signing of Treaty 8 in 1899 effectively “settled” the various native populations; after 1937, with the exception of extra-reservation marriages, there was no emigration or immigration in the Sturgeon Lake population (Father Roue interview). Independent traders such as Brown and Ken Stobart moved into the Lesser Slave Lake in the 1870’s. Their mode of acquiring furs, in contrast to the Hudson’s Bay Company system, consisted of “running for furs,” i.e., going direction to the native camps to trade for their furs. The independent traders provided the incentive for Harrison Young, who was in charge of the Lesser Slave Lake Hudson’s Bay Company post, to establish a “flying post” with the “Old Captain” (Francois Nabatsam – Oblate Records; Francois Miyotehikijikanokew) in charge of the outfit, at Sturgeon Lake in the winter of 1877 (Hardisty Papers April 1879). The purpose of the post was to service a large band of his natives from Lesser Slave Lake who used Sturgeon Lake as a base and who were beginning to trade at Dunvegan. Succeeding Le Capitaine, subsequently engaged by Ken Stobart, was the “Old Hunter” (Eatow-na-seequie-you) (HBC Archives B.115/a/10). The latter was the last native to take charge of the outfit at the Sturgeon Lake outpost for the Hudson’s Bay Company. By 1879 there was a recognized “Cree settlement” on Sturgeon Lake. The late called Ke-me-sis Sa-ga-ha-gun or “Little Sturgeon Lake” after an Indian inhabitant by the name of Namew, i.e. “Sturgeon” (Oblate Records). George M. Dawson (1881) during his track survey to determine the advantages of the landscape for the construction of a Canadian Pacific Railway line travelled through the area in the late summer of 1879. The Cree settlement on Sturgeon Lake was one destination point on his route from Dunbvegan to the Athabasca River. He followed an established Indian trail across the Wapiti and Smoky Rivers to Sturgeon Lake. Travelling along the eastern edge of the lake, Dawson came upon the Cree settlement, called Pus-kwat-si-nas, or “Little Bear Hill”. “The settlement consists of two log houses, with several little garden patches. A third house is seen across the a bay about half a mile off. Two here only “the Captain,” his son in law and a number of women and children. All the rest out hunting; Near the Cree settlement extensive flat country about 30’ above lake, fine soil and magnificent feed. Gardens have potatoes quite ripe though Indians will not dig yet for ten days. Tops touched by frost by not more than Dunvegan. Turnips very fine, carrots, beets and onions good. Small patches of barley; the heads nearly all eaten up by the mice. Some cut quite green in order to save it. A few stalks remaining in the fields quite ripe & some fine heads. A Captain [illegible] deserves to have tools & seeds to cultivate more. Gardens dug up with a wooden spade … Indians have own horses but no cattle… (Dawson ms) “The Indians here own some horses, which they winter in the grassy banks of a second large lake lying to the south of Sturgeon Lake.” (Dawson 1881). The Captain, who Dawson met and wished to employ as a guide, was unable to accompany Dawson as it was necessary for him to go to Lesser Slave Lake to take charge of goods for Stobart Eagan & Co. The Captain’s sin in law agreed to guide the party southward to Iosegun Lake where the remainder of the Captain’s group was hunting and where a guide to the Athabasca River could be obtained. The Captain’s son in law was a Métis and a brother in law of Moberly of the Hudson’s Bay Company. On the 17th of September, Dawson named “O-o-sa-gun-si-pi, a large stream, at its junction with the little Smoky.” On the 19th, he passed Smoke Lake (i-a-pe-ow Lake or Buck Moose Lake) and on the 20th, he caught up to the Sturgeon Lake hunting camp to the south of Smoke Lake. “The hunting party, we learn has now stopped; the guide’s two uncles having gone off in another direction. We have before this seen many abandoned hunting camps, but now arrive at an inhabited one. Plenty moose meat… The father…. Not a little surprised however at being followed to his secluded hunting ground…” (Dawson ms). The guide accompanied Dawson to the Athabasca River and pointed out the trail across the river which led to Chip Lake. The Indian group accompanying Dawson had wintered not far north of the Athabasca River the preceding winter after a lapse of eight years. Because of extensive fires, the woods had changed sufficiently the guide indicated he scarcely recognized it. The area was also hunted by Indians from Ioesgun Lake.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the early days of Sturgeon Lake.
 
Hudson’s Bay Company Post,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Hudson’s Bay Company Post, Sturgeon Lake. Original photograph at Glenbow Archives, number GAA 3658-12.
Location: 0175.001.2
 
Department of Indian Affairs, 1900, 1900
Map
Map showing the territory ceded under Treaty No. 8 and the Indian tribes therein.
Location: 2003.53.001
Back to Table of Contents
175.002Sturgeon Lake: The Early Days (2) Pre-1900Shortly after Dawson passed through the Cree village a substantial increase in settlement appears to have occurred. The Hudson’s Bay Company had build a “shop” at Sturgeon Lake in 1883, a fish house in 1886, and a new dwelling house in 1887 (HBC Archives D.25/9). A subsequent increase in native population is not unexpected when viewed in the context of the development of the later historical wintering pattern in association with a permanent trading post. In August of 1897, Inspector Snyder (1898: 172-173), of the North West Mounted Police, arrived in Sturgeon Lake and described the settlement which was now a thriving community. “All down the Little Smoky indication of large game were very numerous and few signs of any hunting. I learnt from the traders at Sturgeon Lake that the district was little hunted., Sturgeon Lake is about ten or twelve miles long by three or four miles broad. “It is a nice body of water with a sandy shores, except small portions of the south-west which is marshy about the narrows, where the trail crosses. The lake contains an abundance of fine white fish. There are located here during the winter season, four trading posts, namely the Hudson’s Bay Company, Miles McDermott, Rivet and Larue & Picard. During the summer the Hudson’s Bay Company and McDermott only are there. The country about the margin of the lake is prairie, upon which many of the Indians have built houses as winter quarters. To each of these houses a small garden is attached in which are potatoes of a very fine quality besides other garden products. I counted upwards of forty houses. The Indians from here hunt south to the Buck Lakes which lie between the Little Smoky and west to the Grade Prairie. They all seem prosperous. There are no white hunters in this section, and I was informed that there was absolutely no poison used in the district, neither could I learn of any traffic in liquor.” Field Surveyors Report: Original survey of Sturgeon Lake Indian Reserve #154s awarded the following parcels: Calais: Lot 1, House, Antoine Thomas, Métis, Hunter & Trapper, 47.4 acres Lot 2, House, Charles Enu (Mitchell), Métis, Labourer, 40 acres Lot 3, House, (William) Standing Ribbon, Métis, Trapper, 40 acres Sturgeon Lake: Lot 6, House & Store, Bredin & Cornwall, Traders, 34 acres Lot 5, Church & School, R.C. Mission & Indian Residential School, 156 acres Lot 4, 2 Houses, Deion Desjardin (Deome Desjarlais), Trader, 70 acres Lot 3, Store & House, Hudson’s Bay Company, Fur Traders, 97.02 acres Lot 2, House, Eli Badger, Carpenter & Hay Supplier, 70.05 acres Lot 1, Shanty, Royal North West Mounted Police, 32.25 acres Reid also shows two houses on Lot 7, the Indian reservation land between Lots 3 and 4. He does not show or not the presence of any other houses on Indian Reservation #154 in his Field Note Book from 1908. In his field book from 1904, “Survey showing position of RC Mission and Traders Building also N.W.M. Police Quarters at Sturgeon Lake Treat. 8,” Reid shows three building at Bredin & Cornwall, a building between the Church and Mission and the two of Diome Desjarde, the Hudson’s Bay buildings, a house on Lot 2, and two N.W.M.P. buildings. No other buildings are shown on his traverseThis file consists of a scanned copy of articles regarding the early days of Sturgeon Lake.
Back to Table of Contents
175.003The North West Mounted Police 1897-1941Although the North West Mounted Police had patrolled to and established detachments at Athabasca and Lesser Slave River as early as 1892 and 1893 respectively, the first patrols into the Peace River area were not made until 1897. The patrol, under the command of Inspector A.E. Snyder, with Constables Smith and McClelland, Special Constable W.P. Taylor, 7 pack ponies and 4 saddle horses, left Edmonton July 15th, 1897 on a patrol through the Jasper House, Sturgeon Lake, Grade Prairie, Dunvegan, Peace River and Lesser Slave Lake areas. They returned to Edmonton on October 15th, 1897. The purpose of the patrol was to investigate complains of lawlessness in the Jasper House area and also because of the prospect of a large number of stampeders (goldseekers) travelling through the area to the Yukon. Another patrol during the winter of 1897-98 left Edmonton on December 11th, 1897 under the command of Sergeant Major McDonnell. Sergeant Major McDonnell travelled to Fort Dunvegan via Lac Ste. Anne, the Macleod River, Sturgeon Lake, and Spirit River. He travelled a total of 800 miles; visiting Yukon-bound parties and carrying mail. On February 14th, 1901, the Peace River Sub-District was created with Headquarters at Lesser Slave Lake. The Sub-District was commanded by Inspector C.H. West and consisted of Lesser Slave Lake, Peace River Landing, Sturgeon Lake and Fort Chipweyan Detachments. It is noted that since the establishment of the Sub-District, drinking and illicit liquor dealings had diminished and that law and order prevailed throughout the area. The Mounted Police Barracks serving the 1-man detachment stood just west of the bit post, atop the high steep back which separated it from the lake shore. Near the edge of the bank was a pile of varicoloured glass, broken into pieces, that grew as time marched on. This was the spot where confiscated bottled whiskey was destroyed, in one manner or another; supposedly by whacking two bottles together. Graham Bodeker tells a story that takes place sometime between 1920 and 1929, when his parents Ben & Lutie Bodeker were fixing up an old log cabin (located right beside the Hudson Bay Post) for his grandfather. This old log cabin, which had once been used by the police, contained a “jail cell” located in one corner. The “cell” was constructed of poplar rails painted grey. There was a big cellar under the old NWMP barracks, which stood about 75 feet west of the HBC trading post. The extra space was required badly since the barracks was quite small. One of its uses was to keep potatoes from freezing. In those days, buildings for housing northern detachments of the NWMP were designed for warmth rather than spaciousness. Big and better barracks buildings came later. The North West Mounted Police Force had been created May 23rd, 1873 but did make its great trek west until the next year. A contingent reached the Edmonton area in late autumn 1874. In 1901, the North West Mounted Police opened a post at Sturgeon Lake on Lot 1 with one Constable in residence. In 1901, on Constable and one Special Constable were stationed there. The post closed in 1903 due to a manpower shortage. 1904 – Mention is made that patrols were made throughout the district, the longest being to Sturgeon Lake, the lower ends of Lesser Slave Lake and Whitefish Lake. It reopened in 1907 with one Constable in residence to intercept liquor coming into the area via Lac Ste. Anne. The post rented quarters between 1908 and 1911. A detachment building was constructed in 1911. The 1911 Annual Report notes “Although we have some land reserved there are no buildings.” The NWMP post closed temporarily in 1912 and permanently in 1917. 1908 – 1 Constable 1910 – 1 Staff Sergeant 1911-1914 – 1 Constable 1916 – 1 Corporal 1918 – No NWMP detachments in the Peace River area; the nearest are in Jasper, Brule and Fort Fitzgerald. Although only a constable then, Sergeant Sydney Clay of the NWMP had spent some time at Sturgeon Lake before the Williamson family went there to live in 1915. Sgt. Clay’s wife, Margaret, was a pretty young woman and when he brought her there to introduce to the locals he was obviously a proud and happy man. In 1915 Constable Clement “Smithie” Smith of the NWMP was regarded by the Crees and Métis as a friend. So much so, in fact, that most of them wore round, hard-brimmed Stetson hats like the one Smithie wore. Smithie was popular with the whites too for he acted as though he was genuinely concerned for their well-being. Eye-catching in his tunic and fawn-coloured Stetson, the tall, handsome constable questioned suspects and made arrests as if he seriously regretted having to take any action; that he was only doing so out of a sense of duty. He had consideration and respect for other humans’ feelings; they in turn had respect for his. Constable C. “Smithie” Smith was the first Alberta Provincial Policeman stationed at Sturgeon Lake. There had no resident police officer there for some time after Sgt. Clay left. Smithie was in his late twenties; fairly tall; nicely built; sandy-haired; sharp-eyed; genial and very courageous. The Alberta Provincial Police, who took over the policing of the province in 1916, reopened the Sturgeon Lake post in 1920, renting the old NWMP post which now belonged to Tom Kerr. Inn 1928 they moved to new quarters in Calais (Part of Lot 3) which the rented from Rupert Clough. In 1929 the Constable was concerned that the detachment was too far from the Sturgeon Lake settlement. An A.P.P. Barracks was built on Tom Kerr’s land, consisting of a new barracks and stable for that police detachment on the Williamson property adjoining Kerr’s. It was built of lumber and neatly painted. The Alberta Provincial Police were disbanded in 1932 and the RCMP resumed policing at Sturgeon Lake, renting from Williamson. The post closed in the 1940’s. From the time of their arrival until March 1st, 1917, that force, which had been given the prefix “Royal” in 1904, and became the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in 1920, kept law and order in such places as Sturgeon Lake—and all Alberta, until the Alberta Provincial Police took over in 1917. The RCMP resumed policing Alberta April 1st, 1932This file consists of a scanned copy of articles and photographs of the North West Mounted Police in the Sturgeon Lake District.
 
RCMP Paperwork, Jan 13, 1941; Feb 28, 194
Typewritten documents
Letters; Vacation Request
Location: 2003.53.016
 
Corporal Smith,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Corporal Smith of the NWMP at Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to the Nita Clough of Valleyview. Original photograph number NC 13.
Location: 0175.003.2
Corporal Smith,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Corporal Smith with some resident children. Copyright belongs to the Nita Clough of Valleyview. Original photograph number NC 12.
Location: 0175.003.3
Alberta Provincial Police Barracks at Sturgeon Lake, 1922
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Alberta Provincial Police Barracks at Sturgeon Lake, AB. Copyright belongs to the Provincial Archives of Alberta. Photograph number PA-A4802.
Location: 0175.003.4
A policeman patrolling at Sturgeon Lake,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A policeman patrolling at Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to the Nita Clough of Valleyview. Original photograph number NC 14.
Location: 0175.003.5
 
Sturgeon Lake, Jun 15, 1916; Sept 8, 193
Newspaper clipping
Marriage announcement from “The Frontier Signal”; Early tourism information
Location: 2003.53.015
“No Trace of Man Who Is Lost in the Bush in the Sturgeon Lake District”, Nov 28, 1928
Newspaper clipping
Newspaper story about search for missing man in Sturgeon Lake area.
Location: 2003.53.017
Back to Table of Contents
175.004Sturgeon Lake Trading Posts 1899-1929Sturgeon Lake Trading Posts: Desjarlais/Felteau By 1923, the Hudson’s Bay Company consisted of Kerr, Revillon Freres, and two unnamed trading concerns as well as cash buyers (HBC Archives RG3/2/2). The other trader at Sturgeon Lake then, Deome Desjarlis (Desjarlais), who had another post in Grouard, as reputed to have made lots of money in the fur trade. But he hid his money and lost it. D.M. Desjarlais opened a post around the turn of the century on Lot 4. In 1921 he sold the lot to the Catholic Church. Another trading firm did locate at the lake—300 yards north of the HBC establishment. A French-Canadian with only poor command of the English language came there from Falher, about 60 miles north of Sturgeon Lake, and built a small post in 1917. But Felteau was overly generous and gullible, and handed out credit to all comers. He went broke in a couple of years and closed the place down. In 1920 Bob Clough decided to move his post to a site just north of that of the Hudson’s Bay Company. Sturgeon Lake Trading Posts: Revillon Freres South of the Mission one would Revillon Freres Trading Post, made of flattened logs, chinked with clay and dressed in a coat of whitewash made from local marl. As for the post office at Sturgeon Lake, it was established there in 1911, when the Edson Trail opened. The first postmaster was S.M. Scott, manager of the Revillon Freres trading post. When Scott left, Tommy Jordan took his place. Between 1914 and 1916 the Revillon Freres managed was Tommy Coates. A short, slim, scholarly-looking Englishman, Coates was a bachelor who believed in physical exercise to keep fit. With this objective in mind he would always jump over the counter in the trading post instead of walking around it. So that all manner of men would know his name when they entered Revillon’s post, the Cree named Coates “Kwaski-piyahose” which meant “Jumping Jack”. Coates was a lonely individual, thirsting for human companionship, especially of the opposite sex. He confided to my father (Alex Williamson, Sr.) that he was deeply in love with one of the young Sisters in the Mission, who had not been in the Order of Sisters of Providence long enough to take her Holy Vows. Sister Margaret Mary, whose real name was Elvina Landreville, had come to Sturgeon Lake in 1914. The young Sister, though very well disposed toward her sincere admirer, pondered Coates’ marriage proposal, but declined to accept it. It was a harsh blow to Coates, but he never failed to visit Sister Margaret Mary as long as she remained unmarried to the Church. Coates left Sturgeon Lake before his love took her final Holy Vows. He had been too heartbroken to attend the ceremony that removed her from his life forever. Sturgeon Lake Trading Posts: Bredin & Cornwall Fletcher Bredin of Bear Lake and his friend James K. “Peace River Jim” Cornwall, northern Alberta’s steamboat czar, trader and the greatest promoter that booming region had at the time, established a trading post at Sturgeon Lake under the name Bredin & Cornwall in 1899. The old 1903 ledger was in that post when my father, Alexander J. Williamson, bought the post from Revillon Freres, June 1924. Revillon’s had bought all the Bredin & Cornwall posts in northern Alberta in 1906. The old trading post is located right in the middle of the Sturgeon Lake Native Reservation, on the original site chosen by Bredin and Cornwall in 1899. It is a 34 acre parcel of land that was granted to that firm when the reservation was surveyed in 1908, and turned over to the owners, Revillon Freres, by Bredin and Cornwall. When Alexander J. Williamson bought the property from Revillon Freres, the acres went with the post. Harry Garbutt, a Scot, was one of Bredin & Cornwall’s early factors at Sturgeon Lake. He became interested in a Cree lady there and became the father of a son and daughter of note. The son, named Theophile—no doubt at the suggestion of a RC priest—was nicknamed Duffy. It was Duffy who helped teach me the fur trading business when my father had put me in charge of his trading post in 1925, as assignment that lasted until early 1929. In 1905 Harry Garbutt was in charge of Bredin & Cornwall’s post. He was reputed to be a bit of an expert in treating the affliction known as “Grouard Rheumatism” (venereal disease/gonorrhoea). -David T. WilliamsonThis file consists of a scanned copy of articles and a photograph regarding the Sturgeon Lake trading posts.
 
Accounting Documents, 1908-1910
Handwritten documents
Various accounting and Inventory documents from trading posts in the Sturgeon Lake region, circa 1908-1910.
Location: 2003.53.023
 
Indian Home, Sturgeon Lake,
1 Photograph; b & w;
John Stock, Deputy Minister of Public Works on Left; A.H. McQuarrie, road engineer centre, at Indian House at Sturgeon Lake. Copright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number NA 449-6.
Location: 0175.004.1
 
Revillon Freres Trading Co. Ltd., Feb 23, 1915
Newspaper clipping
Revillon Freres advertisement from the Grande Prairie Herald
Location: 2003.53.019
The Frontier Signal, Oct 28, 1915, Oct 28, 1915
Newspaper clipping
Story about Revillon Freres’ Northern Manager, Charles W. Richardson, making his annual tour of posts in the Sturgeon Lake region.
Location: 2003.53.020
Grande Prairie Herald, Feb 23, 1915, Feb 23, 1915
Newspaper clippings
Short articles related to trading posts in the Sturgeon Lake region
Location: 2003.53.021
Revillon Freres Trading Co. Ltd, Feb 16, 1915
Newspaper clipping
Revillon Freres Trading Co. advertisement from Grande Prairie Herald.
Location: 2003.53.022
Back to Table of Contents
175.005The Sturgeon Lake Mission 1855-1903Since 1855 some of the Indians had been travelling to Lesser Slave Lake for the purposes of baptism and marriage. However, it was not until 1884 that the first Oblate Father visited Sturgeon Lake. Father Dupin left Grouard on January 2nd, 1884, and arrived at the Lake on the 6th at night. He stayed five days, giving instructions and performing the ministry: thirty-two baptisms and six marriages. Persons involved in the ministry were Moise Montagnais, Loise Napatsam and their two children Sophie and William; Andre Wakagaminakus and Marie Napatsam and their child Marie; Samuel Mayapew and Angele Chalifoux and their daughter Nancy; Anoino Napatsam and Betsy, and their children Adam and [illegible]; Francois Le Capitaine, age 50; [illegible], first wife of Le Capitaine, age 40; Angelique, wife of Le Capitaine, age 40, Angele, third wife of Le Capitaine, age 35; Marie Newayakap, age 80 years; Suzanne Siyokatchakowpiw and Suzanne Taswitch and children Julie and Pierre; Andre Sokkayawapiw, age 50. Father Dupin left on the 12th and arrived back at Lesser Slave Lake on the 15th. Between 1884 and 1902, various priests visited Sturgeon Lake on about a dozen occasions. The first resident priest arrived on March 18th, 1903: Father Louis Girard, OMI. The first person he baptized here was Francois Mosus, age 14, son of Joseph Mosus and Suzanne Miyeskutcninakusiw. Fr. Falher accompanied him for the trip and both priests got to work on the poor cabin Fr. Girard was to live in. It was an Indian shack and the could hardly stand straight inside it. There were a few openings for windows, but cloth took the place of the window panes. A small annex measuring 8’ x 9’ was added to it which was to serve as a chapel. An Indian by the name of Pemasiw helped the priests with this work. -Stephen MosesThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the Sturgeon Lake Mission. One of the photographs is digitalized.
 
Residence of the Oblates,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Residence of the Oblates, the Church, Convent, Boys’ House and School. Copyright belongs to the Donnelly Genealogical Society, photograph number ST 19.
Location: 0175.005.1
Father Auguste Husson, OMI, and the Sisters of Providence,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Auguste Husson, OMI, and the Sisters of Providence. Copyright belongs to the Donnelly Genealogical Society, photograph number ST 7.
Location: 0175.005.2
Convent of the Sisters,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Convent of the Sisters, Dormitory of the Girls, Boys House and the School. Copyright belongs to the Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 12.
Location: 0175.005.3
The Mission, 1914
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Mission, circa 1914. Copyright belongs to the Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 4.
Location: 0175.005.4
Catholic Mission at Sturgeon Lake, 1914
1 Photograph; b & w;
Catholic Mission at Sturgeon Lake about 1914. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph is at DeBolt Museum.
Location: 0175.005.5
St. Francis Xavier Mission, 1910 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Students at the St. Francois Xavier Indian Residential School at Sturgeon Lake. The school was established in 1907 on the south east shore of Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA Ob 2237.
Location: 0175.005.6
Sturgeon Lake Mission, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Rectory, The Church, The Dairy, The Girls’ Dormitory (Upstairs were the sleeping quarters, downstairs was the girls’ parlor, dining room and the kitchen), The Boys’ Hall, The Boys Dormitory (which was used during the day, upstairs was the boys’ dining room although that space had also been used as a dormitory for the boys, the main floor was used as classroom space and in later years used for kindergarten classes). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives.. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.005.7
The Oblate’s House, 1904
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Oblate’s House, the First Church in 1904, and the Convent. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 8.
Location: 0175.005.8
The Oblate’s House,
1 Photograph; b & w;
[No Description] Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 16.
Location: 0175.005.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.006The Sturgeon Lake Church (1) 1910-1920This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Sturgeon Lake church. One of the photographs is digitalized.
 
Father Roue – St. Francis Xavier Church, Sturgeon Lake in a letter to Stephen Moses,
Letter
It was in the beginning of winter of 1914 that the construction of the church was decided.; it was needed to replace the first church which had become too small for the growing population. Father Joseph Habay was then in charge of the Mission; he obtained the services of Brother Mathias, then in residence at Wabasca for the construction of the new church. Brother Mathias was a good carpenter and was put immediately in charge of the project. As soon as the lake was frozen, Bother Mathias with the help of some Indians began cutting the trees at the north side of the lake where there was plenty of healthy spruce trees. A little later the logs were hauled on horse driven sleighs and toward spring everything was ready for the construction to start. It was an all-log building, hewn logs, dovetailed, each log held firmly in to the next one by wooded pegs. All went will since on December 3, 1915, the feast day of St. Francis-Xavier, the church was bless by Fr. J. Habay and opened for public religious service. Cement was not easy to find in those days: the building reposed practically on the ground with some large flat stones at the corner. Later on, in the late 1920’s or early 30’s the logs were covered with drop sidings in the outside and planed boards in the inside of the building. Some time also in the 30’s digging was made under part of the church in order to install a wood furnace with a blower. It was found that some of the logs at the base had suffered from rot, not enough to endanger the solidity of the building. In the summer of 1954 the church was raised to put a concrete foundation under it … Unfortunately, the concrete was reinforced by steel rods, and after a few more years cracks appeared in the foundation, and this has been getting worse in certain places. This is only a partial basement and in the middle of it stands the furnace heating the church. The dirt contained by a low cement wall is being pushed toward the centre where the furnace stands and it is likely that some day will go over and reach the furnace. In recent years some work was done to consolidate the floor and the whole building, it was also repainted entirely outside and inside. -Father Roue – St. Francis Xavier Church, Sturgeon Lake in a letter to Stephen Moses.
Location: 2003.53.041
 
Church built in 1915 (1),
1 Photograph; b & w;
[No Description] Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 380.
Location: 0175.006.1
Church built in 1915 (2),
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 371.
Location: 0175.006.2
Church built in 1915 (3),
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 30.
Location: 0175.006.3
Church built in 1915 (4),
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 41.
Location: 0175.006.4
Church built in 1915 (5),
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 372.
Location: 0175.006.5
Church Built in 1915,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.006.6
Church built in 1915 (7),
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 368.
Location: 0175.006.7
Church built in 1915 (8),
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number 272.
Location: 0175.006.8
Church built in 1915 (9),
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 370.
Location: 0175.006.9
 
The Frontier Signal, Dec 9, 1915, Dec 9, 1915
Newspaper clipping
(From the “Frontier Signal,” December 9, 1915) The new Catholic Church at Sturgeon Lake was opened last Sunday. The building is 40×60 and from the floor to the top of the Cross the height is 50 feet. We have not been able to obtain the names of the officiating clergymen, but a large crowd were present to witness the Church dedicated to the worship of God.
Location: 2003.53.037
Back to Table of Contents
175.007The Sturgeon Lake Church (2) 1920-1970This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the buildings at the Calais Mission. One of the photographs is digitalized.
 
The Residential School, Oct, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Residential School in October, 1944. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 242.
Location: 0175.007.1
The Priest’s House,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Priest’s House and the Roman Catholic Church. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA 7136.
Location: 0175.007.2
Convent, 1944, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of the Convent, 1944. The structure in the yard is a teeter-totter. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 58.
Location: 0175.007.3
New school at Sturgeon Lake,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The new school at Sturgeon Lake. The old mission can be seen in the background. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA 10941.
Location: 0175.007.4
Girls dormitory, circa 1915, 1915
1 Photograph; b & w;
Girls’ dormitory, kitchen, chapel and dairy at the Sturgeon Lake Mission, circa 1915. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA 10938.
Location: 0175.007.5
New house, circa 1929, 1929
1 Photograph; b & w;
The house constructed while Father Cyprien Batte was the Superior in 1929. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 31.
Location: 0175.007.7
Residential School, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Residential School in 1946. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 411.
Location: 0175.007.8
Oblate Residence circa 1916, 1916
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Oblate Residence initiated by Father Habay at Sturgeon Lake on May 22nd, 1916. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 357.
Location: 0175.007.9
 
Old Indian Residential School To Become Farmer’s Barns, Jun 19, 1962
Newspaper clipping
“Old Indian Residential School To Become Farmer’s Barns” (From “The Edmonton Journal,” June 19, 1962) VALLEYVIEW—A major link with Sturgeon Lake’s historic past is fast disappearing: The Roman Catholic Indian Residential School is being demolished because of a change in federal Indian affairs policies. A modern four-room school has been erected by the federal government within a stone’s thrown of the site of the former school building. The new structure looks out of place against the backdrop of mission-type buildings. The government believes the time has come to have all Cree Indian children at Sturgeon Lake live at home and attend school as day-scholars. The roof of the large residential school building has been removed and the interior gutted; only the windowless walls remain and the structure has been cut into two sections so it can be moved from mission property. The sections have been purchased by a district farmer, and will become two large barns. MIXED REACTION The reaction of Sturgeon Lake Indians to the change in federal school policy is mixed. The members of the tribe who have taken up farming and a changed way of life, believe the new arrangement is a step in the right direction. However, those Cree who still make their living by other means: hunting, trapping and working on distant oil pipeline projects, appear to be in the majority, and they are extremely skeptical of the new educational setup. Prior to the closing of the old school about two months ago, Indian students resided at the mission during the week and were well cared for by the Sisters there. Weekends were spent at home. Should a student’s parents be absent from home while the father was employed on some distant project, the Sisters would care for such students until the parents returned. These people appear to believe that the Indian Affairs Branch should have pursued a different course than the one followed, in the matter of schooling. They point out that a small day-school could have been constructed for the use of those desiring this type of facility, while the residential school should have continued to operate for the use of the large number of Cree children whose parents desired such an arrangement. ESTABLISHED 1907 The residential school and mission was first established in 1907, opening during the fall of that year. Father Joseph Dupin, O.M.I. was the first priest to visit the Cree at Sturgeon Lake, making the journey there from Lesser Slave Lake village—now Grouard—in January 1884 by dog-team. Rev. Nicholas Roue, now in charge of the Roman Catholic mission at Sturgeon, when interviewed, was perturbed by the turn of events. He said the five Sisters at the mission will be transferred from Sturgeon to other points. The future of the convent building has not yet been decided. The Indian Affairs Branch has been offered the building, at a fraction of its actual value, for possible use as a home for aged or chronically-ill Indians, or some such purpose, but so far, that federal authority has shown no sign of being interested.
Location: 2003.53.047
Back to Table of Contents
175.008The Mission Farm (1) 1910-1950The big Mission establishment was built on the southeast shore of the lake, on a high bank which gave a fascinating view of Sturgeon Lake’s broad bosom. The mission-school complex consisted of many large log and frame buildings, well built and reasonably comfortable. Between the crest of the high bank and the mission buildings ran the narrow trail leading northward to Grouard and High Prairie, and westward to Grande Prairie. The lake shore below the big bank boasted a sandy beach with few weeds where the water was shallow for a good distance out from shore; the flat between the beach and the bottom of the high bank was no more than 100 feet in width. Brother Michel Mathias worked like a hatter; he was the Mission’s chief carpenter, engineer, architect and gardener—in short, he was a jack-of-all-trades who always had some project going when he wasn’t assisting Father Habay during church rites. He was also an excellent manufacturer of sacramental wine. Brother Mathias’ devotion to work was as well known as his short temps and the lump, the size of a hen’s egg that was permanently lodged above his left eye-brow. His sandy hair glistened with sweat when he laboured in the heat of summer; his locks were adorned with frost during winter’s bitter cold spells. Of all the activities he indulged in, he was best at gardening. People said he was lucky when growing vegetables and flowers at the Mission’s large farm, but that wasn’t so: it was his knowledge and untiring labour that resulted in producing good crops. The tons of potatoes he raised each year were stored in roomy cellars beneath the larger buildings; the cellars were eventually replaced by a huge underground root cellar built under a knoll near the mission laundry. Horses provided the power for the mission farm. A 12” single-bottom walking plough was originally. One man drove the horses and held the handles of the plough in position as he walked. The ploughing done, then came the disc. After disking was completed the horses were hitched to the harrows. One walked behind these infernal devices stopping to clear roots from the teeth they were studded with; coughing and choking with the dust the followed the harrows in clouds; dirtying the drivers body as well as his clothing. Cattle, hogs and chickens were raised in large numbers by the Mission staff. Food was expensive to haul in from Edson 180 miles away, so the Mission raised its own. -TeePee Fires/Red White Man The Mission adjoined the Revillon property. It was a farm-sized plot of land that, together with the Revillon land, formed a parcel entirely surrounded by the huge Cree reservation. The Revillon property was a narrow strip one mile by 200 feet in width. Both the Mission and trading post fronted on the lake’s southeast shore. Situated near the lake shore from which it was separated by a steep declivity of 90 feet and a strip of flat land, some 100 feet in depth, was the St. Francois-Xavier Indian Residential School. The large buildings were so numerous and well constructed that they formed a small village by themselves. Made of squared spruce logs, the exteriors sheathed with lumber and left unpainted; roofed with lumber, then covered with cedar shingles; equipped with a plethora of windows which gave ample lighting, the mission buildings bespoke of comfortable frontier living. The mission buildings and those of Revillon’s stood in plain view of our caboose on Kerr property, about one mile and a half east in a direct line, across Goose Creek. Father Habay had come from his birthplace in Brittany to work among the Indians and was eventually posted to Sturgeon Lake. Tall and muscular, he could out-walk, most men on the bush trails. The Sisters of Providence, who ran the convent and school, greatly admired father Habay because of his unrelenting good humour and his equally stalwart adherence to his religious beliefs. In the primary classroom, Sister Margaret Mary was in charge. The living symbol of patience, kindness and grade, her habit striving hard to hide her beauty, found her small charged friendly and tractable. Even children—not only poor Tommy Coates—lost their hearts to her. The senior classroom was a different proposition: Sister Mary du Cenacle, middle-aged and stoutish [sic], ruled with an iron hand at all times. Stern and visage, and haughty aplomb when she spoke, her charges listened attentively. No nonsense here: rigid discipline was a must, otherwise disorder would prevail of native students failed to respect the Sister. -Red White ManThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Mission Farm at Sturgeon Lake.
 
New Barn, Jun, 1950
1 Photograph; b & w;
The new barn, June 1950. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 78.
Location: 0175.008.1
Ducklings,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ducklings at Redge Moody’s. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 457.
Location: 0175.008.2
Bull,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 82.
Location: 0175.008.3
En route to Calais, winter 1939, 1939
1 Photograph; b & w;
Aime Belanger and Brother Gaucher on their way to Calias, winter 1939. The Sturgeon Lake Café, operated by Luis Suek at the time, can be seen in the background. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 106.
Location: 0175.008.4
Mission truck,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bernadette Lemieux behind her vehicle – parasol in hand. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 103.
Location: 0175.008.5
Potato harvest, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Potato harvest in the Fall of 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 98.
Location: 0175.008.6
Tractor towing “Limousine”, Jun 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Brother Arthur Dumas on the tractor towing the limousine that conveyed Mr. McCrimmon, Mr. Shead, Mr. Anderson and Father Giguere to pay the treaty in June 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 50.
Location: 0175.008.7
Picnic, Oct, 1948
1 Photograph; b & w;
Picnic in October, 1948. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 95.
Location: 0175.008.8
Sick boar., 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
A sick boar in 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 81.
Location: 0175.008.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.009The Mission Farm (2) 1940-1950This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Mission Farm at Sturgeon Lake.
 
Laundry room, etc.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Laundry room, boys’ school, convent, ice house. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 57.
Location: 0175.009.1
Barn,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 79.
Location: 0175.009.2
The old Brother’s carpentry shop,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The old Brother’s carpentry shop. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 64.
Location: 0175.009.3
Residential school, etc.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Residential school, with all buildings including those of the farm. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 02.
Location: 0175.009.4
Arrival of furnace, Nov, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Arrival of the Convent furnace, November 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 107.
Location: 0175.009.5
Farm, Jul, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Mission Farm at Sturgeon Lake in July, 1946. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 35.
Location: 0175.009.6
Home of Paul Badger,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The house seen at the end of the road, on the right, is the home of Paul Badger. It is Script Land. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 96.
Location: 0175.009.7
Father Serrand’s first house,
1 Photograph; b & w;
During his stay, Father Serrand had only this house, less than his shed in Appriere. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 11.
Location: 0175.009.8
The old Brother’s carpentry shop,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The old Brother’s carpentry shop. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 66.
Location: 0175.009.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.010The Mission School (1) 1938-1943This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the students and staff at the Sturgeon Lake Mission School.
 
Children of the Sturgeon Lake Community,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Children of the Sturgeon Lake Community gather for a photo. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 014.
Location: 0175.010.1
Sisters’ Residence and Chapel, circa 1938, 1938
1 Photograph; b & w;
This photo, taken in front of the St. Francis Xavier Catholic Mission is dated back to approximately 1938. Standing in the third row from the top, the third student from the left is Joe Sunshine. The ninth student in from the left is Emeline Thomas, born in 1928. She later married Pete Moses. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 013.
Location: 0175.010.2
Sturgeon Lake students,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake students at the dormitory during mealtime. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 231.
Location: 0175.010.3
The Boys, 1939-1940, 1939-1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
This photo, taken in front of the St. Francis Xavier Catholic Mission is dated back to approximately 1938. Standing in the third row from the top, the third student from the left is Joe Sunshine. The ninth student in from the left is Emeline Thomas, born in 1928. She later married Pete Moses. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 234.
Location: 0175.010.4
Class photo, June 1941, Jun, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Fournier, Father Tetrault, Two Sisters of Providence and Girls, June 1941. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 236.
Location: 0175.010.5
Mission girls on a picnic, Jun, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mission girls on a picnic in June of 1941. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 258.
Location: 0175.010.6
Boys’ picnic, Jun, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Boys’ picnic in June of 1941. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 257.
Location: 0175.010.7
Bishop Guy and Confirmed children, Apr 28, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bishop Guy and his Confirmed children on April 28, 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 241.
Location: 0175.010.8
Boys from the Residential School, Apr, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group photo of the boys from the Residential School and Sisters Michel and Syncletique in front of the Church, April 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 212.
Location: 0175.010.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.011The Mission School (2) 1945-1947This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the students and staff at the Sturgeon Lake Mission School.
 
The Boys, Mar, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Boys, March 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 260. (?)
Location: 0175.011.1
Picnic on the Farm, May 9, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Three students from the Mission during a picnic on the Farm on May 9, 1946. On the right is Sister Mary Clarissa of the Sisters of Providence. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 253.
Location: 0175.011.2
The Girls, Oct 4, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Girls from St. Francis Xavier Catholic Mission, October 4, 1947. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 249.
Location: 0175.011.3
The Boys, 1945, Mar, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Boys of the Mission in March, 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 261.
Location: 0175.011.4
The Boys, Spring 1947, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Roue, the Sisters of Providence and the Boys in the Spring of 1947. Front Row (standing next to the Sister): Felix Chowace, John Moostoos, and Albert Kiyawasew; Second Row (behind Father Roue): Howard Capot; Fourth Row from the Bottom, third student from the left stands Napoleon or Barney Kiyawasew; Back Row, second from the left stands Max Moses and to the right of him, Miles Hamelin. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 224.
Location: 0175.011.5
Father Girard, etc, with the children in the 1940’s,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Girard, Bishop Guy, Father Charest and Father Roue with the children in the 1940’s. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 242.
Location: 0175.011.6
First Communions, May 1945, May, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
First Communions in May, 1945 Included in this photo are Louissanne Kiyawasew (second from left, back row); Medeleine Goodswimmer; Lillian Tchawis; Lucy Martineau; Cecile Manitos; Mary James Sosas; Dorothy McLean; Evelyn Capot (second from right, back row) and Madeleine Tchawis. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 247.
Location: 0175.011.7
The Boys from St. Francis Xavier, Oct, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Boys from St. Francis Xavier Catholic Mission pose during a visit with Bishop Guy in October, 1947. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 239.
Location: 0175.011.8
Bishop Guy and Girls, Oct, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bishop Guy and the girls from the Residential School in October 1947. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 240.
Location: 0175.011.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.012The Mission School (3) 1941-1945This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the students and staff at the Sturgeon Lake Mission School.
 
The Boys, 1941, Jun, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Henri Fournier in the centre, Father Tetreault on the left, two Sisters of Providence towards the right and the boys from the Residential School in June, 1941. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 235.
Location: 0175.012.1
Members of the band,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Members of the band from St. Francis Xavier Catholic Mission. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 227.
Location: 0175.012.2
Boys of the Year 1944-45, 1944-1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Boys of the Year 1944-45. Pictured in the third row from the bottom, far right is Howard Capot. To his left is Miles Hamelin. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 246.
Location: 0175.012.3
Class photograph,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Class Photograph – this photo donated by Stephen Moses to the Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA 83-031-7.
Location: 0175.012.4
The Girls, January 1945, Jan, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
The girls from the Residential School in January, 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 252.
Location: 0175.012.5
Young Indian Girls, Mar, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Young Indian Girls and the dog “Prince” in March, 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 251.
Location: 0175.012.6
The Boys and Girls of the Mission,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group photograph of the students from the Sturgeon Lake Mission. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 233.
Location: 0175.012.7
Christmas 1945, Dec, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Christmas 1945 Pictured third from the left is Dan Goodswimmer, sixth from the left Henry George Moostoos, then Felix Harvey and Peter Chowace. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 244.
Location: 0175.012.8
The Girls from St Francis Xavier, 1944-1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Girls from the St. Francis Xavier Catholic Mission, 1944-45. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 245.
Location: 0175.012.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.013The Mission School (4) 1943-1944This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the students and staff at the Sturgeon Lake Mission School.
 
The Girls with an American visitor, Apr, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Girls with an American visitor in April of 1943. Pictured third from the left is Evelyn Soto (Thomas). Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 254.
Location: 0175.013.1
1943, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group photograph of Mission students in 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 262.
Location: 0175.013.2
The girls peeling potatoes, May, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
The girls peeling potatoes, May 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 215.
Location: 0175.013.3
The Girls, 1943, Apr, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Girls, Sisters Michel, Laurent and Jean in April, 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 248.
Location: 0175.013.4
After Confirmation, Apr 28, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
After the Confirmation by Bishop Guy on April 28, 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 238.
Location: 0175.013.5
New Residential School under construction, Jun, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Boys in front of the Residential School which was under construction in June 1944, when the picture was taken. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 211.
Location: 0175.013.6
Boys from the Residential School, Apr, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Boys from the Residential School, with Sisters Michel and Syncletique, in front of the Church in April 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 259.
Location: 0175.013.7
The Girls, 1943, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Girls from the residential school in 1943, including Rosanna Kiyawasew, Cecile Harvey, Lucy Nosky, [unidentified], and Ivy Chowace. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 252.
Location: 0175.013.8
New Residential School under construction, Jun, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Girls in front of the Residential School, under construction in June, 1944. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 210.
Location: 0175.013.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.014The Badger Family 1913-1928Among the earliest recorded settlers in the Valleyview area were Paul and Dan Badger, sons of Eli and Eva Badger, a Métis couple who first visited Sturgeon Lake in 1897. Eli Badger had pride and initiative to spare. Married, with a large family, the Badgers moved to Sturgeon Lake from Echo Prairie—a small Métis settlement near Buffalo Bay on the north-west extremity of Lesser Slave Lake—in about 1903. There were three sons in the Eli Badger family. Paul, the eldest, was married to a famous Métis midwife named Elise Montagnais, better known as Emily. According to those knowledgeable of midwifery and the cases involved, Mrs. Badger had made several emergency deliveries of babies that were little short of miraculous. The second son, Alex, was also married, while the third, Daniel, was single at the time. The three daughters were Marie, Amelia and Olive. There were a few small children included in the big Badger clan, one of whom was Joe, the eldest son of Paul and “Emily”—six years of age at the time. For a while the entire family lived together in Eli’s big house, probably in Section 6 or 7, 70-21-W5, west of the trail leading from Sturgeon Lake to Grouard. While the Paul Badgers continued to live there part time, Alex built himself a house directly across the trail from his father’s place after a while. Dan went to live in the Grouard area later. In addition to being experts in constructing log buildings of all sizes and for whatever purpose, the Badgers made the very best of snowshoes. Those of us who used them in the early years can testify to this. And the list of skills the family was endowed with didn’t end there—they planted and cared for large gardens and potato patches; broke land and raised oats for green feed at various locations; cut and baled hay on meadows several miles to the east of Eli’s home place. Though the Badger family did some trapping and hunting, the major part of their living was made by cutting gin hay in big sloughy [sic] meadows next to their homes and selling the 100 lb bales to Stopping Places at Sturgeon Lake, Teamsters on the High Prairie Trail, and elsewhere. Paul built his own hay baler out of rough-sawn lumber, hand sawing the spruce logs with a two-man whipsaw. This horse-powered baler was still operating in 1917 when David T. Williamson and Alex-John Williamson watched them making good bales. When the Edson to Sturgeon Lake trail opened in 1911, Paul and has brother Dan did a roaring hay business. Contrary to popular belief, the Métis were pioneer farmers in the Canadian West, not just nomadic plainsmen, and people like the Badger Family contributed immensely to the country’s development. While the Paul Badgers lived part of the time with his father at Sturgeon Lake, most of his time was spent on his land at Red Willow Creek. The Paul Badgers moved out to Red Willow Creek the year after they arrived at Sturgeon Lake. There was good land there, but since it was unsurveyed [sic] then, Paul squatted on two fairly open sections, which surveyed after 1909, became the NE -20-70-22-W5 and the SE -30-70-22-W5. In the fall of 1905, Fred C. Young visited the Badgers on their land where the first furrows had been ploughed at Red Willow Creek – SE -30-70-22-W5 (this quarter was later homesteaded by Alexander J. Williamson). Mr. Badger built log houses and barns on both locations. There was another place, seven miles north east of what is now the town of Valleyview, where Paul Badger squatted, and put up hay with his brothers Alex and Dan. This was on a hay meadow on the Little Smoky River, adjacent to the Old Grouard-High Prairie Trail, which was being used by freighters with horses and sleighs between about 1900 and 1932. Today, a lengthy steel highway bridge stands on that old squatting, to carry the traffic using the secondary highway between Valleyview and Sunset House over the Smoky. In addition to these two squattings [sic], Paul and his brothers operated two Stopping Places. One was at Sturgeon Lake on their father Eli Badger’s 70.05 acre settlement lot he had been given on the reserve; the other was the meadow seven miles east of Valleyview at the crossing of the Little Smoky River on the Sunset House Road. The Badgers also cut hay on two other meadows besides the ones already mentioned. One of these was a large horse-shoe-shaped piece of land on the west bank of the Little Smoky, comprising parts of Section 6 and 7, 70-21-W5, the other much smaller. Lying on the east bank of that river, it is part of NE-1-70-22-W5. The date Paul squatted there could easily be as early as 1903. Mr. Badger died in 1964 at the age of 105 years. Paul Badger’s sons Joe and Sam, were perhaps as good—or better—at fiddling as anyone at Sturgeon Lake, and were in demand when it came to providing music for dances. The Indians and Métis were fond of dancing the Square Dance, Duck Dance, Sword Dance, Red River Jig, and a really hectic and popular dance called Little Drops of Brandy. But by far the most popular dance was the Square Dance then. Eli and his wife brought their children up well. The rest of their clan missed them greatly when the old couple died in the Spanish Influenza epidemic of 1918-19; the first of 38 persons to die of that dreadful disease at Sturgeon Lake before the following summer. The 70.05 acres of land granted to Eli Badger by the Crown within the Sturgeon Lake Indian Reservation in 1908 went to his son Paul when Eli died; and Paul willed it to his son Albert. -“They Called Him White Man”, “Land of the Wettigo”, “Valleyview’s First Settlers,” by David T. Williamson and “Valleyview History,” by Ted BlowersThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Badger Family. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Ledgers,
Handwritten ledgers
Personal ledgers of Paul Badger, date unknown
Location: 2003.53.135
 
Gouchey and Badger Families,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Annie (Badger) Gouchey with baby (either Wilfred or Robert), Mary Gouchey, Florestine Gouchey, Paul Badger and his wife Elise (Montagnais/Montanee) Badger. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 172.
Location: 0175.014.1
Father Roue and Paul Badger’s Family,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Roue with the family of Paul Badger Back Row (L-R): Delma Badger, Annie (Badger) Gouchey with baby Wilfred (or Robert) Gouchey, Father Roue, Elise (Emily) Badger, Paul Badger Front Row (L-R): Mary Gouchey, Agnes Gouchey, Florestine Gouchey, Andre Calihoo. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 166.
Location: 0175.014.2
Calliou family, 1927-1928
1 Photograph; b & w;
Photo probably taken in front of the Mission about 1927-28 Back: Peter Calliou (Galloit), Pierre Papastistis, Peter Calliou’s wife holding William Calliou, 4th young girl at the back is the “Old Capitaine’s” granddaughter. Front: Simon Calliou (just the top of his head), Charlotte Red Moose, to the right wearing the had – Marie Rose who married Peter Harvey. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph label: “Pete and Bella Joyce.”
Location: 0175.014.3
Badger Family, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Albert Badger, his father Paul Badger and Albert’s wife Constance (Calliou/Galliot) Badger. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph label: “Pete and Bella Joyce.”
Location: 0175.014.4
Chowace and Badger Families, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Chowace and Badger families. Back: Madeleine Chowace, Frank Badger, Bertha Chowace (who married a Hamelin), John Chowace (d. 1979), his wife Mary Ann (Montanee-Montagnais) Chowace (1903-1963), Ivy Chowace, Johnny Badger (d. 1977) Front: David Chowace (son of John & Mary Ann Montanee/Montagnais) who married Sophie Captaine (the daughter of “Old Captaine” who signed Treaty #8), Gary Kappo, Paul Badger (d. about 1971). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph label: “Pete and Bella Joyce.”
Location: 0175.014.5
 
Obituary, Dec 30, 1913
Newspaper clipping
From “The Grande Prairie Herald, Dec 30, 1913” Obituary for Mrs. D. Badger.
Location: 2003.53.136
Back to Table of Contents
175.015The Badger/Gouchey Families 1940-1950This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Badger and Gouchy families.
 
Ledgers,
Handwritten ledgers
Handwritten ledgers for various people; dates unknown
Location: 2003.53.138
 
Father Alec with Mary Gouchey,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Alec with Mary Gouchey. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 171.
Location: 0175.015.1
Sam Badger,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sam Badger with three unidentified ladies. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST –.
Location: 0175.015.2
Father Roue with Agnes Gouchey, 1941-1942
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Roue with Agnes Gouchey, in 1941 or 1942. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 170.
Location: 0175.015.3
John Chowace with his wife,
1 Photograph; b & w;
John Chowace with his wife, Mary Ann Montanee (Montagnais) Chowace and an unknown child. Original photograph label: “Pete and Bella Joyce.”
Location: 0175.015.4
Albert Badger,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Albert Badger (son of Paul Badger & Elsie Montagnais). Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 196.
Location: 0175.015.5
Back to Table of Contents
175.016“Two Gun” McMillar 1914-1916 The second legal homestead filed at Red Willow Creek was in August of 1916, SE-24-69-22-W5, by ex-Montana cowboy, one Daniel McMillar. Dan had always been used to wearing a pair of Colt six shooters in Montana, and though not allowed to wear them in Canada he was known to many as Dan “Two Gun” McMillar. McMillar served as a Dominion Forest Ranger, staying on his homestead for several years before moving to Grande Prairie. The fire-rangers were usually colourful characters, and none was so colourful as big Dan McMillar, the ranger for the Big Smoky-Wapiti River district. Afraid of nothing and nobody, he had driven the mail stage between Edson and Grande Prairie for a spell, working for mail contractors Caywood and Robb. P.A. “Baldy” Robb, a matchless story-teller, used to this one about “Two Gun Dan”, an story he claimed was the “Gawd’s Truth”. “While climbing the west bank of the Big Smoky River east of Grande Prairie, driving the mail stage, McMillar, who had a rather sexy young lady with him, got romantic ideas. The big gravely flat halfway up the hill was a good spot to rest ones horses; a good place to pick berries, and a nice place to do something else, Dan figured. Wise in the ways of romance, McMillar never voiced his true intentions, although its fair to suppose that the lady was aware of them but said nothing. In any case, she readily agreed to accompany McMillar to the berry bush near the trail to pick Saskatoon berries. Reaching the level flat, McMillar tied the horses at the side of the trail and the romantic pair made for the berry bush. McMillar was an inveterate snuff chewer who used so much of the brown, salty, smelly stuff that the ordinary boxes in which snuff came were too small for him. So he’d gotten a much large box custom made for his use. It held a good supply and he carried it in his right hip pocket, about where one of his six-guns had hung in its holster back in Montana, ready for his hand to draw when things got tough. (That man was fast—damned fast—with a six-gun. He could deliver a bullet with deadly accuracy, and having been a baseball pitcher for a time, he was as accurate with his throwing arm.) As he made for the berry bush, he patted his right hip, as he had done in Montanna. They had almost reached the berry patch when they heard the angry roar of a grizzly bear. Grizzlies too like saskatoons, and this one was there first. More-over, even in the world of grizzly bears, possession is nine points of the law, and they’s invariably willing to prove it. McMillar had met grizzlies before, and he knew that if a man kept cool and shot true enough to hit one between its eyes, even a .45 six-gun bullet would kill it. Hell, he might not have to shoot at all: perhaps if Dan turned and retreated the animal would return to eating saskatoons. But it wasn’t to be: the greedy old fellow had been standing erect facing the couple; now he got down on all fours, ready to make a charge. McMillar knew he had to act fast. Without realizing it, he had become so obsessed with romantic ideas that he forgot he was no longer in Montana—six-gun country as it was then. His hand streaked to his right hip as it had done so many times in his home state. Alas, it grasped no gun—only a giant metal “snooze” box! McMillar’s mind worked like lightening. The brute was only a few steps from him when he did the best thing he could do—threw the “snooze” box with such deadly accuracy that it hit the grizzly between the eyes. The box flew open, spilling its load of salty snuff into the bear’s eyes and nostrils, sending it into a paroxysm of violent sneezing and coughing, and blinding it temporarily. Taking advantage of the grizzly’s helpless condition, the young lady and McMillar ran to their horses and lit out for Grande Prairie on the run, all thoughts of love now forgotten.”This file consists of a scanned copy of articles and a photograph regarding “Two Gun” McMillar. The photograph is digitalized.
 
Dan McMillar’s Barn, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dan McMillar’s barn at Se 24-69-22-W5. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.016.1
 
Clippings, 1914-1936
Newspaper clippings
Various clippings dealing with Dan “Two Gun” McMillar “The Frontier Signal,” Dec 14, 1914 [Unknown], Oct 29, 1914 “The Frontier Signal,” Sept 9, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” May 20, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” May 27, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” May 4, 1916 “The Northern Tribune,” Feb 20, 1936 “The Frontier Signal,” Feb 18, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Apr 22, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Jan 14, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Feb 25, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Mar 4, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Nov 12, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Apr 29, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” May 13, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” May 25, 1916 “The Frontier Signal,” Nov 12, 1914
Location: 2003.53.144
Back to Table of Contents
175.017The Hudson’s Bay Company (1) 1889-1913The Hudson’s Bay Company, Incorporated 2nd May 1670 At Sturgeon Lake, the Hudson’s Bay Company had established a “fur trading post” at least as early as 1881—possibly long before that point in time. Inspection Report by the Lesser Slave Lake Hudson Bay Post, 30 June 1897: “Sturgeon Lake (Outpost, about 120 miles SW of Lesser Slave Lake) … Furs, generally, are becoming more scarce in the neighbourhood, and the place will doubtless be considerably effected by the travel from Edmonton to the (Klondike) Gold Fields. … There was a good deal of starvation among the Indians, and several horses were eaten by them during the winter.” (Hudson’s Bay Company Archives B115/e/18). About a mile north east of the Roman Catholic Sisters of Providence Convent, the post of the mighty Hudson’s Bay Company Trading Post could be seen, with its red-roofed buildings, constructed in the same manner as the Bredin & Cornwall/Revillon Freres and whitewashed. The Hudson’s Bay Company store burned in 1931, it was not rebuilt and reoccupied until 1934. In 1934, the competition consisted of Rupert Clough, and another past Hudson’s Bay Company employee (probably Kerr), Williamson and one or two itinerant Jewish fur buyers. (Hudson’s Bay Company Archives RG3/2/2). 1900: Myles McDermott The first non-Indian to squat on a piece of land (this same piece of land was homesteaded in September 1918 by John L. Walker) in the area known as Red Willow Creek—later Valleyview—had been Myles McDermott, an Irishman. He had squatted there prior to 1883. McDermott was the factor of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s “Outpost” at Sturgeon Lake for many years, beginning in 1881. He may also have been an “independent” fur buyer as well, since he is names as a buyer in addition to HBC in some manuscripts. Since the “Outpost” was open only during the fur season, McDermott had spent his summers with his Cree wife (who he married in June of 1887 and who was a sister of Julia Mitchell) – she [transcript ends]. 1900-1910: Angus McLean Angus McLean was a Scot from Orkney Islands. A good fur trader, he was well liked by the Cree and Métis, Angus married—in the fashion of the day—a Cree lady named Old Fishwife. The couple had a son, William, a pleasant-mannered intelligent, hardworking individual. The only son of the McLean’s had an only sister, named Melanie. Angus McLean closed the HBC’s Sturgeon Lake post down as soon as the beaver and muskrat season was over, and didn’t reopen it until winter trapping began each year (about six months later). He built a log house on Sturgeon Creek, but broke no land. It was the task of Indian and most Métis women to clean, fillet, smoke and dry the fish their men folk caught, to preserve them for use in the months to come. Some women even caught their own fish; using a tricky dugout canoe to set and tend their nets. Indeed, HBC factor Angus McLean’s sweetheart, Mrs Awasis, did so much of this she became known as Kinusea Nohtigew—The Old Fishwife—to her Sturgeon [transcript ends].This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Hudson’s Bay Company at Sturgeon Lake.
 
Ledger,
Handwritten ledger
Partially burned ledger from Hudson’s Bay Company showing names and debts (?); date unknown
Location: 2003.53.148
Sturgeon Lake (Peace River District) Report, 1889, 1889
Typewritten report
Sturgeon Lake Outpost annual report detailing conditions of structures, relations with Indians, employee evaluations, etc
Location: 2003.53.149
 
Hudson’s Bay Company Post, 1912
1 Photograph; b & w;
Hudson’s Bay Company Post, Sturgeon Lake, AB, 1912. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number WA 283-3.
Location: 0175.017.1
Mail sleigh leaving for Grande Prairie, 1913
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mail sleigh leaving Sturgeon Lake for Grande Prairie, Alberta, 1913. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number NT-6-716.
Location: 0175.017.2
 
“Sturgeon Lake News Notes”, Jan 14, 1915
Newspaper clipping
Article about a “Tea Party” .. Among the noted guests were “Mrs. Fishwife”–Angus McLean’s wife.
Location: 2003.53.147
Back to Table of Contents
175.018The Hudson’s Bay Company (2) 1922-1934This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Hudson’s Bay Company at Sturgeon Lake.
 
1929 Catalogue, 1929
Catalogue
Sample pages from Hudson’s Bay Company 1929 Catalogue
Location: 2003.53.152
“The Beaver,” March 1934 edition, Mar, 1934
Magazine excerpt
Excerpt from March 1934 edition of “The Beaver”
Location: 2003.53.153
 
Hudson’s Bay Company Post,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Hudson’s Bay Company Post at Sturgeon Lake, AB. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA-A-7138.
Location: 0175.018.1
Bodeker family, 1922-1923
1 Photograph; b & w;
1922-1923 Ben Bodeker, Lutie Bodeker, and children (L-R): Gordon (b. 1919), Betty and Graham (b. 1913). Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM #1.
Location: 0175.018.2
Hudson’s Bay Company Store, 1934
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Hudson’s Bay Company Store, 1934. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA-A-7137.
Location: 0175.018.3
 
Map,
Map
Survey map of territory surrounding Lesser Slave Lake; date unknown
Location: 2003.53.156
Back to Table of Contents
175.019The Bodeker Family 1911-1931Peter George Bendix Bodeker and Lutie Cathleen Brady were married in 1911 at Fort George (now Prince George). Riverman, surveyor and eventually Hudson’s Bay Company Post Manager, Ben Bodeker’s first son Francis Graham was born in 1913 in Fort George. It was also in 1913 that Mr. and Mrs. Bodeker with baby Graham went to another part of the Finlay Forks. Ben ran the trading post there until Charlie Jones of Carbon River enlisted for the First World War. Then Bedeker moved to Carbon and trapped the line while Charlie was overseas. In 1915, we find Mrs. Bodeker and Graham in Hudson’s Hope where the lived for several years. A daughter Elizabeth Hope was born there in 1916. The Peace River became their highway the following year in 1917 they rode this mighty water across the Alberta boundary to Dunvegan and became the first operators of this historic post. Its closure in 1918 found them on the move again, this time to nearby Spirit River, where one later their second son Gordon was born. The early 20’s found them at the post adjoining the famous Edson Trail at Sturgeon Lake. There, in 1931, they decided to stay, leaving the Hudson’s Bay Company after 14 years of service to live in nearby Valleyview. -“The Peacemakers of Hudson Hope,” by Edith Kyllo; “Where the Red Willow Grew”This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Bodeker family.
 
Gorden Bodeker,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gordon Bodeker on skis. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 21.
Location: 0175.019.1
Gordon Bodeker,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gordon Bodeker climbing a wall of a log cabin. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 60A.
Location: 0175.019.2
Bodeker family,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Madan Santef, Lutie Brady Bodeker, baby Elizabeth Hope (b. 1916, Hudson Hope), Graham (b. 1913, Prince George), and Ben Bodeker, at Hudson Hope. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 2.
Location: 0175.019.3
Graham Bodeker,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Graham Bodeker at a small pond. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 58.
Location: 0175.019.4
Graham Bodeker,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Graham Bodeker. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 62A.
Location: 0175.019.5
Graham Bodeker,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Graham Bodeker. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 61A.
Location: 0175.019.6
 
Newspaper Clippings, Aug 30, 1929; Aug 21, 192
Newspaper clippings
Stories related to Bodeker’s management of the trading posts at Sturgeon Lake
Location: 2003.53.157
“The Grande Prairie Herald,” Apr 11, 1927, Apr 11, 1927
Newspaper clipping
“Why Pay Taxes If Nothing In Return?” from the Grande Prarie Herald, Apr 11, 1927 Story dealing with the desire for good roads and phone service in the Sturgeon Lake area.
Location: 2003.53.158
Back to Table of Contents
175.020The Hudson’s Bay Company (3) 1900-1953This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Hudson’s Bay Company. Some of the photographs are digitalized.
 
Report, 1939
Report
Hudson’s Bay Company Report 1939, including a hand drawn map showing property outlines and several reports on building construction and conditions
Location: 2003.53.170
 
Hudson’s Bay Company Trading Post,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A Hudson’s Bay Company Trading Post building at Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to Eileen Bassarab. Original photograph number B 4.
Location: 0175.020.1
Hudson’s Bay Factor’s Home, 1900 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Hudson’s Bay Factor’s Home at Sturgeon Lake, in the Mackenzie -Athabasca District, in the early 1900s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives.
Location: 0175.020.2
Sturgeon Lake Hudson’s Bay Post, 1953
1 Photograph; Colour;
An areal view of the Sturgeon Lake Hudson’s Bay Post in 1953. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Jim Clark.
Location: 0175.020.3
 
Map,
Map
Map showing roads, trails and railways in the Sturgeon Lake area; date unknown
Location: 2003.53.166
Map,
Map
Survey map showing Sturgeon Lake, Debolt and Goodwin regions.
Location: 2003.53.171
Back to Table of Contents
175.021The Hudson’s Bay Post at Sturgeon Lake 1944-1954This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Hudson’s Bay Post at Sturgeon Lake. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
The Hudson’s Bay Post, Oct, 1953
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Hudson’s Bay Post at Sturgeon Lake in October, 1953. Copyright belongs to Jim Clark. Original photograph number JC 2.
Location: 0175.021.1
In Front of the Post, Jul, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mr. Dick Howell, Lorne Howell, and Josie stand in front of a Hudson’s Bay Company post in July 1946. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genealogical Society. Original photograph number ST 71.
Location: 0175.021.2
In Front of the New Post, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Wille Moostoos, Mary Suek, and Grand McMillan in front of the new Hudson’s Bay Company Post, circa 1940. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 10.
Location: 0175.021.3
In Front of the Post, Jul, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Muriel Greer, Bernard [unknown], and Edith [unknown] in front of the Hudson’s Bay Store in July 1944. No reproduction available at this time. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number SL-70.
Location: 0175.021.4
Buying Fur, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jim Clark, a clerk of the Sturgeon Lake Hudson’s Bay Store, buying fur from Francis Moostoos in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Jim Clark.
Location: 0175.021.5
Muriel Greer, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Muriel Greer, an employee, in front of the Hudson’s Bay Company Store in April 1944. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number SL 69.
Location: 0175.021.6
The Factor’s Home, 1953
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Hudson’s Bay Company Factor’s Home, located on the HBC property, in September 1953. Copyright belongs to Jim Clark. Original photograph number JC 1.
Location: 0175.021.7
Gas Pump, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bud Narrington in front of the Gas Pump at Sturgeon Lake’s Hudson’s Bay Store in 1947. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number SL 90.
Location: 0175.021.8
The New Hudson’s Bay Company Post,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The New Hudson’s Bay Company Post at Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA-3145.
Location: 0175.021.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.022The Williamson Family 1882-1994Born November 11, 1882, and raised in Aberdeen Scotland, Alexander John Williamson was an adventurous lad, leaving home at the age of 14 or 15 working on trawlers and freighters as far away as South Africa. In 1902 he returned to Scotland and married Elsie Thompson, who was born June 3, 1885, in Peterhead, Scotland. Between 1902 and 1910 with Alex away at sea much of the time, four children were born to the couple. Margaret Mary (b. 1902), Alexander (b. 1905), David Thompson (b. 1907), and George Murray (b. 1909 or 1910). Alex and his brother George decided to leave Scotland for Canada. The men were to check out conditions in this country and decide whether or not to stay. On arrival in Canada the brothers found jobs to be scarce. They arrived in Edmonton which was a booming town of about 30,000 where they rented a cabin on the south bank of the North Saskatchewan River, in what was known as Strathcona. There was enough work to be found for the winter, but in the spring each went his own way. George heading east to Manitoba, and Alex heading to Northern Alberta. Alex arrived in Grouard in 1911 and worked there until the spring of 1912 when he returned to Edmonton. He was hired with the Federal Government as a forest ranger in charge of the Junkins area, now known as Wildwood. Alex had also taken out a homestead in nearby Ronan and in 1913 he sent for his family in Scotland. The Canadian Northern Railroad was to pass through Sturgeon Lake area about five miles south of Sturgeon Lake in the vicinity of Little Goose Lake, on its way to Grande Prairie and on to the Pacific Coast. In early February 1914, Alex and his friend Robert Anderson took their team of horses and sleigh and drove to Sturgeon Lake over the Edson Trail. Both men filed on land at Goose Lake. Alex was happy with what he found a Sturgeon Lake. He was impressed with the location and the lake, teeming with many kinds of fish, including whitefish. Meanwhile, Elsie had given birth in 1914 to their first genuine Canadian, John McGregor. The following winter in 1914-15, the family moved to Sturgeon Lake. The travelled in a “caboose,” as covered sleighs were known in those days, making the long arduous two week journey over the infamous Edson Trail. There were deep valleys and rivers to cross; many steep hills to climb and descend, some so bad that when ascending, two teams of horses had to be hitched to one sleigh. When descending such grades, a thick logging chain had to be wrapped around one or more of the sleighs runners to dig into the hard packed snow and slow the sleigh to a safe speed. Despite the difficulties, the family reached Sturgeon Lake, meeting Tom and Agnes Kerr who were to become their lifelong friends. Alex had first met Kerr on his previous trip to Sturgeon Lake and the trader had promised him land to live on until he could secure some of his own. It was from Charles Mitchell (also known as Enos) that Alex purchased his first plot of land within the Sturgeon Lake Indian Reserve. It was a narrow strip about 100 yards wide, which ran from the trail to the lake, with a beautiful sandy beach—a wonderful place to swim and play. There they built their first home in 1915—a fair-sized log house with its pole roof covered with sheets of spruce bark laid down shingle fashion; the walls plastered with clay. Alex Williamson eventually sold his “Mitchell” property to Bob and Kate Keillar in 1945. Over the next number of years, Mr. Williamson supported the family by employing himself at whatever opportunities arose—Fire Ranging, Freighting (all manner of goods including fresh fish to Grande Prairie), Raising Fox and Cattle. Two more children were born, Robert in March 1916 and Ernest in March 1918. Shortly after Ernest’s arrival, Mr. Williamson was again bitten by the homesteading “bug”. He had ridden out to Red Willow Creek, 10 miles east of their home, and fell in love with the place. On June 7, he filed a claim on a quarter-section—the north west quarter of section 30, range 22, W5. While he was the first to file an entry in the area he was not the first to make his home there. The spring and summer of 1919 had seen a wild rush of ex-soldiers and others into the vast reaches of the Peace River Country, seeking free land to homestead. If one happened to be married, his wife could file on a homestead claim of her own right. Ex-soldiers could file on a half-section of land. The winter of 1919-20 found Mrs. Williamson and the children living in the homestead at Red Willow Creek—the land Alex J. Williamson Sr. had filed on. (The land was later let go in the spring of 1923). The homestead shack was a crude affair, its glassless windows covered with a double layer of white flour-sack material. While roomy enough, the place wasn’t warm. It didn’t help that many cracks between the logs needed chinking. For the interior chinks, the filler was newspapers and old rags. The outside walls were taken care of by freshly dropped cow manure, which froze to the walls in minutes, leaving no smell. In spite of efforts to make it comfortable, our shack remained a draughty place. During the coldest days, both the airtight heater and the cook stove was kept going. By 1920, the family had saved a little money—not much—but enough cash to buy Bob Clough’s house when the trader decided to move his post to a site just north of that of the Hudson’s Bay Company. In 1924 the Revillon Trading Post was up for sale, which Alex decided to purchase. This old trading post had been established by James Kennedy, “Peace River Jim” Cornwall and Fletcher Bredin in 1899, they had sold it in 1906 to the Revillon Freres. As father Alex was kept busy freighting goods, he put his son David, then only 17, in charge of the post. Fur was plentiful in the winter of 1924. David spoke good Cree, got along well with the Indians and Métis, and was fairly adept in arithmetic and correspondence. The former manager gave him some assistance for a couple of days, as well as invaluable information passed on by Duffy Garbutt, who taught him a great deal about fur and operating a trading post. David ran the post until 1929, when he relocated to his own homestead land in Valleyview. Robert ran the trading post after the death of his father Alexander in 1952. However, Robert was not in the best of health and passed away in July of 1954. Ernest, the youngest of the Williamson clan, proved to be adept at managing the post. He lived in the family home and worked in the trading post until shortly before his death in 1994. Mrs. Elsie Williamson passed away in January of 1970, at the age of 85, bequeathing land at Sturgeon Lake for a park which is known as “Williamson Provincial Park”. -From the manuscripts of David T. WilliamsonThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Williamson family. The photos are digitalized.
 
Ledgers,
Handwritten ledgers
Ledgers from one of the trading posts ran by the Williamson family. Date unknown
Location: 2003.53.181
 
First Alex Williamson Home with a Proper Roof, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The first Alexander Williamson home with a proper roof. This house was built by Bob Clough in 1921 and sold to Alex G. Williamson in 1923. The first Williamson home is located to the north of this one and across the road. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dorothy Friesen.
Location: 0175.022.1
Williamson Trading Post, 1933
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Williamson Trading Post, circa 1933, was originally the Bredin & Cornwall Post built in 1899, and was sold to first to Revillon Freres in 1906 and later to Alexander J. Williamson in 1924. (L-R): Mr. K. Lydell, Dave Williamson, Alex Williamson Sr., and Robert Williamson stand in the garden in front of the building. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dorothy Friesen.
Location: 0175.022.2
Donald Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Donald Williamson at Sturgeon Lake, AB. In the background you can see the old Williamson store. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson Family.
Location: 0175.022.3
Jack Williamson & Farris Phelps, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack Williamson and Farris Phelps with the Old Trading Post in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.022.4
 
“Sturgeon Lake News”, Jan 11, 1916
Newspaper clipping
Article dealing with the Williamson family personally and their business.
Location: 2003.53.184
Back to Table of Contents
175.023The Williamson Family (2) 1930-1952This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Williamson family. The photographs are digitalized.
 
Williamson Yard, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A child on a tricycle in the Williamson yard at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.023.1
Williamson Boys, 1933
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ernie Williamson, Graham Bodeker, Jack Williamson holding Shirley Williamson, and Gorden Bodeker in 1933. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.023.2
Robert Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Robert Williamson and St. Pierre Baptiste (Slim) at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.023.3
Elsie Williamson and Grandchildren, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Elsie Williamson with her grandchildren (L-R): Jackie, Doreen, Marguerite, Barry, Leona (or Dorothy), Georgina and Sheila. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.023.4
Elsie Williamson, 1952
1 Photograph; b & w;
Elsie Williamson in the front yard of the Williamson Home at Sturgeon Lake in 1952. In the background is the Williamson Trading Post. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.023.5
Two Men, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Two men, one a Williamson, and one was identified as possible being George Apps, with horses at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.023.6
Ernest Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ernest Williamson (born 1918) was the youngest son of Elsie and Alexander Williamson, Scottish immigrants who homesteaded at Sturgeon Lake and later Red Willow Creek (Valleyview). After his father died in the early 1950s Ernest took over managing the Revillion Freres Trading Post that the Williamsons bought in 1924. Ernest lived in the Williamson family home and worked at the trading post until shortly before his death in 1994. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.023.7
Alexander J. Williamson’s Team, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Alexander John Williamson’s team of horses. Alexander was born in Scotland and immigrated with his wife Elsie to Alberta where they homesteaded at Sturgeon Lake (1914) and later Red Williow Creek, or Valleyview (1919). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.023.8
Iva Williamson and Company, 1931
1 Photograph; b & w;
Iva Williamson, Jack Williamson and Ruby Krieger on horseback at Sturgeon Lake in 1931. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.023.9
 
“Sturgeon Lake”, 1931
Newspaper clipping
From the Grande Prairie Herald, unknown date, 1931: “Sturgeon Lake” Article discussing large number of tourists in region.
Location: 2003.53.193
Back to Table of Contents
175.024Alexander John Williamson 1920-1943This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Williamson family. The photographs are digitalized.
 
Wolf Bounty Documents, Jan 14, 1943; Mar 6, 1943
Typewritten documents
Documents relating to the payment of bounties on wolf hides.
Location: 2003.53.197
School District Tax Receipt, Jan 25, 1935
Handwritten document
Tax receipt for money/goods paid to school division.
Location: 2003.53.198
 
John (Jack) McGregor Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
John (Jack) McGregor Williamson riding a calf. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.024.1
Alexander Williamson, Sr., ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Alexander Williamson, Sr. with a horse and her foal at Sturgeon Lake. Alexander was born in Scotland and immigrated with his wife Elsie to Alberta where they homesteaded at Sturgeon Lake (1914) and later Red Williow Creek, or Valleyview (1919). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.024.2
Jack Williamson Driving a Team, 1920 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack Williamson driving a team of horses at Sturgeon Lake in the 1920s. With him on the sleigh are Robert, Ernie and Elsie Williamson. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.024.3
Cattle Farming, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cattle farming on the Williamson property at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.024.4
Fox Farming, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Three foxes in a pen on the Williamson property, at Sturgeon Lake. The Williamsons immigrated from Sctoland and settled at Sturgeon Lake in 1914. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.024.5
Williamson Family Home and Store, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
George and Robert Williamson stand in front of the Williamson Family Home and Store at Sturgeon Lake in June 1940. In 1924 the Williamsons bought a Revillon Frere Trading Post. They ran it into the mid 1990s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.024.6
John (Jack) McGregor Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
John (Jack) McGregor Williamson at Sturgeon Lake. John McGregor was the first Williamson born in Canada. His parents, Elsie and Alexander Williamson, immigrated from Scotland in the early 1900s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.024.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.025The Williamson Trading Post 1944-1990This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Williamson trading post. The photos are digitalized.
 
Williamson Trading Post,
Drawing
Creator: Drawing
Drawing of the Williamson Trading Post
Location: 2003.53.209
 
The Williamson Trading Post, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Williamson Trading Post was built around 1944 to replace the “old” trading post which was purchased in 1924 from Revilon Freres. It was later sold to the Sturgeon Lake Indian Band in the late 1990s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dorothy Friesen.
Location: 0175.025.1
Ernie Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ernie (Ernest) Williamson behind the counter at the Williamson Store at Sturgeon Lake. Ernie ran the store from the mid 1950s to shortly before his death in 1994. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.025.2
Ernie Williamson, August 1990, 1990
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ernie (Ernest) Williamson in the Williamson Store at Sturgeon Lake in August, 1990. The post office wicket can be seen in the right of the photo. Ernie ran the store from the mid 1950s to shortly before his death in 1994. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.025.3
Jack Williamson and Farris Phelps, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack Williamson and Farris Phelps with the old Trading Post Buildings in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.025.4
Jack Williamson and Farris Phelps, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack Williamson and Farris Phelps at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.025.5
The Williamson Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Williamson Home at Sturgeon Lake. The Williamsons immigrated from Scotland and immigrated to Sturgeon Lake in 1914. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.025.6
Alexander and Elsie Williamson, 1948 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Alexander John Williamson and wife Elsie pose in front of the Lilacs on the lakeside of Sturgeon Lake, circa 1946-1950. Alexander and Elsie immigrated from Scotland and settled at Sturgeon Lake in 1914. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.025.7
Ernie Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ernie (Ernest) Williamson in the Williamson Store at Sturgeon Lake with a possible fur buyer out of Edmonton. Ernie ran the Williamson Store from the mid 1950s to shortly before his death in 1994. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.025.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.026Tom Kerr (1) 1878-1944This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding Tom Kerr. The photographs are digitalized.
 
Ledger, 1910
Handwritten ledger
Freres Revillon ledger showing purchases by various Indians at Sturgeon Lake while Tom Kerr was manager of the Trading Post
Location: 2003.53.217
 
Chief Woodpecker and Thomas Kerr, 1916
1 Photograph; b & w;
“Old Sunshine” Papstisis – Chief Woodpecker & Thomas Kerr standing in front of Kerr’s home at Sturgeon Lake, 1916 ca. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Alex Williamson.
Location: 0175.026.1
Tom & Agnes Kerr, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Tom and Agnes Kerr, 1944 ca., in a garden in front of the Edson Trail bunkhouse. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.026.2
On the Road to Grande Prairie, 1928, 1928
1 Photograph; b & w;
On the road to Grande Prairie in 1928. Dave Williamson (left), Willie Kerr (far right) and the Anglican Church Minister, Canon James, stand around a 1926 Chevy car. They are building a corduroy bridge on the muddy road four miles from Sturgeon Lake along which they are taking baby Fred McLaughlin to the hospital in Grande Prairie. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Alex Williamson.
Location: 0175.026.3
Tom Kerr’s First Store, 1918
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Willie Kerr, George Williamson, Mrs. Agnes Kerr, Mary Kerr and Tom Kerr standing in front of Tom Kerr’s first store and post office in about 1918. The “Sturgeon Lake Trading Co.” Store building was built in 1913. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.026.4
 
“”Tom” Kerr, Old-Timer of the North, Tells Herald of Some Of His Many Experiences”,
Newspaper clipping
Autobiographical account of Tom Kerr’s life in Sturgeon Lake region; paper and publication date unknown.
Location: 2003.53.215
Newspaper Clippings, 1913-1916
Newspaper clippings
Various newspaper clippings from the Frontier Signal dealing with Thomas Kerr’s management of the Revillon Freres Trading Post and other subsequent posts, and the prosperity of those posts. “The Frontier Signal,” Nov 19, 1914 “The Frontier Signal,” Jan 17, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Jan 7, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Dec 30, 1913 “The Frontier Signal,” Jun 3, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Jan 14, 1915 “The Frontier Signal,” Nov 12, 1914 “The Frontier Signal,” Sept 2, 1916
Location: 2003.53.218
Back to Table of Contents
175.027Tom Kerr (2) 1912-1956This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding Tom Kerr’s resort at Sturgeon Lake. The photographs are digitalized.
 
Tobogganing, 1952
1 Photograph; b & w;
Phyllis, Glennis and Lester Christianson, and Rosy Kerr tobogganing in front of Kerr’s cabins circa 1952. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.027.1
Tom Kerr’s Second Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The second home built by Tom Kerr around 1912 with his original log home in the background. The clouds in the sky are actually plumes of smoke from a large forest fire. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.027.2
Jacob “Jack” Orman, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jacob “Jack” Orman at “Kerr’s Beach”. Jack Orman was originally from Lithuania and had worked for British Intelligence in WWI. He could read and write seven languages. A bachelor, he lived at Sturgeon Lake, rented out boats and was a fisherman. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.027.3
Tom Kerr’s Second Store, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
This is the second store that Tom Kerr built. In the 1930’s it was used as a café by Florie McCracken, who was a sister to Mrs. Berger (the former Emily Murdoch). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.027.4
Kerr Cabins, 1938
1 Photograph; b & w;
Joe Haldin, Paul Werklund, Esther Caldwell and Harry Gray circa 1938 at the Kerr cabins on Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.027.5
The Tom Kerr Cabins, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Tom Kerr Cabins at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Adolphson family.
Location: 0175.027.6
Camping, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
Camping at the Kerr Resort in 1956. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.027.7
View of the Kerr Property, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of the Kerr Property in 1956. The resort was a popular vacation spot on Sturgeon Lake with camp sites and cabins. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.027.8
 
“Merry Party Honors Bride”, Mar 12, 1936
Newspaper clipping
from “Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Mar 12, 1936 Story covering the marriage of Mary Kerr to Roy White and the reception.
Location: 2003.53.225
“Interesting Items From Sturgeon Lake”, Feb 1, 1929
Newspaper clipping
from “Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Feb 1, 1929 Anecdotal news from the Sturgeon Lake area.
Location: 2003.53.228
Back to Table of Contents
175.028The Clough Family (1) 1932-1934This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Clough’s holiday camp at Sturgeon Lake. The photos are digitalized.
 
Fred and Mary Clough, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Two young children, Fred and Mary Clough, play in front of the Clough General Store at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.028.1
Rupert Clough’s Original Store,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough’s original store at Sturgeon Lake is the building with hides hanging on the side. Later, a new store was built across the road which then became Jerry Emard’s store when Rupert moved to town. Copyright belongs to Nina Clough. Original photograph number NC 10.
Location: 0175.028.2
The Clough Store and House, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of the Clough store and house. Cabins were on the right. The sign says “Pickeral Acres – Cabins and Boats for Rent”. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.028.3
The Garden at the Clough Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The garden at the Clough home at Sturgeon Lake. Mr. Sutcliffe was the gardener who was also a forest ranger. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.028.4
Cabins at Pickeral Acres, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The cabins at Pickeral Acres before they were finished. The photo was taken in the spring before the leaves were out. The famous Water Chute is in between the middle two cabins. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.028.5
Cabins at Pickeral Acres, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The cabins at Pickeral Acres on Sturgeon Lake. George Clough is chopping down a tree. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.028.6
Ike Frank, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ike Frank standing in front of the cabins at Pickeral Acres on Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.028.7
 
Newspaper Clippings, Jul 7, 1932; May 17, 1934
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories dealing with the people of Sturgeon Lake; story about Sturgeon Lake’s popularity as a resort spot; story announcing the opening of Sturgeon Lake’s resorts for the summer (1934). [Unknown], [Unknown date] “The Northern Tribune,” Jul 7, 1932 “The Northern Tribune,” May 17, 1934
Location: 2003.53.236
“Clough’s Auto Camp”, Jun 28, 1932
Newspaper clipping
from “Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Jun 28, 1932 Advertisement for Clough’s resort on Sturgeon Lake.
Location: 2003.53.239
Back to Table of Contents
175.029The Clough Family (2) 1920-1939This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Clough family. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Rupert Clough, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough in front of his log home. Rupert, or “Bob”, was a very well educated person and was known as a teacher, an ordained minister, a published writer and poet, an avid reader, and a photographer. Rupert was born in England and immigrated to Canada, settling first in Northern Ontario and later at Sturgeon Lake in 1912. Here he worked as a manager for the Hudson’s Bay and Revillon Freres Trading Posts, before establishing his own trading post in 1918. In 1937 Rupert Clough moved to Valleyview and opened a new store on the main street. Rupert stayed in the business until 1954 when he retired. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.029.1
In Front of Rupert Clough’s Store, 1930 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
George, Fred and Mary Clough in front of Rupert Clough’s store at Sturgeon Lake in the 1930s. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 47.
Location: 0175.029.2
Winter 1936-37, 1936 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
George, Fred and Mary Clough play in the snow at Sturgeon Lake in the winter of 1936-37. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.029.3
Rupert Clough, 1920 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough chopping wood at Sturgeon Lake in the 1920s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.029.4
Trappers at Rupert Clough’s Store,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Trappers Francis Redhead and Pat Manichoos with their pack dogs in front of Rupert Clough’s store. Standing in the doorway is George Clough. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 50
Location: 0175.029.5
Rupert Clough,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Written on the back of the photo by Rupert Clough: “My house is on the right, the Indian is Pierre, chief’s son and I am the figure on the caueuse. The field behind is our pasture.” Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 49.
Location: 0175.029.6
Rupert Clough Store,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough Store at Sturgeon Lake. The middle person is identified as Lawrence T. Rasmussen. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 48.
Location: 0175.029.7
 
“Huge Monster Recently Seen At Sturgeon Lake by Indian Causes Much Consternation”, May 17, 1934
Newspaper clipping
from “The Northern Tribune,” May 17, 1934 Story about the appearance of a serpent-like monster in Sturgeon Lake, similar to sightings of the Loch Ness Monster or Oggopoggo.
Location: 2003.53.242
Newspaper Clippings, 1928-1932
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories dealing with Sturgeon Lake people and events, including a poem (author unknown) lamenting the end of summer. “The Northern Tribune,” Oct 20, 1932 “The Grande Prairie Herald,” Feb 1, 1929 “The Grande Prairie Herald,” Jul 28, 1928
Location: 2003.53.248
Back to Table of Contents
175.030The Keillar Family 1945-1975Bob Keillar and his wife Kate bought their place at Sturgeon Lake from Alex Williamson in the spring of 1945. There were seven little log cabins and a framed one owned by Hector Morrison from Grande Prairie. There had been a booth, but the heavy winter snow that year had collapsed the roof. The Keillars used what the could of it, and on Sundays served hot dogs, hamburgers and ice cream, and for a couple of years chicken and coleslaw dinners. There was no electricity so they kept their ice cream on ice and salt in an insulated box. Day and night it had to be packed and repacked with the ice and salt to keep it frozen. Kate remembered one Sunday when their work began at 7:00am and by 10:00pm there had been no time for a bite to eat or even a cup of coffee. That day the Keillars had served 30 gallons of ice cream in cones, 20 pounds of wieners in buns and 40 pounds of hamburgers in buns with nothing but an old wood cook stove to cook on. Sometime later they moved part of the old police barracks from across the road (the highway by that time) down the hill for a store. Bob and Kate increased their accommodations by buying for bunkhouses from Mr. Gallivan on the Little Smoky. The original cabins had only a small cook stove, an old bed and mattress, and a homemade table with benches for furniture. The Keillars gradually added better furnishings. They started with coal oil lamps and ice boxes. Later they put in their own power plant and eventually joined up with Northern Utilities and were able to put power into all the cabins. In 1975 the Keillars sold their place at the late to the Sturgeon Lake Indian Band.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Keillar family at Sturgeon Lake. Some of the photographs are digitalized.
 
The Keillar’s Resort at Sturgeon Lake, 1950 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Keillar’s Resort at Sturgeon Lake in the early 1950s. This photo is taken front the original booth looking west toward the cabins. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker
Location: 0175.030.1
Williamson Children, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Doug, Lois and David Williamson at Keillar’s Resort on Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.030.2
In Front of Keillar’s Resort, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A happy fisher shows off her catch in front of Keillar’s Resort at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker.
Location: 0175.030.3
Keillar’s Resort, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of Sturgeon Lake from the Keillar’s Resort. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker.
Location: 0175.030.4
Keillar Family, 1947 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jeanie Keillar (L) with mom Kate Keillar, and sister Sadie Keillar (Walker) in front of Keillar’s Resort at Sturgeon Lake in the late 1940s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarh Walker.
Location: 0175.030.5
At Keillar’s Resort,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Marj Hoedl, Jake Orman (a fisherman who lived at Tom Kerr’s) and Mary Hoedl at Keillar’s Resort. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 9.
Location: 0175.030.6
On the Shore of Keillar’s Resort, 1937 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis Suek, Ralph Suek, Emily Paine, and Marg Suek on the shores of Keillar’s Resort at Sturgeon Lake in the late 1930s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.030.7
Entrance Sign, 1950 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Entrance Sign at Keillar’s Resort on Sturgeon Lake in the late 1940s or early 1950s, located at the top of the hill next to the Kerr property. The building was used by the Dept. of Indian Affairs to distribute food rations to elderly people or other Indians who were in need. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker.
Location: 0175.030.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.031Keillar’s Resort 1940-1959This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Keillar’s resort on Sturgeon Lake. Some of the photographs are digitalized.
 
Float Plane, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
People board a float plane owned by the California Standard Company of Calgary, AB, while it rests on the waters of Sturgeon Lake at Keillar’s Resort. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.031.1
Sturgeon Lake by Keillar’s Resort, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
A 1951 photograph of Sturgeon Lake by Keillar’s Resort. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.031.2
At Keillar’s Resort, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Keannie, Kathy, Rosie, Jenny, and Sadie Keillar at Keillar’s Resort on Sturgeon Lake, August, 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker.
Location: 0175.031.3
Boating, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Boating at Keillar’s Resort on Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnguist.
Location: 0175.031.4
Fishing on Sturgeon Lake, 1947 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Alex Anderson fishing and boating on Sturgeon Lake in the late 1940s. Anderson, a farmer from Rycroft, owned land on the other side of what is now Boyd’s Cabins. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker.
Location: 0175.031.5
Keillar’s Resort, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Marj Suek and Mike Zajac at Keillar’s Resort at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.031.6
Keillar’s Beach, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Keillar’s Beach looking from Kerr’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.031.7
Boats at Keillar’s Resort, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A young girl playing by the boats at Keillar’s Resort on Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker.
Location: 0175.031.8
At Keillar’s Resort, 1950
1 Photograph; b & w;
Edith (or Vi) Soderquist, Grace Holmen, and Verna Holmen at Keillar’s Resort at Sturgeon Lake circa 1950. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.031.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.032Sturgeon Lake Sports Day (1) 1930-1959A highlight of early summer was “Sports Day” at Sturgeon Lake. There were horse races, tee dances, and many games. The most fun was the tug of war, a simple sport but very effective in showing off team spirit. Tom Kerr always set up a stand during Sports Days. His variety of pop and candy was a big hit with the crowd. People came from all of the Peace Country by horse and car to take part in the games. Native people built traditional tepees and served traditional foods during Sports Day. The sweet smell of bannock fried in bacon or moose grease lingered in the warm spring air. They served moose stew in large helpings, but certainly not on paper plates. Janet Kerr McLaughlin remembered the Sports Day as a time to get caught up on all the news from around the Peace Country. -Granddaddy of the Peace, Les McLaughlinThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Callais. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Sports at Calais, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sports Day at Calais, Sturgeon Lake. Tents are visible in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.032.1
Sports at Calais, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sports Day at Calais, Sturgeon Lake, in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph numer ST 135.
Location: 0175.032.2
The Mens Tug-Of-War, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Mens Tug-Of-War at the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day. The young man to the left with the hat is John McGregor (Jack) Williamson, about age 10. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.032.3
A Ball Game, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
A ball game at the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph numer ST 208.
Location: 0175.032.4
Sports at Calais, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph numer ST 130.
Location: 0175.032.5
Barrel Race!, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Barrel Race at the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais. Donald Williamson is on the front barrel – he eventually won the race. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.032.6
Sports Day at Calais, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph numer ST 134.
Location: 0175.032.7
The Ladies Tug-Of-War, 1940 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The ladies’ tug-of-war at the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day, 1940-1950. The lady on the far left is Elizabeth Gouchey and the girl to her immediate right is Floristine Gouchey. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 32.
Location: 0175.032.8
 
Newspaper clipping, Aug 25, 1932
Newspaper clipping
Story covering the events at the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day, Aug 25, 1932. Unknown newspaper.
Location: 2003.53.270
Back to Table of Contents
175.033Sturgeon Lake Sports Day (2) 1930-1944This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Callais. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
July 1944, 1944 Jul, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 119.
Location: 0175.033.1
Wrestling!, 1942 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Wrestling at the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day in the early 1940s. The man with the white t-shirt is identified as Wallace Caldwell. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.033.2
July 1944, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 127
Location: 0175.033.3
July 1944, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 129.
Location: 0175.033.4
July 1944, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. The location shown is the east side of the service station at Sturgeon Lake on Highway 43, the area is a natural ampetheater. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 132.
Location: 0175.033.5
July 1944, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 127.
Location: 0175.033.6
Jerry Emard and Bill Brown, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jerry Emard and Bill Brown at the Sturgeon Lake Sports Day in July 1944. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.033.7
July 1944, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake Sports Day at Calais in July 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 131.
Location: 0175.033.8
 
Newspaper clippings, 1934
Newspaper clipping
Articles covering the people and events at Sturgeon Lake sports day “The Northern Tribune,” Jul 12, 1934 “The Northern Tribune,” ? Jul 10, [year unknown]
Location: 2003.53.280
Back to Table of Contents
175.034The Suek Family 1932-1961In 1932, Louis and Barbara Suek came to the Sturgeon Lake area, where Louis operated a pleasure fishing business and service station, and Barbara managed the Sturgeon Lake Café and also became Postmistress. People came from all over to feast on the fabulous lemon pie and whitefish Mrs. Suek served. -“Where the Red Willow Grew,” by Barry Williamson Tony Dumbrowski and his brother, known as “Speed,” took over the Sturgeon Lake Café in 1947. After Speed left he had an orchestra. His wife’s name was “Star Ament” and she was a popular western singer of the times.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Suek family. The photos are digitalized.
 
Louis Suek, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis Suek working in his front yard in Sturgeon Lake, located across from the Hudson’s Bay Company Post. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.034.1
The Sturgeon Lake Café, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Sturgeon Lake Café was first managed by Barbara Suek, who also became the postmistress of the Sturgeon Lake area. She came to Sturgeon Lake in 1932 with her husband Louis. Tony Dumbrowski and his brother “Speed” took over the Sturgeon Lake Café in 1947. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.034.2
The Sturgeon Lake Café, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Sturgeon Lake Café after Louis & Barbara Suek sold it to Nick Tanasuik. Mr. Tanasuik did run the business as a café but later turned it into a store, with his residence in the back. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarah Walker.
Location: 0175.034.3
Roy Pheylan and Marj Suek,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Roy Pheylan and Marj Suek in a horse drawn wagon. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 22.
Location: 0175.034.4
Louis Suek with Grandsons, 1952
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis Suek with his grandsons Duane and Carson Bodeker circa 1952. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.034.5
Louis Suek, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis Suek circa 1951 with his “Sturgeon Lake Taxi” in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.034.6
Louis & Barbara Suek, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis and Barbara Suek pose with a group in front of the Sturgeon Lake Café. When the Suek’s came to the Sturgeon Lake area in 1932, Louis operated a fishing business and service station and Barbara ran the Sturgeon Lake Café. She was also the postmistress for the Sturgeon Lake area. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.034.7
Louis Suek with Granddaughter, 1961
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis Suek with granddaughter Toni circa 1961. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.034.8
 
Newspaper clipping, Jan 29, 1932
Newspaper clipping
Anecdotal stories about people and events in Sturgeon Lake, 1932; publication unknown
Location: 2003.53.288
Back to Table of Contents
175.035Trapping (1) 1900-1949The Pierre Keyawasew family was a large one. The sons were good hunters and trappers for the most part. One of them, Joe, was reputed to be one of the best at Sturgeon Lake. When he found a fresh moose track, he seldom failed to make a kill. And his wife could tan hides as few others could, making them smooth and pliable, smoked to just the right colour. -“Land of the Wettigo,” by David Williamson The “Old” Stoney family were real bush people; far happier in the wilderness than at Sturgeon Lake. Stoney used to do a bit of trading for furs at his main cabin near Ash Lake, 60 miles sough east of Sturgeon Lake. His son Peter was a big, powerful man who liked the “Old Ways”. -“Land of the Wettigo,” by David Williamson The Awasis family was a prominent one. Albert Awasis was an expert in shooting flying ducks with a muzzleloader while in a dugout canoe, even on fairly rough water. Willie McLean was perhaps the most outstanding member of that family, his mother having been a sister to Alberta Awasis, although his father had been of Scottish birth and extraction. Willie McLean died near Chetwynd, B.C. at about 80 years of age. -“Land of the Wettigo,” by David Williamson It was the task of Indian and most Métis women to clean, fillet, smoke and fry the fish their menfolk caught, to preserve them for use in the months to come. Some women even caught their own fish; using a tricky dugout canoe to set and tend their nets. Indeed, HBC factor Angus McLean’s sweetheart, Mrs Awasis, did so much of this she became known as Kinuseo Nohtigew – “The Old Fishwife,” – to her Sturgeon Lake neighbours. -“Tee Pee Fires Burn Brightly Still,” by David Williamson A fish-trap, or weir, built with round poles, located some distance up the creek, close to Chief Alexis Papastisis’ (“Woodpecker’s”) house, and at the foot of a high cut bank, caught all the down stream-bound fish of whatever species. They would be unloaded unto gunny sacks, gutted and cleaned for immediate use, or dried and cured for storing by hanging them on wooden racks over a small, smoky fire. -“Red White Man,” by David Williamson Most native women cooked fish by boiling; some by frying. When we first came to Sturgeon Lake (1915), women often cooked fish on a metal frame covered with steel rods an inch apart set a foot above a bed of live coals. In the earlier days, fish were cooked on heated stones, or buried in a bed of hot coals. These women were ingenious. The birch bark kettles they made were neat and useful. If one had no metal kettle, no need to worry when hot water was needed: just make a bark kettle, fill it with water, make a small fire, beat some stones and drop them into the kettle. Presto! Hot water! -“Red White Man,” by David Williamson Usually there were racks made of slender spruce poles placed well above outside fires, from which were suspended strips of meat from moose, deer, woodland caribou or elk; or perhaps expertly filleted fish, to dry and cure in the gently rising smoke for winter use. The Cree called their smoked meat “pansowan”. It was real tasty eating, but having been dried so thoroughly, to the point of being extremely dry and hard, it requires a great deal of chewing if it were eaten without first being boiled. Old “Granny” Wusk-wee-choos (“Dry Apples”) and “Uncle” Sin-pan-capow (“Standing Ribbon”) were most generous when handing out this exotic-tasting delicacy for which us Moony-assis (“Little White People”) had a great liking. “We Grew Up On A Cree Reservation,” by David Williamson …says Bishop Grouard…The various kinds of fish found in the lake and their abundance had brought the Indians to live near it. Trapping here is good, there are many bears and moose, martin, fox and beavers. Fur trading is strong and three merchants “fight it out.” One of them is Mr. McDermott…He not the best trader but he favours the priests work among the Indians…Father Falher has been coming here for ten years, but has not decent place for his rectory and chapel…Only a poor hut, Mr. McDermott would lodge him at his place. “Early Indian Life,” by Stephen MosesThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding trapping. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
George Apps, 1940 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
George Apps with his dog team coming in from the trap line which was south of Sturgeon Heights on the Simonette River. The photograph was taken in the 1940s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.035.1
Redhead’s Cabin, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Redhead’s Cabin at Sturgeon Lake, circa 1940. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number Glen- NA 394-6.
Location: 0175.035.2
Oscar Adolphson, 1943 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Oscar Adolphson perched upon bales of fur from the Hudson’s Bay Company Post at Sturgeon Lake in the early 1940s. The furs, which were worth thousands of dollars at the time, were being hauled to the railway station in High Prairie. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.035.3
Jorgensens, 1962
1 Photograph; b & w;
Svend, Ivan and Wallace Jorgensen fleshing beavers in 1962. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.035.4
Raw Furs, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Raw furs displayed in front of the Hudson’s Bay Store at Sturgeon Lake. Pete Harvey, possibly Pete Moses, unidentified, Hazel McMillan stand in front of the store. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.035.5
Sid Brown, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sid Brown with a wolf that was shot or trapped near his trap line in the Little Smoky River area. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.035.6
Bruce Fjellner, 1936 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bruce Fjellner in front of his log cabin about 1936 or 1937. He was born June 9, 1901 in Sweden and married Selma Soderquist in 1934. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.035.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.036Trapping (2) 1937-1944This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding trapping. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Dog Team, 1939
1 Photograph; b & w;
A dog team at the Brown Stopping Place on the Little Smoky River in 1939. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.036.1
Cabin at Smoke Lake, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mr. Charnburg, Arnold Holmen, and Ingvald Tingstad at their cabin on the north shore of Smoke Lake (Buck Lake). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Kin Tingstad.
Location: 0175.036.2
Fleshing Moose Hide, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Madalaine Gladue, Louisa Gladue, and Elizabeth Stoney fleshing a moose hide in November, 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 181.
Location: 0175.036.3
Leaving for the Trap Line, 1931
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gunner Anderson, his daughter Dolores and his dog called Shep leaving to go to his trap line in 1931. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Marilyn Leslie.
Location: 0175.036.4
Heading Out Trapping,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cazmere (De’om) Joyce, also known as Red Moose, heading out trapping on horse back. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 45.
Location: 0175.036.5
Svend Jorgensen and Baby Daughter Nita, 1937 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Svend Jorgensen and baby daughter Nita (Jorgensen) Clough on Buck Lake (Smoke Lake) in the winter of 1937-38 with his dog team and trappers cabin in the background.Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 26.
Location: 0175.036.6
Trappers Cabin on Little Smoky, 1929
1 Photograph; b & w;
Holger Madsen, Knute Gjerdi, Elias Johnson, and Jorgen Petterson in front of a cabin by the Little Smoky River in circa 1929. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.036.7
At Camp, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dan McLean and Dave Kappo in front of their camp. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgenson.
Location: 0175.036.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.037Fires 1910-1940This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding forest fires and concervation. The photos are digitalized.
 
Forest Fire Near Sturgeon Lake,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A forest fire near Sturgeon Lake can be seen in the distance. Copyright belongs to Doug Williamson. Original photograph number DW 40.
Location: 0175.037.1
Jerry Emard, 1936
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jerry Emard at camp in 1936. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.037.2
Rupert Clough Photograph,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough writes on the back of this photo: “L – Ada Big Charles (my body guard), C – August Emard, R – Frank Emard.” Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 21.
Location: 0175.037.3
Badger Estate, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Badger Estate in the foreground and a forest fire in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.037.4
Rupert Clough, 1910 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough roasting a rabbit over the fire circa 1910. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.037.5
Fire Rangers Main Camp in Flood,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Fire Rangers Main Camp in flood. This camp was used while cruising timber. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 20.
Location: 0175.037.6
Rupert Clough’s Camp, 1927
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough’s camp at Snipe Lake in 1927. He was a fire ranger. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.037.7
Frank Emard,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Frank Emard and Rupert Clough cutting a trail. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 18.
Location: 0175.037.8
Miracle Camp,
1 Photograph; b & w;
August Emard and Emerson Langlois with horses at Miracle Camp in the Snipe Lake area. Note the moose meat drying on the racks. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 19.
Location: 0175.037.9
 
“Peace Area Pioneer Forest Ranger Dies”, Apr 22, 1972
Newspaper clipping
Story after the death of Jerry Emard in 1972. Unknown publication.
Location: 2003.53.308
Back to Table of Contents
175.038Fire Fighting 1910-1950This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding forest fires and conservation. The photos are digitalized.
 
Rupert Clough at Camp, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough at camp near Snipe Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.038.1
Working on the road to New Fish Creek, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Working on the road to New Fish Creek in January of 1944. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number BA 035.
Location: 0175.038.2
Unidentified people at camp, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Unidentified people at camp. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.038.3
Emards at Camp,
1 Photograph; b & w;
August Emard (with rifle), Frank Emard with daughter Evelyn on pony, Emerson Langlois holding the pony, Marie Emard (Frank’s wife). Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 22.
Location: 0175.038.4
Calais Indians, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Calais Indians firefighting in May 1944. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 176.
Location: 0175.038.5
Fire Ranger Rupert Clough,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Fire Ranger Rupert Clough “cruising timber”. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 17.
Location: 0175.038.6
Original Wooden Forestry Lookout, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Original Wooden Forestry Lookout Tower at Puskwaskau (west side of Sturgeon Lake). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.038.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.039Water 1940-1961This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding ice cutting and water drilling in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Water Well Drilling Equipment, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Water Well Drilling Equipment in 1940. On the left is Fr. Gaucher. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 105.
Location: 0175.039.01
Bill Potter and Br. Roch Gaucher,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mr. Bill Potter (left) and Brother Roch Goucher (right) stand on either side of an automobile. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST104.
Location: 0175.039.02
Cable Tool Water Well Rig, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
A Cable Tool Water Well Rig on the Lloyd Boman homestead located south of Valleyview in the fall of 1954. Water came in at 363′ at 4 gallons/minute. The rig was owned by Bill Potter. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lloyd Boman.
Location: 0175.039.03
Louis Baron Sawing Ice,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis Baron sawing ice on the lake. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 304.
Location: 0175.039.04
Drilling the Water Well, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Drilling the Water Well at the Sturgeon Lake Mission in 1940. Man on the right is Bill Potter. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST159.
Location: 0175.039.05
Cutting Ice on the Lake, 1953
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis Baron and others cutting ice on the lake in the winter of 1953. Copyright belongs to the Donelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST156.
Location: 0175.039.06
Potter Well Drilling, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Potter Well Drilling for water north of Sturgeon Lake at a rig location in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.039.07
Sturgeon Lake Ice Breakup,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ice breaking up on Sturgeon lake. Copyright belongs to the Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC.
Location: 0175.039.08
Potter’s Well Drilling, 1961
1 Photograph; b & w;
Potter’s Well Drilling for water on the farm of John Tonne in the spring of 1961. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.039.10
Back to Table of Contents
175.040Travel During Floods 1922-1939With a large spring thaw in 1920, the Big Smoky was a seemingly insurmountable barrier. The stream was so flooded that use of the ferry was out of the question. Not only had the river become swollen to great heights, a mass of driftwood almost choked the raging stream from bank to bank. Alex MacQuarrie, in charge of all roads, bridges and ferries that lay south of Peace River and north of the 55th meridian, had to contend with the Big Smoky problem. He lost no time in formulating plans for transporting mail, freight and passengers across the river. “Old Jim” Kimmerly, the ferryman, was asked to carry out MacQuarrie’s plan with the assistance of my father (Alex J. Williamson, Sr.) and Fred Young, who was accompanying Father on a mail trip to Grande Prairie. A small aerial basket was built and suspended from grooved cast-iron wheels that used ferry cable for a track. The crate-like affair worked nicely, travelling most of the distance across the river under its own power supplied by gravity. From that point on, willing hands pulling on a rope that passed between the slings that held the basket to the cable wheels, and was anchored to the ferry tower on each bank, did the trick. The building of the aerial basket took only three days. -“Land of the Wettigo,” by David Williamson Spring of 1920 – On the Sturgeon Lake-Grande Prairie Trail there were many stretches of what was called “corduroy”. In places where the mud holes were bottomless quagmires, small logs 16 feet in length would be laid side-by-side across the trail, forming a corduroy-like pattern. This kept horses and wagons from sinking into the muck of sloughy [sic] places; places where sharp pieces of sticks might be embedded, ready to pierce a horse’s belly. Many stretches of “corduroy” were of considerable length. While some would be covered with clay to form a smooth piece of road, most sections were left bare of the lack of money to cover them. Negotiating bare corduroy was a jarring, bouncing nightmare. The wheels climbed up on each log and fell into the trough between it and the next one. A snail’s pace was the only one possible. The discomfort of crossing bare corduroy was mitigated by the knowledge that if the stuff wasn’t there, travel would be impossible. During the spring of 1920, the accumulated water covered stretches of corduroy in the lowest places. Where the logs were uncovered, the corduroy floated, making travel extremely hazardous. Here and there a small bridge made of logs floated and would surely have moved away but for the fact it was anchored at both ends and well nailed or wired together. Even so, the odd deck-pole might float away, leaving an open space in the bridge floor. -“Land of the Wettigo,” “Tee Pee Fires Burn Brightly Still,” “Red White Man,” by David WilliamsonThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding travel in the Valleyview area during floods. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Highway to High Prairie, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The highway to High Prairie of the Old High Prairie Road. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.040.1
Dinner on the Edson Trail, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Mr. Hanson, A. MacQuarrie, Mr. Cornwall (MLA, Peace River), Mr. Robertson, and Mr. McEwan have dinner on the Edson Trail. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Debolt Museum.
Location: 0175.040.2
Jerry Emard (Freighter),
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jerry Emard (Freighter) on a trail. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 2.
Location: 0175.040.3
Highway to Sturgeon Lake, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The highway to Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.040.4
Stuck in the Mud,
1 Photograph; b & w;
August Emard with a load of freight stuck in the mud. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 16.
Location: 0175.040.5
Fording a Creek,
1 Photograph; b & w;
August Emard hauling a load of freight and fording a creek. Boxes say “Pure Granulated Sugar” and “Wax Candles”. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 1.
Location: 0175.040.6
Ferry Crossing the Big Smoky, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ferry crossing the Big Smoky on the Edson Trail. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Debolt Museum.
Location: 0175.040.7
Corduroy Road, 1922
1 Photograph; b & w;
Corduroy Road to Sturgeon Lake in October 1922. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number is PA 4808.
Location: 0175.040.8
Mail Stage leaving Grande Prairie, 1924
1 Photograph; b & w;
A Mail Stage leaving Grande Prairie for Sturgeon Lake in 1924. This was done once or twice a week. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number Glen 1037-2.
Location: 0175.040.9
 
Newspaper clippings, 1930-1932
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories about road-construction, difficult travel and flooding in the Sturgeon Lake/Valleyview region. [unknown publication], Aug 25, 1932 “The Northern Tribune,” Sept 1, 1932 “The Herald Tribune,” Jun 6, 1930 “The Herald Tribune,” Oct 25, 1932
Location: 2003.53.339
Back to Table of Contents
175.041Early Farming (1) 1930-1955This file consists of a scanned copy of articles and photographs regarding early farming practices in the Valleyview area. The photos are digitalized.
 
1930s on Tingstad Homestead, 1930
1 Photograph; b & w;
1930’s on Tingstad Homestead: (L-R): [unknown], Ingvald Tingstad, [unknown], and Jack Tingstad. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.041.1
Stooks of Grain, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Stooks of grain waiting to be threshed on the Ole Soderquist Farm. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.041.2
Early 1930’s, 1930 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Paul and Ed Werklund with their steel-wheeled tractor, wagon and breaking plow in the early 1930s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.041.3
Threshing, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of men and equipment threshing. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.041.4
Jack Tingstad, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack Tingstad breaking his land on NE-24-70-22-W5. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.041.5
Late 1930’s, 1937 c..
1 Photograph; b & w;
A photograph of threshing equipment taken in the late 1930s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.041.6
1955, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sandy Ford holding baby George Clough, Jr., and John Tonne threshing at Clough’s Farm in 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.041.7
Paul Werklund, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Paul Werklund on the left and Bror on the right, shown with the breaking plow and wagon. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.041.8
Moving Jack Tingstad’s steam engine, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving Jack Tingstad’s steam engine in the winter. Man on the right is identified as Carl Freidle. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.041.9
 
“Six Settlers Walk From High Prairie to Sturgeon Lake”, Apr 11, 1930; unknown
Newspaper clipping
Two stories dealing early agriculture, including a strong influx of settlers to the region, and the high quality nature of the soil. “Grande Prairie Herald,” Apr 11, 1930 [unknown publication], [unknown date]
Location: 2003.53.348
Back to Table of Contents
175.042Early Farming (2) 1924-1944This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding settlement and early farming practices in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
John Tonne’s Farm, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
This photo taken on the John Tonne farm and shows the vehicles and equipment used in the 1920s and 1930s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.042.1
Threshing, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Farmers working in the field throw stooks into the thresher. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.042.2
Agatha and Pete Peters, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Agatha and Pete Peters with a child on the Holmen farm. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.042.3
McCormack 1530 or 1836 Tractor, Oct, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
McCormack 1530 or 1836 tractor taken in October 1944 in New Fish Creek. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 33.
Location: 0175.042.4
Williamsons Farming, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Williamsons farm with Jack on the hay binder and George driving the tractor. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.042.5
Building a Barn, 1940 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Joe Lundblad building his barn in 1939 or 1940. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundblad.
Location: 0175.042.6
 
“Beautiful Sturgeon Lake Country Offers Wonderful Opportunities to Settlers”, Apr 6, 1928
Newspaper clipping
from “Grande Prairie Herald,” Apr 6, 1928 Story describing the natural beauty and rich agricultural prospects of the Sturgeon Lake region; likely intended to entice settlers/homesteaders to the region.
Location: 2003.53.356
Newspaper clippings,
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories dealing with homesteading and successful farming in the Sturgeon Lake region in the 1920’s and ’30’s.
Location: 2003.53.359
Back to Table of Contents
175.043Homesteaders 1915-1939This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the early homesteaders in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
The Madsen Homestead, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Madsen Homestead located at SW-12-70-22-W5 filed for in 1928. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.043.1
Spring of 1928, 1928
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Eskil Anderson, Enoch Lundblad, Carl Noreen, Gunner Anderson, Joe Haldin and Oscar Ericson on their way to look for homesteads in the Valleyview area in the spring of 1928. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundblad.
Location: 0175.043.2
Prairie Schooners,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Prairie Schooners passing through Sturgeon Lake in the 1930’s. On the side of the wagon it says “Pouce Coupe or Bust”. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 8.
Location: 0175.043.3
Rupert Clough Photo,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough writes on the reverse of this photo: “Bridge over last creek on way to my place – close to Brown’s homestead or on a corner of it.” Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 3.
Location: 0175.043.4
Olaf Lantz, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Olaf Lantz on the left with his house that was built in the 1930’s on SE-36-69-22-W5 (east of the Little Smoky River). The building still stands today! Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.043.5
A Group of Homesteaders, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of homesteaders stand by a log building. (L-R): Joe Lundblad, Andy Anderson, Dan Bergsten, [unknown], Clarence Petterson, [unknown]. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundblad.
Location: 0175.043.6
Logging, 1930
1 Photograph; b & w;
Two men logging circa 1930, one of whom may be Oscar Soderquist. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.043.7
Paul Werklund, 1930 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Paul Werklund with his car, which he brought from Minnesota, in front of his cabin on his homestead located south of Valleyview (NW-27-69-22-W5) in the 1930’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.043.8
Lundblads, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Joe and Enoch Lundblad in front of a tent on their homestead. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundblad.
Location: 0175.043.9
 
Newspaper clipping, Aug 26, 1915
Newspaper clipping
from “The Frontier Signal,” Aug 26, 1915. Appears to be editorial condemning the way the Lands Office was run.
Location: 2003.53.370
Back to Table of Contents
175.044Horses 1928-1956This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs showing horses at work on farms and as methods of transportation. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
En Route to Grande Prairie,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Henry McCullough on horseback with Oscar Adolphson in the background. Henry had spent the night here on his way to Grande Prairie. Copyright belongs to Norm Adolphson. Original photograph number A.
Location: 0175.044.1
Ingvald Tingstad with his Horses, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ingvald Tingstad in 1944 with his horses and Bennett wagon which he used to clean culverts out in the spring. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.044.2
Sandy Ford’s and Wilf Young’s Teams, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sandy Ford’s and Wilf Young’s teams of horses used for field work in 1956. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.044.3
City of Grande Prairie’s Charter, 1958
1 Photograph; b & w;
Henry McCullough carrying the Charter for the City of Grande Prairie in front of Oscar Adolphson’s barn. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.044.4
A Sulky Plow, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A sulky plow with a 6-up team (3+3). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.044.5
Ivar Bratland Swathing, 1929
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ivar Bratland swathing a bumper-crop of oats in 1929. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.044.6
Ivor Bratland Plowing, 1928
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ivor Bratland behind a walking plow in 1928. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.044.7
Soderquist Farm, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Tony Stenseth, Myrtle, Robbie, Edith and Violet Soderquist on the Soderquist Farm. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.044.8
Driving the Team, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Mary Hoedl, Mrs. Suek, Marj Suek, and George Williamson driving the team. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.044.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.045Founding Valleyview (1) 1940-1959This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the early days of the Town of Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Original Town Hall, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Original Town Hall which was located at the corner of 50th Ave and 48th St. It was later moved out to Doug Stevenson’s farm. The picture was taken in the early 1950’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.045.1
Valleyview Main Street, 1940 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Valleyview’s Main Street in the 1940s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.045.2
A Seismic Crew,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A Seismic Crew parked on Main Street Valleyview. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 41.
Location: 0175.045.3
Spring 1940, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Babies are Sheila and Marguerite Williamson in the spring of 1940. Buildings in the background are (L-R): McLaughlin’s house and their café, and J. Lassen’s garage. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.045.4
Main Street Valleyview in the 1950s, 1950 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Main Street Valleyview in the ’50s looking east. Margo’s Café is on the left and behind it you can see the steeple of the Catholic Church. On the right is the Co-op Store. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.045.5
1943, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Looking east on Main Street Valleyview in 1943. The Valleyview Co-op Store on the right. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 37.
Location: 0175.045.6
 
“Peace River Wants Roads To Use All Year Round”, Apr 20, 1940
Newspaper clipping
from “The Calgary Herald,” Apr 20, 1940 Story speaking of life in “Lonely” Valleyview, of the isolation and how the populace deals with it. The desire for good roads is mentioned more than once.
Location: 2003.53.389
“The Way It Is At Valleyview”, Apr 15, 1939
Newspaper clipping
from “The Calgary Herald,” Apr 15, 1939 Story describing life in Valleyview, circa 1939.
Location: 2003.53.390
Back to Table of Contents
175.046Founding Valleyview (2) 1932-1940This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the early days of the Town of Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Main Street Valleyview, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Main Street Valleyview. Buildings shown are Rupert Clough’s warehouse, his store, Post Office, Wille Reber’s Garage, Margo’s Café, and Kalmar Ramstad’s 1947 Mercury car. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.046.1
Homemade Snowmobile, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Paul Werklund beside a homemade snowmobile in front of his garage. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Town of Valleyview.
Location: 0175.046.2
Main Street Valleyview, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Main Street Valleyview. In the background a building is being moved, and Leona Williamson and Mildred Clough pose for the photo. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.046.3
Dog Team, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Unknown man and dog team pose in front of Paul Werklund’s garage. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Town of Valleyview.
Location: 0175.046.4
Looking East, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Looking East on Main Street. The building in the distance is the original Co-op Store and to the right is Carl Svenson’s House. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.046.5
Main Street Valleyview, 1939
1 Photograph; b & w;
Main Street Valleyview in 1939. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.046.6
Main Street Valleyview, 1936
1 Photograph; b & w;
Main Street Valleyview in September 1936. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Town of Valleyview.
Location: 0175.046.7
Riding a Massey Harris Tractor,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Art and Joe Clough, Les Reber, Millie, Elsie and George Clough riding a Massey Harris 103 Tractor on Main Street Valleyview. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 40.
Location: 0175.046.8
 
Newspaper clippings, 1932-1940
Newspaper clippings
Stories dealing with life in Valleyview, 1932-1940, including the two detailed in Frame 0175.M045. “The Calgary Herald,” Apr 20, 1940 “The Calgary Herald,” Apr 15, 1939 “Grande Prairie Herald,” Sept 27, 1932
Location: 2003.53.393
Back to Table of Contents
175.047Early Roads: Sturgeon Lake and Area 1938-1950This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the early roads in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Highway #34, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Highway #34, Valleyview to Grande Prairie, 1946 – This photo was taken from in front of what is now the Valleyview Hotel on Main Street, Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.047.1
Preparing the New Road, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Preparing the new road for the future in the summer of 1946. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 114.
Location: 0175.047.2
Grading the Road,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Grading the road in front of the Oblate Father’s residence. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 362.
Location: 0175.047.3
Preparing the Road, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Preparing the road for the future in the summer of 1946. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 112.
Location: 0175.047.4
The Four Mile Corner, 1950
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Four Mile Corner, Grande Prairie, in 1950. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolpson.
Location: 0175.047.5
Sid Brown with his Horse-Drawn Grader,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sid Brown with his horse-drawn grader. He graded the road from New Fish Creek to the Triangle Corner from 1939-1940. Copyright belongs to Rick Soderquist. Original photograph number RS Digital.
Location: 0175.047.6
Glen Carpenter and his Mule Team, 1938
1 Photograph; b & w;
Glen Carpenter and his Mule team grading the road. His section of road to grade was from New Fish Creek to Sturgeon Lake, circa 1938. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 97.
Location: 0175.047.7
 
Newspaper clippings, 1928-1932
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories on construction of the highways in the Peace Country between 1928 and 1932. “Grande Prairie Herald,” Jul 27, 1928 “The Northern Tribune,” Sept 6, 1932 “The Northern Tribune,” Sept 8, 1932
Location: 2003.53.405
Back to Table of Contents
175.048Brown’s River Place 1931-1953This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the bridge at Brown’s River Place. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
1931, 1931
1 Photograph; b & w;
The opening of the bridge at the Brown’s River Place in 1931. The stopping place consisted of two log barns and a bunkhouse for the teamsters travelling through the area. The River Place was conveniently located halfway on the 50 mile trip from Valleyview to High Prairie. As people in the Valleyview district travelled to High Prairie for supplies, the Brown Stopping Place was a popular resting spot on the journey. Bob Brown can be seen in the photo. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.048.1
Sitting on the Bridge, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sitting on the bridge on the river by Brown’s Stopping Place. The stopping place was conveniently located halfway on the 50 mile trip from Valleyview to High Prairie and as people in the Valleyview district travelled to High Prairie for supplies, the Brown Stopping Place was a popular resting spot on the journey. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.048.2
Sid Brown, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sid Brown haying. Sid filed a homestead at the Little Smoky Crossing and established a stopping place there in the early 1930s for people traveling between Valleyview and High Prairie for supplies. Sid also ran a grader for the government. His 21 year career as a grader saw the progression of the roads as well as the equipment used: he began working with a four-horse setup and later used a power grader. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives.
Location: 0175.048.3
Looking Down the Bridge, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Looking down the bridge at the Brown’s River Place. The stopping place was conveniently located halfway on the 50 mile trip from Valleyview to High Prairie and as people in the Valleyview district travelled to High Prairie for supplies, the Brown Stopping Place was a popular resting spot on the journey. Sid Brown began the operation in the early 1930s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.048.4
McLean Place at Smoky, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Leona (sister to Margo Brown) and Davy at the McLean Place at the Smoky River. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.048.5
Down at the River, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Margo Brown and her sisters down at the river. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.048.6
 
“Valleyview”, Feb 5, 1953
Newspaper clipping
from “Grande Prairie Herald,” Feb 5, 1953 Anecdotes from the Valleyview area, including the taking-over of the River Place by an oil company who converted it into lodging for its crews
Location: 2003.53.411
Back to Table of Contents
175.049The Sid Brown Family 1931-1953In 1931, Sidney Brown filed on a homestead at the Little Smoky Crossing on the new road being built between Valleyview and High Prairie, moving on the place in the spring of 1932. Sid and Margo soon set up a Stopping Place, with two log barns and a bunkhouse for the teamsters travelling through. The “River Place” as it soon became known was conveniently located halfway on the 50 mile trip from Valleyview to High Prairie. Since everyone in the district pretty much went to High Prairie for supplies, to ship cattle and hogs and to haul feed and seed, nearly every night the barns were full of teams and the bunk houses full of men making their evening meal. Sid also ran the grader for the government—first with a four-horse setup and later with a power grader—before there was any gravel on the road and after, for twenty-one years. He passed away in 1968. In September of 1945, the children (Beth, Bud & Tom) who Margo had taught by correspondence, needed to go to school so the family moved into Valleyview. They purchased the Chamberlain building on the corner of 50th and 50th, and thus began Margo’s Café.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the Sid Brown family. The photos are digitalized.
 
Margo Brown and Eric Heath, 1950
1 Photograph; b & w;
Margo Brown and Eric Heath at the Stopping Place about 1950. The Brown’s Stopping Place was established in the early 1930s and was a convient resting place for people travelling from Valleyview to High Prairie for supplise. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.1
Sid Brown, 1953
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sid Brown by a cabin around 1953. Sid filed a homestead at the Little Smoky Crossing and established a stopping place there in the early 1930s for people traveling between Valleyview and High Prairie for supplise. Sid also ran a grader for the government. His 21 year career as a grader saw the progression of the roads as well as the equipment used: he began working with a four-horse setup and later used a power grader. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.2
The Brown’s Place, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Brown’s Place at Little Smoky River on the Old High Prairie Road. The Sid Brown family lived there from 1932-1945. All the Army convoys to Alaska passed right by the little store by the old bridge. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.3
Brown’s Stopping Place in 1953, 1953
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Bob Brown, Stan Carpenter and Sid Brown at Brown’s Stopping Place in 1953. The Stopping Place, conviently situated halfway between Valleyview and High Prairie, was established in the early 1930s and provided many travelers with food and a place to rest. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.4
Bud Brown, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bud Brown in his father’s, Sid Brown, truck in 1951. Sid Brown ran the grader for the government for 21 years. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.049.5
The Ice Break-Up, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The ice breaking up on the river at Brown’s Stopping Place. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.6
Bridge, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bridge at Brown’s River Crossing. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.7
Brown’s Place, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A small homestead. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.8
The Sid Brown River Place,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Sid Brown River Place. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.049.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.050Gravel: Crushing and Hauling at the SmokyStandard Gravel from Edmonton was the contractor.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the hauling of gravel at the Smoky River. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Machinery,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description). Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 2.
Location: 0175.050.1
Machinery,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description). Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 3.
Location: 0175.050.2
Cliff Reber and Fred Lambert loading gravel,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cliff Reber and Fred Lambert loading gravel. Copyright belongs to Rick Soderquist. Original photograph number RS 22B.
Location: 0175.050.3
Machinery,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description). Copyright belongs to Rick Soderquist. Original photograph number RS 30.
Location: 0175.050.4
Machinery,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description). Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 4.
Location: 0175.050.5
Machinery,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description). Copyright belongs to Margo Brown. Original photograph number MB 10.
Location: 0175.050.6
Machinery,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description). Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 1.
Location: 0175.050.7
Machinery and Men,
1 Photograph; b & w;
[no description]. Copyright belongs to Rick Soderquist. Original photograph number RS 5.
Location: 0175.050.8
Loading Gravel,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cliff Reber and Fred Lambert loading gravel. Copyright belongs to Rick Soderquist. Original photograph number RS 22.
Location: 0175.050.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.051Community Gatherings 1928-1959This file consists of a scanned copy of articles and photographs regarding community gatherings in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Summer of 1959, 1959
1 Photograph; b & w;
Summer of 1959. Grandma Ramstad and Grandma Swanson enjoy the ice cream! Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.051.1
Valleyview’s First Picnic, 1929
1 Photograph; b & w;
Written on the reverse of this photo in Elsie Williamson’s hand: “1929 – Valleyview’s first picnic.” Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.051.2
Congregation at Oscar Adolphson’s Home, 1929
1 Photograph; b & w;
Picture of the congregation in front of Oscar Adolphson’s home after a church meeting in 1929. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolpson.
Location: 0175.051.3
Church Group Picnic, 1930
1 Photograph; b & w;
A church group on a picnic in 1930. Man on the right is identified as Otto Pearson. Man with the beard is Jasper Hval, to the left is Alma Hval (Swanson) and lady in the print dress is Lena Hval. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.051.4
Bodeker Family on Picnic, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Bodeker Family on a picnic at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.051.5
 
Newspaper clippings, Jul 27, 1928
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories about homesteading, immigration and small public events in the Valleyview region. [2 stories, both from] “Grande Prairie Herald,” Jul 27, 1928
Location: 2003.53.434
Back to Table of Contents
175.052The Emard and Jorgensen Families 1929-1963This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Emard and Jorgensen families. The photos are digitalized.
 
Jorgensen’s Farm, 1929
1 Photograph; b & w;
At Jorgensen’s Farm circa 1929. (L-R): Vina Emard, Cyprien Moses (Boss), and Nancy Emard. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.1
Early 1950s, 1953 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Early 1950’s – Vina and Svend Jorgensen beside their house. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.2
Jorgensens, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Wallace, Svend and Nita Jorgensen. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.3
On the Farm, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
Circa 1956 – Front (L-R): Andrew Adolphson, Joel Johnson, Jerry Emard, [unknown], Lorna, Evelyn and Wallace Jorgensen, Nancy Emard, Ivan Jorgensen Back (L-R): George Jr, George Sr, and Nita Clough, Margaret Jorgensen Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.4
Jorgensens and Emards, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Vina Jorgensen, August Emard, Nancy Emard, Melanie Hamelin, Annie Gouchie. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.5
Taking the Sheep to the Island, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Nita and Svend Jorgensen taking the sheep across to the island for the summer. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.6
At Jorgensen’s Farm, 1957, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
At Jorgensen’s Farm, 1957. Front (L-R): Lorna & Evelyn Jorgensen, Marie Langlois, Svend and Wallace Jorgensen Back (L-R): Nancy Emard, Bertha and Terry Langlois Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.7
Cattle, 1963
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jerry Emard and Svend Jorgensen with cattle in 1963. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.052.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.053Rupert (Bob) Clough 1884-1959Born August 14, 1884 in the town of East Bridgeford, Nottinghamshire, England, the son of Charles Clough, a minister and Emma Teale, Rupert Clough or “Bob,” as he liked to be called, sailed to Canada in 1903. Mr. Clough was a very well educated person. He was known to be a teacher, an ordained minister, a writer of stories and poems which were published in magazines and an avid reader – quoting equally well be it the Bible or Shakespeare. Rupert Clough was also a photographer, leaving us a vast legacy of pictures depicting the early days of this area. He spent the nine years between 1903 and 1912 in Northern Ontario, working as a teacher and as a “freighter” on the York boats. Arriving in Sturgeon Lake in 1912, he worked as a manager for the Sturgeon Lake Hudson’s Bay and the Revillon Freres Trading Posts, before establishing his own trading post in 1918. Mr. Clough was named Min-o-wa (meaning “Syrup”) by the local Indians of Sturgeon Lake. In 1920, Bob Clough sold his house to Alexander J. Williamson and moved his General Store/Trading Post to a site just north of that of the Hudson’s Bay Company. His main business remained that of fur buying. In addition to managing his own store, he also raised foxes and had at least four small cabins which he would rent out for extra income. It is presumed from one of the pictures in this collection that he called his resort “Pickeral Acres” – Cabins, Boats and Tents – Good Fishing. It seems most likely that in addition to his store, Mr. Clough would have operated a “resort” or “camp” such as those Thomas Kerr and Alex Williamson were running. Serving the insatiable demand of the throngs of tourists who longed to spend all available weekends and summers at Sturgeon Lake. Like so many others of the day, Rupert made his living at whatever opportunities arose, leaving someone in charge of his Sturgeon Lake business while he secured a seasonal job. Among those would be fire ranging or fire fighting, working to the Snipe Lake limit, checking timber, building bridges, all fire ranger duties, or constructing or building for someone. In 1928, the Grande Prairie newspaper reports, R. Clough is erecting a new residence at the east end of the village (Sturgeon Lake). In 1937, Rupert Clough moved to the village of Valleyview. His Sturgeon Lake store, after being moved across the road, would later belong to Jerry Emard. Mr. Clough traded his Sturgeon Lake property for the Valleyview homestead of Roy Phalen (NW-8-70-22-W5). The R. Clough General Store opened in a new building on Valleyview Main Street, constructed with the aid of Ole Soderquist and Kalmar Ramstad. While Mr. Clough supplied a varied array of goods, he also remained a fur buyer. Rupert Clough married Melanie Sunshine and raised George (b. 1927), Mary (b. 1929), Fred (b. 1931), Arthur (b. 1933), Elsie (b. 1935), Joseph (b. 1937), and Mildred (b. 1943). In 1954 Rupert retired, selling his business to Eric Lien. He passed away March 11, 1959 and is buried in the Valleyview Cemetery.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Rupert Clough family. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
The Clough Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Clough Home in Valleyview was located near the family store. Rupert Clough and his family moved to Valleyview from their settlement at Sturgeon Lake in 1937. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.053.1
George Clough Farm, 1946, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
George Clough Farm, 1946, located NW-8-70-22-W5. Leslie Reber, Joe, Arthur, George, Mildred, Elsie, and Fred Clough sit on a tractor. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.053.2
Two Modes of Transport, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Two modes of transport to pick up supplies. Building in the background is Rupert Clough’s Store which was located on Valleyview’s Main Street. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Town of Valleyview.
Location: 0175.053.3
Buildings,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Buildings (L-R): Clough Home, Clough Storage Shed, and Rupert Clough’s Store. Located on Main Street Valleyview. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 38.
Location: 0175.053.4
Rupert Clough’s Children, 1937
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rupert Clough’s children in front of his store which was moved to Valleyview in 1937. Children are (L-R): George, Mary, Fred, Arthur and Elsie. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 38.
Location: 0175.053.5
In Front of Rupert Clough’s Store,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Marlin Johnson on the left and Carl Peterson in front of Rupert Clough’s Store. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 35.
Location: 0175.053.6
Elsie and Fred Clough,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Interior view of Robert Clough’s Store. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 7.
Location: 0175.053.7
 
Newspaper clippings, 1953-1955
Newspaper clippings
Short stories dealing with Rupert Clough selling his Sturgeon Lake business and building new structures in Valleyview [unknown publication], Apr 27, 1953 [unknown publication], Oct 7, 1955
Location: 2003.53.448
Back to Table of Contents
175.054Adolphsons 1912-1952Oscar Adolphson, born in Norway, immigrated to Wisconsin under the sponsorship of his brother Alfred, in 1912 at the age of sixteen. With the help of a bachelor Uncle, Oscar bought his first farm in Wisconsin, after Alfred returned to Norway. Finding this farm unproductive, he sold it and moved to Duluth where he worked himself up to the position of boss of a riveting gang, with the American Bridge Company. Dissatisfied with city life and wanting to return to farming, the flip of a coin saw him choose the Peace Country of Alberta over Argentina. In 1918, following a week-long trip from Edmonton to Grande Prairie by rail, he filed on a SW-22-70-22-W5 in the Red Willow area. Mr. Adolphson was among the first to file on land in 1918, ten years before the main influx of homesteaders to the area. For the next few years he farmed in summer and did carpenter work in Grande Prairie in the winter. The Calais School District was organized in 1929 and the fourth grade teacher, Ellen Pederson, arrived in 1931. She had completed her training and graduated from the Camrose Normal School in 1930. The offer of a job “up north” brought her to Valleyview. They were married in July of 1934. Oscar suggested the name “Valleyview” which was accepted by Postal Authorities when the Post Office was established. In 1936, he started a freight service with a Model “A” Ford truck. He hauled grain, livestock and even groceries for local stores. He acquired a B.A. Oil Dealership and in conjunction with his sons in 1954 also established a John Deere dealership. With the establishment of the East Smoky School District, he was elected as the first trustee for the area. He was also on the first board of directors for the Valleyview Co-op Store. Oscar and Ellen worked together over the years as the area developed and grew. They had a strong sense of community pride and were active in many ways that contributed to the growth of the community.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Adolphson family. The photographs are digitalized.
 
Ellen Adolphson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ellen Adolphson in front of the first Adolphson house. Ellen Pedersen arrived in the Sturgeon Lake area in 1931. She had completed her training and graduated from the Camrose Normal School in 1930 and was offered a job in Valleyview. In 1934 she married Oscar Adolphson who was among the first to file land in 1918 which was ten years before the main influx of homesteaders in the area. The Adolphsons had a strong sense of community pride and were very active in the growth of the Valleyview community. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.054.1
Oscar Adolphson, 1913
1 Photograph; b & w;
Oscar Adolphson at age 17. Oscar emigrated from Norway first to Wisconsin and later to the Peace Country (which he chose over Argentina). In 1918 Oscar was among the first to file on land in the Red Willow area which was ten years ahead of the main influx of homesteaders to the area. Oscar Adolphson and his wife Ellen contributed to the Valleyview community in many ways. Oscar, for instance, suggested the name “Valleyview” to replace “Red Willow Creek.” He also started a freight service with his truck in the 1930s and established various dealerships in the Valleyview area. Oscar Adolphson was elected as the first trustee of the Valleyview area with the establishment of the East Smokey School District. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.054.2
Ed Pederson, Arthur and Ellen Adolphson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ed Pederson, Arthur and Ellen Adolphson. Ellen Adolphson arrived in Valleyview in 1931 after graduating from Camrose Normal School a year earlier. She worked as a grade four teacher for the Calais School District and later married Oscar Adolphson in 1934. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.054.3
Aerial Photo, 1952
1 Photograph; b & w;
Aerial Photo taken of the Adolphson farm in 1952. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.054.4
Adolphson Family, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Adolphson family going to town. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.054.5
Oscar Adolphson and Ole Soderquist, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Oscar Adolphson and Old Soderquist in a field. In 1918 Oscar was among the first to file on land in the Red Willow area which was ten years ahead of the main influx of homesteaders to the area. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.054.6
Oscar Adolphson Farming,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Oscar Adolphson farming. In 1918 Oscar was among the first to file on land in the Red Willow area which was ten years ahead of the main influx of homesteaders to the area. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.054.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.055Hunting and Fishing 1914-1954Sturgeon Lake Whitefish were considered by many to be the finest Whitefish in Alberta. During the 1930’s, a major winter commercial fishery developed at Sturgeon Lake to supply eastern Canadian and American markets. Whitefish were iced and trucked or flown out of Sturgeon Lake by ski plane. This market disappeared in the 1950’s with the establishment of inspection procedures and the Federal Fish Marketing Board regulated export. The marked for Sturgeon Lake Whitefish was very competitive.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding hunting and fishing activities in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Hjalmar Petterson with a Nice Catch, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Hjalmar Petterson with a nice catch. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.055.1
Lucy Lundblad and Mr. Anderson, 1940 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Lucy Lundblad and Mr. Anderson (Irene Swanson’s uncle) rabbit hunting on Enoch Lundblad’s homestead about 1939-1940. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundblad.
Location: 0175.055.2
After the Hunt, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
George, Jack and Bob Williamson display the results of a lucky hunt. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.055.3
Two Deer, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Arnold Holmen and Helmer Kronholm with two deer after the hunt. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.055.4
Taking the Girls Fishing, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Lucy Lundblad taking the girls fishing, May 1940. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundblad.
Location: 0175.055.5
 
Newspaper clippings, 1914-1929
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories concerning the fishery at Sturgeon Lake. “The Frontier Signal,” Oct 29, 1914 “The Frontier Signal,” Jan 14, 1915 [unknown publication], Feb 1, 1929
Location: 2003.53.462
Newspaper clippings, 1928-1954
Newspaper clippings
Advertisements and Stories relating to the booming Sturgeon Lake fishery. [unknown publication], Jan 29, 1932 “The Grande Prairie Herald,” Jul 27, 1928 [unknown publication], Apr 29, 1943 [unknown publication], Dec 9, 1954
Location: 2003.53.468
Back to Table of Contents
175.056Sawmills (1) 1939-1943This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of sawmills in the Valleyview area. The photos are digitalized.
 
Ingvald Tingstad, 1940 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ingvald Tingstad with a team of horses and a load of logs on a sloop circa 1940. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.056.1
Loading lumber,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Loading lumber at the mill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.056.2
Spring 1943, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
At the Paul Werklund sawmill on the hill on the east side of Valleyview in the spring of 1943. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.056.3
“Lumberjacks”, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
“Lumberjacks” cutting wood for the winter. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundbald.
Location: 0175.056.4
Logging, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Logging to build the Soderquist Home. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.056.5
June 1943, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
At the Paul Werklund sawmill in June 1943. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werlkund.
Location: 0175.056.6
Loading Lumber, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Loading lumber at the mill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.056.7
Logging, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Logging to build the Soderquist Home. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.056.8
Jack Tingstad’s Mill, 1939
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack Tingstad’s mill in 1939. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.056.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.057Sawmills (2) 1943-1945This file consists of a scanned copy of sawmills in the Valleyview area.
 
Sawing Wood, Jan, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
St. Andre’s mill, January 1945. Sawing Wood. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 157.
Location: 0175.057.1
Burrow’s Mill, Feb, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Burrow’s Mill in February of 1946. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 450.
Location: 0175.057.2
Paul St. Andre’s Mill, Mar, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Paul St. Andre’s Mill in March of 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 454.
Location: 0175.057.3
Alfred Bloin’s Mill, Mar, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Alfred Bloin’s Mill in March of 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 448.
Location: 0175.057.4
Sawing Wood, Apr, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sawing wood in April of 1943. Father Dumas, P. Tetreault, P. Alac, Father Letourneau. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 161.
Location: 0175.057.5
Sawing Wood, Apr, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sawing wood in April of 1943. Father Dumas, P. Alac, Father Letourneau. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 158.
Location: 0175.057.6
Paul St. Andre’s Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Paul St. Andre’s Mill in the Winter of 1944/45. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 455.
Location: 0175.057.7
Paul St. Andre’s Mill, Mar, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Paul St. Andre’s Mill in March of 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 456.
Location: 0175.057.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.058Burrow’s (Burrough’s) MillThe Bert Burroughs Sawmill was a big company with their own timber berth, who operated north of Sturgeon Lake, located at the east side by the creek. They would haul their logs across the north part of Sturgeon Lake with a Cat, one of which went through the ice. Logs were dumped in the lake, and an elevator used to loft them. Operating with steam driven motors on the edger, the hand-rig, the gun-shot feed and the steam “nigger”. The carriage weighed more than the average complete mill. It could produce 110,000 FBM per shift. The boiler man was Tony Sirdar and Art Loewen was the sawyer. The steam-nigger replaced the canter. They operated with a 50-man crew, most of whom were Indian. The falling was done with power saws, the skidding with Cats and Arch-trucks forwarded the logs to the mill. Burroughs had a good camp, log buildings, big bunkhouse with a recreation area, and covered walkways between the bunkhouse and the cookshack. The lumber was picked up by their own trucks and taken to High Prairie where it is believed it was planed at their planer mill, then marketed by themselves. -Debolt & District Pioneer Museum—Bridges to the Past.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding Burrough’s Mill in the Valleyview area.
 
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Logs at a sawmill in the winter. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 453.
Location: 0175.058.1
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Men take time to pose for a photo while working at a saw mill. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 154.
Location: 0175.058.2
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Working at a sawmill. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 160.
Location: 0175.058.3
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Logs at a sawmill in the winter. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 449.
Location: 0175.058.4
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Men at a sawmill. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 451.
Location: 0175.058.5
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Working at a sawmill. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 452.
Location: 0175.058.6
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Working at a sawmill. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 445.
Location: 0175.058.7
Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Working at a sawmill. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 446.
Location: 0175.058.8
Blouin’s Mill, Jan, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Blouin’s Mill, January 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 447.
Location: 0175.058.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.059Wood Cutting 1942-1955This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding woodcutting in the Valleyview area. Somr of the photos are digitalized.
 
Sawing wood,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sawing wood probably at the Mission Farm at Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Orginal photograph number ST 153.
Location: 0175.059.1
At the Mill,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Front (L-R): Richard Soderquist, John Tonne, Emerson Langlois and Graham Bodeker. Standing at the back is B ill Brown and Vern Peterson (cook). Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Orginal photograph number NC 6.
Location: 0175.059.2
Carl and Son Floyd Swanson, 1942
1 Photograph; b & w;
Carl and son Floyd Swanson hauling logs to make shingles in 1942. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Marilyn Leslie.
Location: 0175.059.3
Fred Clough, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Fred Clough in front of George Clough’s truck in 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.059.4
Sawing Lumber, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Terry Johnson, Ingvald Tingstad and Floyd Swanson sawing lumber. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 4.
Location: 0175.059.5
Helen Young Driving a Tractor, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Helen Young driving a tractor with a load of wood from a sawmill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.059.6
Sawing Wood, 1949
1 Photograph; b & w;
Leslie Reber, George Clough and Fred Clough sawing wood in front of Clough’s store, Main Street, Valleyview, in 1949. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.059.7
A Sawmill at Sturgeon Lake, 1948
1 Photograph; b & w;
A sawmill located in the Sturgeon Lake area in 1948. People in the photo are Willie Reber, Rupert Clough and Andy Farsted. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 5.
Location: 0175.059.8
Sawing Firewood, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Marlin Johnson, Joe, George and Fred Clough sawing firewood. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.059.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.060Sawmills (3)This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding sawmills in the Valleyview area. The photos are digitalized.
 
Hugo Carlson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Hugo Carlson is shown on the left. He was the cook for the sawmill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.060.1
Emerson Langlois, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Emerson (Rick) Langlois at a sawmill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.060.2
Bill Brown’s Sawmill, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bill Brown’s Sawmill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.060.3
Tom Berger, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Tom Berger at a sawmill, standing in the foreground. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.060.4
Marlin Johnson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Marlin Johnson working at a sawmill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.060.5
Bill Brown’s Sawmill, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bill Brown’s Sawmill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.060.6
Tom Berger, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Tom Berger tipping his hat to the camera at a sawmill. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.060.7
 
“Saskatchewan Man Sets Up Planing Mill”, Dec 31, 1953
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald Tribune,” Dec 31, 1953 Story about the operating of a planing mill south-west of Valleyview.
Location: 2003.53.511
Back to Table of Contents
175.061The Soderquist Family 1928-1960Ole and Myrtle Soderquist along with their seven children – Selma, Joseph, Oscar, Dora, Edith and 4-month-old baby Harold, travelled by trail from Wadena, Saskatchewan to the Peace River country in March of 1928. Ole filed on a homestead and moved his family to Red Willow Creek in October of 1928. As there were no buildings on the homestead, the family stayed with the Oscar Adolphson family until a two-room log cabin with a sod roof could be built. Twins Robbie and Ricky were born in this cabin in May of 1930. By July of 1930 a new home built of logs had been constructed for the family to move into. Three more daughters, Violet (b. 1932), Mrytle (b. 1935) and Ruth (b. 1941) were born in this new home.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the Soderquist family. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Mrytle and Ole Soderquist,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mrytle and Ole Soderquist standing in a garden. Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 16
Location: 0175.061.1
Stacks of Lumber, 1930
1 Photograph; b & w;
Stacks of lumber that were used to build the Soderquist Home in 1930. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.061.2
Ole Soderquist Hauling Logs, 1930
1 Photograph; b & w;
Old Soderquist hauling a load of logs which were used to build the Soderquist house in 1930. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.061.3
Joe Peterson and Vern Soderquist, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Joe Peterson and Vern Soderquist in front of the Ole Soderquist home, circa 1941. Copyright belongs to Selma Tonne. Original photograph number S.T. 2.
Location: 0175.061.4
Aerial view, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
An aerial view of the Ole Soderquist homestead. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.061.5
Dora Soderquist and Family,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dora Soderquist, her husband Bill Brown and daughter Faye. Copyright belongs to Selma Tonne. Original photograph number S.T. 7.
Location: 0175.061.6
Harvesting, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
Harvesting at the Ole Soderquist Farm in 1960. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.061.7
Harvesting, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
Harvesting at the Ole Soderquist Farm in 1960. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.061.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.062Oldtimers 1942-1965This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs in regard to residents of Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Sandy Ford and George Williamson, 1965
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sandy Ford and George Williamson at the Old Timers Picnic in 1965. Copyright belongs to Ken Tingstad. Original photograph number KT 10.
Location: 0175.062.01
1962, 1962
1 Photograph; b & w;
1962 – Henry Halvorson, Carl Noreen, Kalmar Ramstad, Ole Soderquist, Carl Swanson, and Carl Halvorson. Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 14.
Location: 0175.062.02
Old Timers Picnic in 1960, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
Old Timers Picnic in 1960. Mrs. Bror Werklund in front, Vina and Svend Jorgenson in back with Nita Clough (Jorgenson) in trees. Copyright belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.062.03
Gunner Anderson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gunner Anderson, a resident of the Valleyview area, poses for the camera. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Marilyn Leslie.
Location: 0175.062.04
Irene Anderson, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Irene Anderson, a resident of the Valleyview area, in 1945. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Marilyn Leslie.
Location: 0175.062.05
1962, 1962
1 Photograph; b & w;
1962 – (L-R): Henry Halvorson, Kalmar Ramstad, Carl Swanson, Vern Peterson, Esther Swanson (Anderson), Gus Noreen, Clarence Swanson, Dan Bergstein, and unknown child. Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 15.
Location: 0175.062.06
Anderson Log Home, 1942
1 Photograph; b & w;
Standing in front of the Anderson Log Home in 1942. Back Row (L-R): Irene and Delores Anderson and Emily Lindberg. Front Row (L-R): Bernard and Kenneth Anderson and Leona Lindberg. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Marilyn Leslie.
Location: 0175.062.07
Gals,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Back Row (L-R): Mrs. Lindquist, Mrs. Swanson, and Mrs. Harback. Front Row (L-R): Clara Holmen, Mrs. Halvorson, and Myrtle Soderquist. Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 28.
Location: 0175.062.08
1962, 1962
1 Photograph; b & w;
Henry Halvorson, Kalmar and Thora Ramstad, Gunner Perrson, Mrytle and Ole Soderquist, Carl and Selma Halvorson, and Carl and Alma Swanson pose for the camera. Copyright belongs to Marilyn Leslie. Original photograph number ML 6.
Location: 0175.062.09
1962, 1926
1 Photograph; b & w;
Thora Ramstad, Myrtle Soderquist, Selma Halvorson, Mrs. Noreen and Alma Swanson pose for the camera. Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 13.
Location: 0175.062.10
Back to Table of Contents
175.063CommerceThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding businesses around Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Texaco Service Station, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Texaco Service Station located on Highway 43. This building still stands and was the former Ambulence Station. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.063.1
Keillar’s, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
This building was moved into town from the lake where it was a café in the early oil boom in 1952. Once in town it was a General Store located at 50th St and 47th Ave both owned by Keillar’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Sarh Walker.
Location: 0175.063.2
The Pool Hall,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Pool Hall built by Bill and Barb Besplug. Next door was the Valley Café and Lien’s Meat Market. In the 1950’s these were located where the Provincial Building stands now. Copyright belongs to Doug Williamson. Original photograph number DW 54.
Location: 0175.063.3
The Hamlet Café, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Hamlet Café, also known as Stella’s Café, was located beside the Rooming House. This building still stands and operates now as The House of Treasures on Main Street. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Karen Ross.
Location: 0175.063.4
New IGA Store, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Construction of the new IGA store which was built beside where the Home Hardware Store is located now. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.063.5
Noel’s Barber Shop, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Frances Bodeker and Marjorie Willscroft ouside of Noel’s Barber Shop in Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.063.6
 
Advertisements,
Newspaper clippings/flyers
Assorted advertisements (32) from early businesses in Valleyview. Dates unknown.
Location: 2003.53.530
Back to Table of Contents
175.064Valleyview Co-op 1949-1964This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the construction of the Valleyview Co-op. The photos are digitalized.
 
Insurance Documents, Aug, 1949
Typewritten documents
Insurance documents for Valleyview Co-op buildings, circa 1949
Location: 2003.53.537
 
The Meat Department, 1964
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Meat Department of the Co-op Store when it was located at 5211-50 Ave, taken in October, 1964. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.064.1
Valleyview Co-op Interior, 1963
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of the inside of the Co-op Store that was located on the corner of 50th Ave and 50th Street. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.064.2
Mr. Kennedy, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mr. Kennedy, who was the manager of the Valleyview Co-op Store, walks into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.064.3
Original Co-op Store, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
A truck is parked in front of the original Co-op Store, located on the east side of 50th Ave and 50th Street in 1951 (moved out of town). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.064.4
The Old Co-op Store, 1959
1 Photograph; b & w;
The old Co-op Store being moved out of town to Doug Stevenson’s Farm in the summer of 1959. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.064.5
Co-op Exterior, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The exterior of the Co-op Store when it was located at the corner of 50th Ave and 50th Street. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.064.6
Inside View, 1963
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of the inside of the Co-op Store that was located on the corner of 50th Ave and 50th Street. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.064.7
 
Advertisement,
Newspaper clippings
Advertisement for Valleyview Co-op, Date unknown
Location: 2003.53.538
Back to Table of Contents
175.065The Valleyview Motor Hotel 1940-1959Early summer in 1949 saw a brand new ten room, beer parolor and restaurant completed and opened in Valleyview. A young veteran of the Second World War, Reg Velie–a good promoter–had been able to interest some prominent Edmonton businessmen to join him in undertaking the major project. “We Saw Yellowknife In The Raw,” by David WilliamsonThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview Motor Hotel. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Advertisement,
Flyer
Advertisement for the Valleyview Hotel; date unknown.
Location: 2003.53.551
 
The Original Valleyview Hotel, 1947 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The original Valleyview Hotel located on Main Street in the late 1940s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.065.1
Addition, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Building onto the original Hotel in 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Karen Ross .
Location: 0175.065.2
Remodeling, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Remodeling and renovating the Valleyview Hotel. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.065.3
The Original Valleyview Hotel, 1947 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The original Valleyview Hotel located on Main Street in the late 1940s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.065.4
Valleyview Hotel,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Valleyview Hotel when the additions are complete. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number GAA PV-31-211.
Location: 0175.065.5
The Original Valleyview Hotel,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The original Valleyview Hotel was located on Main Street in the late 1940’s. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 36.
Location: 0175.065.6
Valleyview Hotel, 1959
1 Photograph; b & w;
Valleyview Hotel in 1959 when the Bank of Montreal was located inside it. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives of Alberta. Original photograph number PA-189-7.
Location: 0175.065.7
 
“Enlarged Valleyview Hotel Completes Expansion Plans”, Dec 9, 1954
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald Tribune,” Dec 9, 1954 Story about the opening of the renovated and expanded Valleyview Hotel.
Location: 2003.53.554
Back to Table of Contents
175.066Valleyview: From Village to Town 1957This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding Valleyview’s growth from village to town. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Minutes, 1957
Handwritten documents
Minutes from Council Meetings, Valleyview. Jan – Mar, 1957
Location: 2003.53.556
 
Moving Elmer Tingstad’s Home,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Elmer Tingstad’s home being moved into town from SW-14-70-22-W5 to become the Valley Café. Lien’s Meat Market was built on the side. One tractor is a W6 owned by Vern Peterson. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 20.
Location: 0175.066.1
The Valley Café, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Valley Café which was operated by Mary Lien. Her husband operated a Meat Market which was adjoining the side. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.066.2
Jay Lassen and a McLaughlin Boy, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jay Lassen and a McLaughlin boy at a garage. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.066.3
Original Lassen Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Original Lassen Home located next to Flowers ‘n Fancies. It still stands and has blue siding on it. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.066.4
Mabel Lassen, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mabel Lassen poses for the camera. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.066.5
Jay and Mable Lassen’s Garage, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jay and Mable Lassen’s garage. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.066.6
Looking East on Main Street, 1952
1 Photograph; b & w;
Looking East on Main Street in 1952. (L-R): Lassen’s Garage, Lassen’s House and the original Town Hall. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.066.7
 
“Growing Village Keeps Mayor of Valleyview on the Hop”,
Newspaper clipping
from [unknown publication], [unknown date] – probably early 1956 Story dealing with Valleyview’s explosive growth in the early 1950’s and the early political shape of Valleyview’s Council.
Location: 2003.53.555
“New Café Opens Doors”,
Newspaper clipping
from [unknown publication], [unknown date] Story dealing with the opening of the Valley Café, owned and operated by Eric Lien, Valleyview’s second mayor.
Location: 2003.53.557
Back to Table of Contents
175.067Early Valleyview 1952This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding businesses in early Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Valleyview’s First Power Plant, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Valleyview’s First Power Plant. Dick Strazer bought it in 1952 from Hank McQuade and sold it to Northwestern Utilities in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.067.1
Dick and Shirley Strazer, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dick and Shirley Strazer by Valleyview’s First Power Plant. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.067.2
Reber and Stazer Garage, ND
; ;
The Reber and Stazer Garage in Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.067.3
Reber and Strazer Garage, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Reber and Strazer garage in Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Karen Ross.
Location: 0175.067.4
 
“Power Output Reflects Valleyview Growth; One of Last Local Plants In District”, Oct 29, 1953
Newspaper clipping
from “The Grande Prairie Herald,” Oct 29, 1953 Story dealing with increasing demand on Valleyview’s independent Power Plant.
Location: 2003.53.565
“New Garage For Valleyview”, Jul 12, 1955
Newspaper clipping
This garage was situated on the corner of 50th Ave and 50th Street where the Fields Store is presently located.
Location: 2003.53.569
Advertisement, Dec 9, 1954
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald Tribune,” Dec 9, 1954 a full page add for “Reber & Strazer” Garage and General Oilfield Contractors.
Location: 2003.53.570
Newspaper clippings, Jun 25, 1953
Newspaper clippings
from “The Herald Tribune,” Jul 25, 1953 two anecdotes dealing with the highly successful Reber & Strazer business, and their expansion to Whitecourt.
Location: 2003.53.571
Back to Table of Contents
175.068Booming Valleyview 1950-1969This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding Valleyview’s economic and industrial growth. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
View of Main Street Valleyview,
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of Main Street Valleyview looking east down 50th Ave. Buildings (L-R): McDonald’s Hardware, Valleyview Hotel – note – the Bank of Montreal sign over the first awning. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 189-6.
Location: 0175.068.1
Ethel and Dave Williamson, 1950 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ethel and Dave Williamson in front of their home located on Main Street in the 1950s. eproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.068.2
50th Street, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
50th Street – adjacent to the present-day Memorial Hall, looking across the street to the Swanson House and Emke’s Store. The house next to the Swanson home was a rental property of the Swanson’s. The horse and wagon belong to Vern Peterson, who used them for garbage collection. The building to the left was used by the shoemaker, Mr. & Mrs. Vaulchuck and daughter Rosemarie. Copyright belongs to Shell Canada. Original photograph number SC 1737-6.
Location: 0175.068.3
View of Main Street, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of Main Street looking east down 50th Ave. about 1956. Buildings (L-R): McDonald’s Hardware, Valleyview Hotel, [unknown], Rooming House. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 198-2.
Location: 0175.068.4
Aerial View of Main Street, 1952
1 Photograph; Colour;
Aerial view of a portion of Main Street Valleyview in 1952, taken from Dick Strazer’s airplane. Main Street buildings (L-R): B-A Garage (built by Strazer, taken over by Willie Reber, then Alex Holyk), Margo’s Café (1. Chamberlains; 2. Court House; 3. Margo Brown – moved across the street; 4. New Moon Café; 5. Dr. Bell’s Office), Frank Reber’s Blacksmith Shop, Reber residence (originally the 1st Catholic Church), possibly one of the Valleyview Building Supplies buildings. Background buildings include the first 1/2 of the Sun Valley School and the Skating Rink. Copyright belongs to Tom Brown. Original photograph number TB 1.
Location: 0175.068.5
Looking North to Valleyview,
1 Photograph; b & w;
View from the approximate area of the junction of Highways 34 and 43 – looking north to Valleyview and right toward Peace River – early 1960’s. [***NOTE*** THIS CAPTION APPEARS TO BE INACCURATE!] copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 189-3.
Location: 0175.068.6
View of Main Street Valleyview, 1957 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of Main Street Valleyview looking west from the “microwave tower” hill toward 50th Ave about 1957-1958. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Town of Valleyview.
Location: 0175.068.7
Main Street Valleyview,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Main Street Valleyview, early 1950’s. Corner of 50th Ave and 51st St. Carl Isakson is shown crossing a little bridge over the creek that at one time crossed main street, in front of Carl Stevenson’s home. Buildings across the street – Post Office, Jubilee Theatre, and the B-A Service Station. Copyright belongs to Shell Canada. Original photograph number SC 4737-5.
Location: 0175.068.8
 
“Valleyview’s Growth Tied To Big Oil Development”,
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald Tribune,” [unknown date] Story celebrating explosive growth in Valleyview region, mostly attributed to oil and gas revenues.
Location: 2003.53.576
Back to Table of Contents
175.069The Jack Williamson Family 1940-1964This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the Williamson family. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Jack Williamson’s Esso Station, 1954-1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack Williamson’s Esso Station being built on the hill south of Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.069.1
Construction of the “Y” Motor Hotel, 1964
1 Photograph; b & w;
Construction of the “Y” Motor Hotel in 1964 of which Jack Williamson was a part-owner. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.069.2
Jack & Ethel Williamson’s Home, 1957-58
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack and Ethel Williamson’s home in the winter of 1957-58. The building still stands on the west side of Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.069.3
Café, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
An interior view of the café located inside the Service Station ran by Ethel Williamson. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.069.4
Construction of the “Y”, 1964
1 Photograph; b & w;
Construction of the “Y” Motor Hotel in 1964 of which Jack Williamson was a part-owner. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.069.5
Frank Dezo’s Car, 1961
1 Photograph; b & w;
A car belonging to a local mechanic Frank Dezo in front of the Esso in 1961. He later owned a Texaco Station. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.069.6
The Williamson Twins, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Twins Sheila and Marguerite Williamson beside the Tingstad Home in 1941. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.069.7
Northwest View, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view looking northwest from the front of the Y Motor Hotel with Valleyview in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.069.8
Williamson Family, 1940 ca.
; ;
The Williamson family in the 1940s. Back row (L to R): Leonard, Sheila, Marg, Lois, and Ethel. Front row (L to R): Doug, Gary, and Jackie. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.069.9
 
Newspaper clipping, Sept 9, 1958
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald Tribune,” Sept 9, 1958 Story dealing with the successful drilling for water on Jack Williamson’s property in the middle of a dry spell.
Location: 2003.53.586
Back to Table of Contents
175.070Valleyview’s Dairy 1955-1967This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview dairy. The photos are digitalized.
 
Misc,
Misc
Miscellaneous bottle caps, chits and order forms from the Valleyview Dairy, dates unknown
Location: 2003.53.600
 
Valleyview Dairy, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Valleyview Dairy. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives.
Location: 0175.070.1
Valleyview Dairy, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Valleyview Dairy. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives.
Location: 0175.070.2
Valleyview Dairy, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Valleyview Dairy in July 1960. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Arlene Kramps.
Location: 0175.070.3
Valleyview Dairy, 1959
1 Photograph; b & w;
Children outside of the Valleyview Dairy in August 1959. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Arlene Kramps.
Location: 0175.070.4
Dairy Truck, 1966
1 Photograph; b & w;
A truck from the Valleyview Dairy in April 5, 1966 with the Harry Gray School in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Arlene Kramps.
Location: 0175.070.5
Stan and Bill Rodgers, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Stan and Bill Rogers standing in front of a truck from the Valleyview Dairy. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Arlene Kramps.
Location: 0175.070.6
Valleyview Dairy, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of children pose for the camera in front of the Valleyview Dairy. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Arlene Kramps.
Location: 0175.070.7
Hay at the Dairy, 1967
1 Photograph; b & w;
A load of hay for the milk cows at the Valleyview Dairy in February 1967. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Arlene Kramps.
Location: 0175.070.8
Arlene Rogers (Kramps), ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Arlene Rogers (Kramps) stands by a truck from the Valleyview Dairy. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Arlene Kramps.
Location: 0175.070.9
 
Newspaper clippings, Apr 26, 1955
Newspaper clippings
Two articles covering Valleyview’s local dairy. “The Herald Tribune,” Apr 26, 1955 [unknown publication], [unknown date]
Location: 2003.53.594
Back to Table of Contents
175.071Sturgeon Lake Settlement 1900-1939The few Métis and fewer white people residing at the lake had plots of land within the Cree reservation. Eli Badger, Antoine Thomas, William Standing Ribbon and Enos Mitchell, all Métis, had 40 acres apiece fronting on the lake on its south and east shores. The Hudson’s Bay Company, the Royal North West Mounted Police, the Roman Catholic Mission and Revillon Freres Trading Company also had lake-front property: they had been granted this land because they had been living there prior to the reservation being surveyed in 1907. Collectively these lots were known as the Sturgeon Lake Settlement officially. -“Red White Man,” by David Williamson The Red Moose family was a prominent one. “Old” Red Moose and his wife Niso-mitanow – 30-30, have many descendants living there today. He and his wife were excellent trappers and hunters. A son, Casimire, was one of the best in the business, as was a grandson, David, later on. Casimir [sic] had one of the best houses there. Not one was Casimire an expert woodsman, he was an expert in the field of Indian philosophy and history—a good talker. -“Land of the Wettigo,” by David WilliamsoThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Sturgeon Lake settlement. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Itemized list,
Handwritten list
Appears to be a request from C. Red Moose for supplies to be sent to him.
Location: 2003.53.127
Ledger, 1903-1905
Handwritten ledger
Entries from Williamson Trading Post Ledger, circa 1903-1905
Location: 2003.53.128
 
The Red Moose Family, 1937 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Red Moose family was a prominent one in the Sturgeon Lake Settlement. (L-R): James Jones (father of Moses Muskua); Charlotte Red Moose Jones (daughter of Francis & Madeleine Red Moose); Moses “Muskua” (Big Bear) (possibly); Cazamere Red Moose “Old Gas”; and Lilouise Caliou Red Moose (Cazamere’s wife) stand in front of a log cabin at Dog Eaten Prairie (which is located 22 miles south of Valleyview and perhaps 2 miles east) in the late 1930s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Williamson family.
Location: 0175.071.1
 
Map,
Map
Map of territory between Sturgeon Lake Indian Reserve and Dog Eaten Prairie, showing trails and railroad lines.
Location: 2003.53.129
Back to Table of Contents
175.072Children at the Sturgeon Lake Mission 1941-1947This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding students at the Sturgeon Lake Mission.
 
Band,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A school band from the Sturgeon Lake Mission. Back Row (L-R): Mabel Nabew (Napio), Joseph Chowace, Francios (Francis) and Delphine Sautex. Front Marie Larocque. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 256.
Location: 0175.072.1
Sturgeon Lake Mission,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Alexander Mitchell, Lawrence Badger, Arthur Chowace, Barbara Gladue, Frank Sunshine, Henry Gladue. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 163.
Location: 0175.072.2
October 1947, Oct, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
Children at a playground in October 1947. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 222.
Location: 0175.072.3
The Men in Charge of the Milk Shed, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
The men in charge of the Milk Shed in 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 80.
Location: 0175.072.4
Picnic,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Returning from or leaving for a picnic. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 92.
Location: 0175.072.5
Eliza Thomas, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Eliza Thomas with her bicycle in 1941. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 220.
Location: 0175.072.6
David Joachim,
1 Photograph; b & w;
David Joachim, educated at the Calias Mission on Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number GA NA-2211-7.
Location: 0175.072.7
1943, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Three boys from the Sturgeon Lake Mission in 1943. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 266.
Location: 0175.072.8
A group of Boys,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of Boys in the Dormitory of the Sturgeon Lake Mission. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST—.
Location: 0175.072.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.073Indian Families at Sturgeon Lake (1) 1930-1939This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding families at Sturgeon Lake. This page is missing from the binder.
Back to Table of Contents
175.074Indian Families at Sturgeon Lake (2) 1907-1968Councillor Casimir Captain – known to his people as “Old Bannock” … Captain also was a carver of what were called “dugout canoes” in those days, when Natives made their own watercraft out of huge Balm of Gilead (Black Poplar) trees. These canoes were extremely useful by very difficult for non-Natives to handle safely, especially in rough water. Us boys used to watch Captain and men of the Moses; Muskeekee Wenoo – Medicine Man; Awasis – Child; Hamelin and other Native families make dugout canoes wherever Balm of Gilead trees abounded near the lake shore, south of the R.C. Mission. All the tools these artisans required to fashion a canoe was a sharp axe; a short curved knife farrier’s knife—such as were sued to trim hooves of horses before shoeing them; a sharp steel drawknife with a curved handle on each end, and a sharp adze with a long wooden handle. The adze—an uncommon carpenter’s tool these days—resembled a grub hoe. Its keen cutting blade looked like that of the latter tool and was mounted to the handle in the same right angle fashion, curbed to face the operator, who had to watch himself carefully while using it, since he swung it between his widely-spread feet. It was the adze which was used to do most of the hollowing out of a log to form the interior of a canoe. The axe and farrier’s knife were used to finish off the interior smoothly, while the drawknife and axe were used to finish the exterior. This was the tool which usually did most of the hollowing out of the tree trunk, but we knew that in an emergency Native artisans could make a rough version of the dugout canoe using only a sharp axe to do the job. When using their dugout canoes, the Natives always would sit with the legs folded under their posteriors, right in the centre of the craft’s narrow bottom, and a short distance to the rear of the halfway point between its bow and stern. And they had to be masters of correct balance since such canoes were quite narrow; smooth-bottomed and without keels of any type to stabilize such 12- to 14-foot crafts, which if improperly handled could upset in a flash. -“We Grew Up On A Cree Reservation,” by David Williamson Tall dignified Louis Hamelin was a Métis who spent most of his time living in a cabin on the southwest shore of Snipe Lake, some 18 miles northeast of present-day Valleyview. He came to Snipe Lake prior to 1919. Father and I stopped overnight with him and his wife in February 1919. Hamelin moved to Sturgeon Lake about 1933; was renamed Chiliway. He had been a do team driver for the Hudson Bay Company factor Harrison Young at Lac La Biche for some years, and had been there in 1885 when some warlike Indians sacked the post. Chiliway told of a half-brother being killed in the 1885 Battle of Batoche. He also told of shooting buffalo from horseback with a muzzleloader on the prairie. Chiliway died at Sturgeon Lake, September 2, 1937 and is buried in the Roman Catholic Cemetery there. Born in the Red River Valley in 1852, he reached 86 years. -“Land of the Wettigo,” by David Williamson Chiliway was married to Margaret (who was a sister to Mrs. Cecille Glaude who also lived at Snipe Lake). August Emard and Chiliway would often speak French together.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding families at Sturgeon Lake.
 
Chiliway, 1935
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louis “Chiliway” Hamelin of Snipe Lake and Tom Clegg of Clarkson Valley. Photo taken by Vina Jorgensen about 1935. Copyright belongs to Vina Jorgensen. Original photograph number VJ 6.
Location: 0175.074.1
May 1968, May, 1968
1 Photograph; b & w;
May 1968 – Sturgeon Lake – Mrs. Florence Standingribbon (whose husband is Alexander Standingribbon and whose father is Jimmy Mitchell), unknown children, and Chief St. Pierre “Slim” Baptiste. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 10-942.
Location: 0175.074.2
Children,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Louise Anne Kiyawasew & Lucy Martineau. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 255.
Location: 0175.074.3
Father Arsene Alac & Louis Galliou,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Arsene Alac & Louis Galliou/Galliot/Calliou. He worked for the Mission and lived across from the Hudson Bay Post. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 198.
Location: 0175.074.4
1907, 1907
1 Photograph; b & w;
1907 – The Hudson Bay Trading Post at Sturgeon Lake. This building was later used as an icehouse. Note the dugout canoe in the foreground. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA A 7687.
Location: 0175.074.5
Back to Table of Contents
175.075(No Title) 1940-1957This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs regarding the Clough family. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Clough Family, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
Fred Clough with George Clough, Sr. and George Clough, Jr. in front of a truck in 1956. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.075.1
Camped at the Wood Camp, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
Camped at the wood camp, 1957. Margaret Johnson (with Nita Clough’s son, George), and Nancy Emard. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.075.2
Coming up the River, 1945 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Nita Jorgensen, Emerson Langlois, Nels Nordlund, Elmer Latonda, Henry or Ed Gouchey, and Svend Jorgensen, coming up the river circa 1945-46. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.075.3
Abraham Moses with Kappo Children, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Abraham Moses with Adolphus Kappo and Johnny Kappo. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.075.4
Jerry Emard, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jerry Emard poses beside his car, circa 1940. Copyright belongs to Vina Jorgensen. Original photograph number VJ 39.
Location: 0175.075.5
George Clough, 1945 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
George Clough, with dog, in the mid-1940’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.075.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.076The Stenseth Family 1930-1939This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the Stenseth family. The photos are digitalized.
 
Eunice Stenseth (Bodeker), 1931
1 Photograph; b & w;
Eunice Stenseth (Bodeker) in 1931. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.076.1
A Family Photo, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A Family Photo – (L-R): Tom Brady (Lutie’s father), Carl Stenseth, Eunice, Lutie and Ben Bodeker pose for the camera in front of their log house. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.076.2
Cottage at the Lake, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A photograph of Gordon Bodeker and Mary White (Bodeker) taken at a cottage at the lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.076.3
In the Carriage, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Nels Stenseth, and Eunice Bodeker (Stenseth) with baby, Francis Bodeker, in a horse drawn carriage. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.076.4
Bodeker House, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Original Bodeker House located SE-9-71-22-W5. Shown in photo are (L-R): [unknown] White, Mary Kerr (White), Eunice Stenseth (Bodeker), [unknown] White, Phylis, Francis and Beverly Bodeker, Roy White. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.076.5
Tony Stenseth’s Farm, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Tony (Anton) Stenseth’s Farm located NW-34-70-22-W5. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.076.6
Winter of 1936-37, 1936 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Mary Caldwell, Ben, Betty and Lutie Bodeker, Tommy Nickelson stand in front of Ben Bodeker’s home in the winter of 1936-37. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.076.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.077The Mission School (5) 1947-1959This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the students and staff at the Sturgeon Lake Mission School.
 
Boys and Girls, late 50’s,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Boys & Girls – late 1950’s. Also in this picture but unidentified are: Francis Moses, Esther Stoney, Anna Noskeye, Rose Martineau, Delores Noskeye, Russell Goodswimmer. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 265.
Location: 0175.077.1
Class Photograph,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Class Photograph – this photo donated by Stephen Moses to the Provincial Archives Copyright belongs to the Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 83-301-13.
Location: 0175.077.2
Bishop Routhier and the Mission Girls,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bishop Routhier and the Mission Girls. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 276.
Location: 0175.077.3
Class Photograph,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Class Photograph – this photo donated by Stephen Moses to the Provincial Archives. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 83-301-712.
Location: 0175.077.4
Class Photograph,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Class Photograph – this photo donated by Stephen Moses to the Provincial Archives. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 83-301-09.
Location: 0175.077.5
Father Roue, The Sisters of Providence and the Girls, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Roue, The Sisters of Providence and the Girls in the spring of 1947. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 223.
Location: 0175.077.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.078Sturgeon Lake 1900-1950Councillor William Hamelin’s home wasn’t more than 400 yds from our own spruce-bark roofed log house. But his was so much more roomier than ours, and much better built, too. His house was a big two-storey affair, built of flattened logs, with planed lumber floors and steep, V-shaped lumber roof covered with cedar shingles, stood on a rise about a quarter mile east of ours, in full view. A comfortable home, it was roomy enough for his two wives. Hamelin has children from both of his wives, one of whom was considerably older than the other. Mind you, it wasn’t very common for native men to have two wives in those days. A man would have to be quiet affluent to do so. None disapprove of it. -“Land of the Wettigo,” and “Tee Pee Fires Burning Brightly Still,” by David Williamson Like countless generations of his tribe before him, the native still retained great faith in the healing powers of his own medicine men, with their herbs, potions and strange rites; their use of psychology, including auto-suggestion. … I remember the time when I found one of our horses in the bush a mile from home. It appeared to be paralyzed, almost rigid, as it stood with its head down in silence. Abraham Moses happened along and looked the animal over. He told me to go home and he would use some native medicine on the animal. He promised it would cure the horse. Abraham said I was not to watch him and that I was to return in five hours. “The horse will be well then and ready for you to take home,” he said. When I returned at the appointed time, the road gelding was fully recovered. Abraham Moses was one of the best trappers at Sturgeon Lake. Married three times, all of his wives died. He left a large family. -“Land of the Wettigo,” and “Red White Man,” by David Williamson … twin brothers, Jean-Marie and August Hamelin – two big, strapping men who walked with a noble dignity inherited from Cree and Iroquois forefathers. … The Hamelin’s being expert axe men and good workers. The two older Hamelin sons, August and Jean-Marie, were tall and dignified; both good workers and trappers. Another son, Modiste, caught TB and died early. The younger sons, Solomon and Etienne attended school with me. Etienne was killed in a hunting accident while still fairly young. He had served in the 1950-53 Korean War with the United Nations Peace Keeping Force. -“Land of the Wettigo,” and “Red White Man,” by David WilliamsonThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding settlement at Sturgeon Lake.
 
Ledger,
Handwritten ledgers
Ledgers showing purchases and dollar amounts; people and dates unknown.
Location: 2003.53.628
 
Standingribbon Homestead,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Standingribbon Homestead at Small Lake — Now called Grassy Lake — located about 20-25 miles north of Sturgeon Lake. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 9.
Location: 0175.078.1
Sturgeon Lake,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of Sturgeon Lake with horses grazing in the foreground. Copyright belongs to Doug Williamson. Original photograph number DW 15.
Location: 0175.078.2
Typical Sturgeon Lake scene,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A typical scene of the early days with Sturgeon Lake in the background. This was taken in the early 1900’s. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 34.
Location: 0175.078.3
Teepee at Sturgeon Lake,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Counselor Kiyawasew’s teepee at Sturgeon Lake near Sturgeon Creek. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 33.
Location: 0175.078.4
Wedding,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Shown (L-R): Clara Hamelin, Isabelle Stoney, Abraham Moses and Jean-Marie Hamelin (twin to Austin [August] Hamelin) at Isabelle and Abraham’s Wedding. Copyright belongs to Vina Jorgensen. Original photograph number VJ 37.
Location: 0175.078.5
Sturgeon Lake, 1911, 1911
1 Photograph; b & w;
Shown (L-R): Dr. R.N. Shaw, Mosier, E. E. Davidson, and Harvey Switzer at Sturgeon Lake in 1911. Copyright belongs to DeBolt Museum. Original photograph number DeBolt 327.
Location: 0175.078.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.079Old Families (1) 1945-1951This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of families in Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Soderquist,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ole and Myrtle Soderquist stand in front of their car. Copyright belongs to Vi Reber. Original photograph number VR 17.
Location: 0175.079.1
Ethel and Jack Williamson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ethel and Jack Williamson holding two Tingstad children. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.079.2
Rupert Clough’s Store, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dorothy Williamson and Myron Halvorson in front of Rupert Clough’s Store in 1951. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.079.3
Sid Brown’s Truck, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Back (L-R): Alex Williamson, Elsie Holmen, Beth Swanson, Grace Holmen, Bud Brown, Joe Ressler; Front (L-R): Trudy Swanson and Wayne Holmen in front of Sid Brown’s truck in 1951. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.079.4
Lavina Peters, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Lavina Peters in 1945. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.079.5
Margo’s Café, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Rick Soderquist, Trudy Swanson, Myron Halvorson, Ernie Harback, and Norm Adolphson sit in front of Margo’s Café. In 1945, the children of Margo and Sid Brown, who had until then been taught by correspondence, needed to go to school. The Brown family moved to Valleyview and purchased the Chamberlain building on the corner of 50th and 50th which they turned into Margo’s Café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.079.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.080Early Oilfield 1952-1956This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the early oilfields in Valleyview. The photos are digitalized.
 
Chains, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ernie and Doreen Simpkins putting on chains when stuck in the mud north of Sturgeon in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.080.1
Building a Lease, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Building a lease. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.080.2
Building a Road, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Building a road. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Bruce Hollingworth.
Location: 0175.080.3
Pullview Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A pullview rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.080.4
Cantex Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cantex Rig with Ernie Simpkin’s Water Hauling Truck. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.080.5
 
“Plan $5 Million Pipeline From Sturgeon Lake”, Dec 2, 1954
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald-Tribune,” Dec 2, 1954 Story dealing in detail with the proposal to build a pipeline from Sturgeon Lake oilfields to the Edson terminal of the Trans-Mountain Oil Pipeline.
Location: 2003.53.638
“Rush Big Oil Program In Area”, Feb 12, 1953
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald-Tribune,” Feb 12, 1953 Story dealing with early exploratory drilling in Valleyview-Sturgeon Lake area, and the earliest discoveries of oilfields in the region.
Location: 2003.53.639
“Construction, Oil Work, Share Activity As Valleyview Busy With Winter’s Work”, Dec 11, 1952
Newspaper clipping
from “The Grande Prairie Herald-Tribune,” Dec 11, 1952 Story dealing with early gravity surveys of Valleyview area oilfields.
Location: 2003.53.640
“Northern Wildcat Well Planned By Imperial”, 1956
Newspaper clipping
from “Oil News,” unknown date, 1956 Story dealing with new wells planned by Imperial Oil in Northern Alberta. Also has production numbers showing Alberta’s impressive oil industry in 1956.
Location: 2003.53.641
Back to Table of Contents
175.081Old Families (2) 1940-1950This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of families of Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Dan Bergstein,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dan Bergstein poses for the camera. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 37.
Location: 0175.081.1
Norm’s Seventh Birthday, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Norman Ramstad, Vi, Myrtle, Robert and Richard Soderquist, Stanley Hanson, and Kenny Tingstad on Norman’s seventh birthday. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.081.2
The Soderquist Family, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Soderquist Family poses for one last picture with Joe while he was on furlough from the army. Back (L-R): Harold, Oscar, Ole, and Joe Soderquist Middle (L-R): Alice, Dora, Edith and Selma Soderquist Front (L-R): Myrtle, Violet, Robert, Myrtle (holding Ruth) and Rick Soderquist. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.081.3
Circa 1940, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Carl Issakson, Vern Peterson, Terry Johnson, Carl Peterson, and Enar Jacobsen, circa 1940. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.081.4
Mary and Ellen, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mary Lien and Ellen Adolphson. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.081.5
Taking a break,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Jack Williamson, Ernie Williamson, Graham Bodeker and Joe Haldin rest by a truck. Copyright belongs to Doug Williamson. Original photograph number DW 4.
Location: 0175.081.6
Valleyview Barber,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Carl Svenson, Ivor Bratland, Clarance Peterson and Torvil Gilge pose in front of a farm house. Svenson, a barber, was the proprietor of a barbershop in Valleyview. Copyright belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.081.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.082The Tingstad Family 1909-1944This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the Tingstad family. The photos are digitalized.
 
Tingstad Family, 1909
1 Photograph; b & w;
Tingstad Family taken in 1909. Back (L-R): Regna, Nellie, Adolf, and Elmer Tingstad Front (L-R): Clara, Anna (mother), Ingvald and Jack. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.082.1
Bath Day, 1937
1 Photograph; b & w;
Marion Tingstad bathes her children Joan and Ken in front of their home in 1937. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.082.2
Family Photo, 1937
1 Photograph; b & w;
Joan (baby), Marion, Ingvald and Ken (in front) Tingstad in front of their home in 1937. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.082.3
Ingvald Tingstad, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ingvald Tingstad in front of his barn in 1940. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.082.4
Haying, 1934
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gus Holmen and Ingvald Tingstad haying in 1934. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.082.5
Tingstad, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
This photo taken in 1944 at Ingvald Tingstad’s home quarter NE-17-70-22-W5. Children (L-R): Ken, Gail, and Joan Tingstand; Ingvald pitching hay. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.082.6
 
“News of Sturgeon Lake District Told In Letter To Uncle Matt”, Feb 27, 1934
Newspaper clipping
from “The Northern Tribune,” Mar 8, 1934 Letter written on Feb 27, 1934; reprinted in newspaper Mar 8, 1934, reporting anecdotal news from Sturgeon Lake/Valleyview area.
Location: 2003.53.659
Back to Table of Contents
175.083Veterans 1910-1953This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding WWI and WWII veterans from Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Army Men, 1916 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Two World War I soldiers. Dave Capot is one of them. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.083.1
Air Force Men, 1942 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Air force men who ran the repeater station for the telegraph line during World War II standing on the steps of Brown’s River Place. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.083.2
Soloman Beaudry, 1942 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A portrait of Soloman Beaudry in uniform. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.083.3
Graham Bodeker in Uniform, 1942 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Graham Bodeker, Frances Bodeker and Grandpa (Nels) Stenseth. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.083.4
Graham Bodeker On Leave, 1942 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Graham Bodeker home on leave – shown with his wife Eunice and two daughters Frances and Phyllis. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.083.5
Pete and Carl Gradin.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Pete and his son Carl Gradin, who is in uniform. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 32.
Location: 0175.083.6
 
“Sturgeon Lake Indian Chief Dies Suddenly After Collapse”, Oct 8, 1953
Newspaper clipping
from “The Herald-Tribune,” Oct 8, 1953 Obituary for Etienne Hamelin, Chief of the Sturgeon Band, who was a WWII vet.
Location: 2003.53.663
Back to Table of Contents
175.084Old Families (3) 1940-1949This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of families from the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Moose calling contest.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moose calling contest. (L-R): Marshall Kiyawasew, [unknown], Joe Moses, Johnny Kappo, Dave Kappo, Albert Moses, [unknown], and [unknown]. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 168.
Location: 0175.084.1
Unidentified Men.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Unidentified men in front of the Hitching Post at the Mission. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 10.
Location: 0175.084.2
Snowshoe race.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Snowshoe race. (L-R): Miles Hamelin, Johnny Campbell, Larry Kiyawasew, [unknown], Felix Harvey. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 162.
Location: 0175.084.3
Sturgeon Lake Café, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Pierre ?, Bella Badger (Joyce), Teddy Desjarlais, and Pete Joyce in front of the Sturgeon Lake Café, also called Taylor’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.084.4
Wedding, Feb 8, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Wedding of Felix Martineau and Bella Mitchell on February 08, 1944. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 183
Location: 0175.084.5
July 1945., Jul, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ida, Lucy Marie, Evelyn, [unknown], Sister Bernadette, Sister Verrette, Mrs. And Mr. Gallivan in July 1945. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 187.
Location: 0175.084.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.085Homesteading 1940-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of homesteaders in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Andy Rusten,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Andy Rusten poses with a stuffed polar bear. Copyright belongs to Adolphson family. Original photograph number A.
Location: 0175.085.1
The Andrew Rusten Homestead,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Andrew Rusten Homestead – just north and east of Valleyview along the highway to Peace River. Copyright belongs to Art & May Joy Adolphson. Original photograph number A digital.
Location: 0175.085.2
Helen and Esther Fjellner, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Helen and Esther Fjellner sit for the camera in 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.085.3
On the Tonne Homestead, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Helen and Esther Fjellner, and Rufus Walters on the Tonne Homestead. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.085.4
John Tonne, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
John Tonne harvesting on his homestead north of Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.085.5
Log Home, 1962 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Log Home of Selma and John Tonne north of Valleyview in the early 1960s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.085.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.086B&D Cabins 1930-1940This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the B&D Cabins at Sturgeon Lake. The photos are digitalized.
 
Arthur Taylor and Edna McLean, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Arthur Taylor and his daughter Edna McLean, who originally owned the B&D Cabins, pose beside a traveler’s scooter who went from Mexico to Alaska. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.086.1
B&D Cabins, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
This young fellow is standing in front of one of the B&D Cabins. The cabin business began as three buildings and a general store built at Sturgeon Lake by Arthur Taylor in 1940. They were later bought by Babe and Eileen Bassarab and Harry Denny around 1946-47. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.086.2
B&D Store, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Harry Denny at the corner of the B&D Store. The ice house can be seen in the back of the photo, and the Bassarab house on the right. Harry Denny and the Bassarab’s bought the B&D cabins and general store at Sturgeon Lake from Arthur Taylor in 1946-47. They ran the business into the 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.086.3
A “Caboose”, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The unidentified male is standing in front of what was called a “caboose.” A caboose was a small portable one room building used as a temporary living space for homesteaders. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.086.4
 
Newspaper clippings, 1932-1934
Newspaper clippings
Various anecdotal stories related to the opening of and events at cabins and resorts along Sturgeon Lake. “The Northern Tribune,” May 11, 1933 “The Grande Prairie Newspaper,” May 17, 1934 “The Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Aug 3, 1933 “The Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Jun 1, 1933 “The Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Aug 10, 1933 “The Northern Tribune,” Sep 1, 1932
Location: 2003.53.682
Back to Table of Contents
175.087The Ramstad Family 1930-1940This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the Ramstad family. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
John and Norm Ramstad, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
John and Norm Ramstad with dog Fido. The Ramstad barnyard is in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.087.1
Thora and Kalmar Ramstad, 1931
1 Photograph; b & w;
Thora and Kalmar Ramstad on their homestead in 1931. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.087.2
Kalmar and John Ramstad, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Kalmar Ramstad with his son John working the farm with their 1927 Model D John Deere. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.087.3
The Second Ramstad Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The second Ramstad Home on the homestead at SW-1/4-20-70-22-W5. Norm Ramstad’s Model A Ford is parked in the foreground. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.087.4
Ramstad Log Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Thora & Kalmar Ramstad with son John in front of their log home 1930-1931 on the homestead SW-1/4-20-70-22-W5. This house was originally built at NW-1/4-71-22-W5, then taken apart, numbered and moved to this homestead. This is the home where Norm Ramstad was born. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.087.5
Aerial View, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
An aerial view of the Norm Ramstad Farm – NE-19-22-70-W5, originally homesteaded by Hennig Petterson, then later taken over by his brother Clarence Petterson. Eventually owned by Ted Brown who had purchased it from John Ramstad. The log building next to the Quonset was built in 1934 on that spot by Hennig Petterson. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.087.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.088Hunting 1950-1969This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of hunting activities. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Seven-point Elk, 1962 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ann Farnquist with a 7-point elk in the early 1960’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.088.1
Swan Hills Grizzly, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
This Swan Hills Grizzly was prowling the garbage at the rig site. Al Oeming set up a trap and caught the bear, unfortunately the bear died. It weighed in at 700 pounds. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dale Wine.
Location: 0175.088.2
Dale Wine, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dale Wine in the Halliburton Shop with his first moose. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dale Wine.
Location: 0175.088.3
Goose Hunt., 1961
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Jim Mitchell, Peter, Dale Wine, Roy Cumber’s son and Roy Cumber after a goose hunt in 1961. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dale Wine.
Location: 0175.088.4
Deer Hunt, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ed Farnquist and Ted DeHaan in 1960 with two deer that they have killed and hung. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.088.5
Back to Table of Contents
175.089The Roman Catholic Church 1944-1959This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the Sunset House Roman Catholic Church. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Sunset House R.C. Church, Jul 26, 1959
1 Photograph; b & w;
In front of the Roman Catholic Church at Sunset House – July 26, 1959 – Confirmation Back (L-R): [unknown], [unknown], Richard Breland, [unknown], Mickey Debre, Renee Marin, Dennis Marin, Gerald Breland Middle (L-R): Roseanne Rieu, Louise Doucette, Jerry Gaboury, Andy Doucette, [unknown] Fournier, O’Niel Rieu, Ernie Rieu Front (L-R): Vivian Doucette, Paulette Rieu, Mgr. Routhier, Lawrence Gaboury. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number Sun 02.
Location: 0175.089.1
Sturgeon Lake R.C. Church, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Daisy & Joe Gillbride, with Austin & Charlie Velie on the day of Confirmation outside the Catholic Church at Sturgeon Lake, August 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.089.2
Father Gerard Tetreault, Oct, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Father Gerard Tetreault standing beside his car, October 1946. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 295.
Location: 0175.089.3
March 31, 1946, Mar 31, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mrs. Bradley, Marguerite, Miss Despins & Pauline in March 31, 1946 (Mrs. Bradley is Henry Bradley’s mother. Pauline is Henry Bradley’s sister who later married Lorne Napier. Miss Despins married Henry Bradley.) Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number, VA 41.
Location: 0175.089.5
February 15, 1944, Feb 15, 1944
1 Photograph; b & w;
Tommie, Pauline, Mrs. Bradley, Marguerite & Eddie Bradley in February 15, 1944. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 38.
Location: 0175.089.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.090The Churches of Valleyview 1939-1062This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding the Churches of Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
The first Roman Catholic Church,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The first Roman Catholic Church in Valleyview, built by Mr. McEathern. Father Joseph Paquin was the cleric in 1939. The building was purchased by Mr. and Mrs. Frank Reber in November of 1953 and used as a residence. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 002.
Location: 0175.090.1
Roman Catholic Altar, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Roman Catholic Altar in the Sturgeon Lake School (69-23) Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Harry Denny.
Location: 0175.090.2
Valleyview’s first Roman Catholic Church.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Valleyview’s first Roman Catholic Church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 04.
Location: 0175.090.4
The Emmanuel Baptist Church,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Emmanuel Baptist Church which was moved from East of Valleyview in to town in 1953 to the location where the new church stands today. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 189-11.
Location: 0175.090.5
The old and new Convents, 1962
1 Photograph; b & w;
The old and new Convent of the Sisters of Our Lady of the Cross, 1962. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 15.
Location: 0175.090.6
Valleyview’s first Roman Catholic Church,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Valleyview’s first Roman Catholic Church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 003.
Location: 0175.090.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.091Nurses at Valleyview 1936-1940With his original homestead cabin now vacant, Dave Williamson was living in an annex behind his store. He put his cabin at the disposal of the committee elected to look after the nurse’s needs, and it was turned into a temporary nurse’s residence and office-dispensary. Many eager hands assisted the nurse in getting established. Actually, the cabin wasn’t much to look at and it wouldn’t be overly warm in winter. Still, it was neatly built and clean; had ample window space for good lighting and a good rubberoid roof. The committee readied the cabin for the nurse’s use. A new bed and stove were supplied by the provincial government. Water would have to hauled half a mile – from Carl Swenson’s well. Firewood, too, must be supplied by the settlers. Nurse’s Fees – those requiring house-calls were supposed to pay $1; visits to the office were to cost $0.50. Maternity cases were listed at $10 which included all prenatal and postnatal care. Those requiring house-calls were to supply transportation for the nurse. Later on in the 1930’s, Emil Slopianka, a journeyman carpenter, offered the nurse’s committee to build a new home an office for Nurse Hyde at $0.25/hr, and board. They gave him the job and he constructed a neat, cosy building of ample size. The were pleased with the building by lodged a complaint about the new “two-holer” – the holes in the seat didn’t line up with the hole in the ground. Slopianka expressed his sincere regret at not having the toilet holes aimed correctly. -“Red White Man,” by David WilliamsonThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the nurses of Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Nurses’ Residence, 1936
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mary Caldwell Werklund (teacher) in front of the nurses’ residence in September 7, 1936. Dave Williamson’s homestead cabin served as a temporary residence and office for Valleyview’s first nurse. Later in the 1930s, Emil Slopianka offered to build a new home and office for Valleyview’s nurse Hyde. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.091.1
First Nurses’ Residence, 1936
1 Photograph; b & w;
The First Nurses’ Residence after the big snow of September 7, 1936. Shown are Mary Caldwell Werklund and her sister Jean Caldwell Werklund, who was the district nurse at the time. The nurses’ residence was located on the corner of 50th St. and 49th Ave. in Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.091.2
Nurses’ Residence, 1938
1 Photograph; b & w;
Irene Stewart in front of the Nurses Residence in 1938. Dave Williamson’s homestead cabin served as a temporary residence and office for Valleyview’s first nurse. Later in the 1930s, Emil Slopianka offered to build a new home and office for Valleyview’s nurse Hyde. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Adolphson family.
Location: 0175.091.3
Main Street Valleyview, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Elsie Holmen and Joan Tingstad on Valleyview’s Main Street. The Post Office is on the left and B-A Garage is on the right. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.091.4
Eunice Bodeker, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Eunice Bodeker with her daughters Frances and Phyllis. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.091.5
Sid Brown’s Grader, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sid Brown’s Grader on 50th & 50th in Valleyview with the Catholic Church on the left and Chamberlain’s Store/Margo’s Café on the right. Sid Brown ran a grader for the governemtn for 21 years. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.091.6
Dentist & his assistant.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Dentist and his assistant, Nancy Campbell, Barbara Campbell, “Poncho” Francis Campell, Mrs. Prince, “Old Prince” Kiyawasew. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photogrpah number ST 76.
Location: 0175.091.7
Fall, 1936, 1936
1 Photograph; b & w;
A display of Mary and Jean Caldwell’s Halloween Box Social Lunches taken in front of the nurses cottage at Valleyview in the fall of 1936. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Mary Werklund.
Location: 0175.091.8
Jasper & Lena Hval, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jasper & Lena Hval (parents of Alma Swanson) outside of a log cabin. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.091.9
 
“Visitors to Grande Prairie”, Jan 8, 1932
Newspaper clipping
from “The Grande Prairie Herald-Tribune,” Jan 8, 1932 Short story reporting on a social gathering at Grande Prairie for a fundraiser to build a community hall.
Location: 2003.53.712
Back to Table of Contents
175.092Old Families 1940-1950This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of families from the Valleyview area.
 
1940, 1940
1 Photograph; b & w;
Medeleine Gladue and Eliza Thomas in 1940. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 217.
Location: 0175.092.1
Kiyawasew,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Roseann Kiyawasew and Cecille Kiyawasew pose beside a car. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 177.
Location: 0175.092.2
June 1941, Jun, 1941
1 Photograph; b & w;
Lucy Martineau and Louisanne Kiyawasew pose for the camera in June 1941. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 264.
Location: 0175.092.3
Rose Marie (Soto) Voshall.,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rose Marie (Soto) Voshall (on the left) poses with a friend. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 186.
Location: 0175.092.4
Florisse Hamelin,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Florisse Hamelin poses for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 197.
Location: 0175.092.5
Pete Joyce and his aunt Medeline (Calliou) Davis,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Pete Joyce and his aunt Medeline (Calliou) Davis. She was born at Moberly Lake in 1905. Copyright belongs to Pete and Bella Joyce. Original photograph labelled Pete and Bella Joyce.
Location: 0175.092.6
Melanie Hamelin,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Melanie Hamelin sits for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST195.
Location: 0175.092.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.093The Valleyview Post Office 1929-1965Our own district: Valleyview, Alberta was, in 1928, little more than a large tract of bush country situated seventy-fives miles east of Grande Prairie by the crooked, muddy trail that connected our settlement with that town at that time. (Dave Williamson files on homestead land) … I wanted to move to Red Willow Creek to try my luck at running a store of my own on a small scale. I had filed on a quarter-section in 1927, and built a log cabin on it. But it wasn’t until the spring of 1929 that I was able to leave the Sturgeon Lake Trading Post. I opened my Red Willow Creek store during the early summer of 1929. To augment my income, I became the settlement’s first postmaster. Some settlers felt we should give the community a new name, a shorter one. Being postmaster elect, I was asked to submit a name for the post office. I passed the buck to Oscar Adolphson, who together with my brother Alex-John, suggested naming it “Valleyview”. I sent that name in and it was acceptable to the post office authorities. Presto! Red Willow Creek became Valleyview. -“Red White Man,” by David Williamson.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview post office. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Postmaster Information, 1929-1965
Typewritten table
Table of Postmasters, including dates of appointment and retirement ranging from David Williamson in 1929 to Ingvald Harback in 1965. Information from the National Archives of Canada.
Location: 2003.53.727
 
1951, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Roy Perrson, Claire Menard and Adeline Halvorson in front of the Post Office that was situated on Main Street next to the Jubilee Theatre (Jonique’s) in 1951. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.093.1
Dave Williamson’s Old Store, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
“My old store in Valleyview, built in 1929. It was the second and I had the Post Office. I was the Postmaster in late spring 1929.” Note written on the back of the photograph by David Williamson. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dorothy Friesen.
Location: 0175.093.2
Mr. and Mrs. Harback, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mr. and Mrs. Harback at the counter inside the Post Office. Mr. Harback was the Postmaster from July 1, 1947 to June 18, 1965. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.093.3
Post Office, 1962 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The existing Post Office being constructed in the early 1960s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.093.4
Doreen Williamson, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Doreen Williamson and an unidentified man standing on the street in front of the Post Office that was located on Main Street. Note the Mud! Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.093.5
 
Newspaper clippings, 1929-1955
Newspaper clippings
Stories including the opening and later improvement of the Post Office in Valleyview. “The Herald Tribune,” Nov 25, 1955 “The Herald Tribune,” Feb 29, 1929
Location: 2003.53.728
Back to Table of Contents
175.094B&D Cabins (2) 1932-1960Arthur Taylor was originally a fur buyer for the Hudson’s Bay Company, but as evidenced from newspaper clippings of the day, Arthur Taylor had started a dance hall/cabaret and confectionary business down by the lake as early as the summer of 1932. About 1940 he built a store and 3 small cabins a short distance from the lake along the main road, and then moved the dance hall up as well. About 1946-47, Babe and Eileen Bassarab and Harry Denny purchased the general store and cabin business from Mr. Arthur Taylor. The trio operated the business until 1955 when Harry began working for Amerada Petroleum and moved into Valleyview. Babe and Eileen continued to live and operate the business for many years. The roof of the first Police barracks that had originally stood on the front of Bassarab’s lot at the late was reused in the building of the barn. There were apparently two jail cells built below ground under the barrack building.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the B&D Cabins at Sturgeon Lake. The photos are digitalized.
 
The B&D Cabins, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The B&D Cabins can be seen in this aerial photograph. The cabins and a general store were built by Arthur Taylor in 1940. The business was purchased by Babe and Eileen Bassarab and Harry Denny six years later. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.094.1
The Bassarab Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Ralph Suek, Babe Bassarab, Louis Suek (father to Ralph), and Ken Bassarab in front of the Bassarab home. Babe and Eileen Bassarab, along with Harry Denny (until 1955), owned the B&D Cabins on Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.094.2
Cabins, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
B & D Cabins in the winter. The cabins were built by Arthur Taylor in 1940. In 1946-47 he sold the business to the Bassarabs and Harry Denny. In 1955 Denny began working for Amerada Petroleum and moved into Valleyview, but Babe and Eileen Bassarab continued running the B&D Cabins for many years. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.094.3
Fishing, ND
; ;
Guests at the cabin show off their catch at the B&D Cabins. The Cabins were located on Sturgeon Lake and were run by Babe and Eileen Bassarab and Harry Denny. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.094.4
 
Newspaper clippings, 1932-1933
Newspaper clippings
Various anecdotal stories dealing with resort and tourist business at Sturgeon Lake. Also included is an advertisement for Taylor’s Confectionary; date and publication unknown “Northern Tribune,” Sept 15, 1932 “The Grande Prairie Newspaper,” May 25, 1933 “The Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Nov 16, 1933 “The Grande Prairie Newspaper,” Aug 17, 1933
Location: 2003.53.734
Back to Table of Contents
175.095Early Oil Rigs (1) 1954-1969This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of early oil rigs in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Top of the Deep Valley Hill, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
Top of the Deep Valley Hill, the first Shell Simonette Office, 1960. Copyright belongs to Shell Canada. Original photograph number SCH 906-16.
Location: 0175.095.1
Drilling Rig signs,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Drilling Rig signs on the corner of the Simonette Road and Highway 43. Copyright belongs to Shell Canada. Original photograph number SC 4901-3.
Location: 0175.095.2
Working for Shell,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jack McCullough (right), British American Oil Pipeline employee with unknown person working for Shell Canada at Big Valley. Copyright belongs to Shell Canada. Original photograph number SC 4901-42.
Location: 0175.095.3
Discover Well,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Discover Well at Shell Simonette, 1958-59. Copyright belongs to Shell Canada. Original photograph number SC 4901-20.
Location: 0175.095.4
Cantext Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cantex Rig #12. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.095.5
Parker Rig, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Parker Rig #1 in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.095.6
Winter Drilling Rig,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Winter Drilling Rig – early 1960’s. Copyright belongs to Shell Canada. Original photograph number SC 4901-38.
Location: 0175.095.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.096The Holmen Family 1935-1950This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the Holmen family. The photos are digitalized.
 
Holmen Family, 1946
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Holmen Family, taken in 1946, (L-R): Grace, Verna, Clara, with Elsie in the front. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.096.1
The Holmen Log Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Holmen Log Home on the farm located SE-17-70-22-W5. Grace and Vera stand in the back row and Elsie and Wayne are in the front. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.096.2
Arnold Holmen, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Arnold Holmen riding a pig on the Holmen Farm! Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.096.3
Arnold Holmen, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Arnold Holmen hiding behind his hat! Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.096.4
Wayne Holmen, 1948
1 Photograph; b & w;
Wayne Holmen on the Holmen Farm in 1948. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.096.5
Gus Holmen, 1935
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gus Holmen on horseback in 1935. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.096.6
Holmen Family Photo, 1943
1 Photograph; b & w;
Back (L-R): Arnold, Verna, and Mrytle; Front (L-R): Grace, Ruby, and Elsie in front of the log home on the Holmen Farm in 1943. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ken Tingstad.
Location: 0175.096.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.097Early Oil Rigs (2) 1953-1956With all the equipment placed on the rig floor, the rig was then moved standing up. Large trucks were put under the derrick (these were called “Atthy Wagons”), then several Cats pulled the rig off the location. It was pulled on the Highway towards Valleyview across a large coulee, and onto a new location.This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding early oil rigs in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
1954-55,
1 Photograph; b & w;
1954-55 – Rig on LSD 1-8-68-23-W5. Copyright belongs to George Lewchuck. Original photograph label: “G. Lewchuck.”
Location: 0175.097.1
Logging Truck, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A logging truck being used to log the hole for the oil rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.097.2
Bill Velie’s Trucks, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bill Vellie’s trucks moving the rig ahead 100 feet to drill another hole, the first “Million Dollar Hole” that Amerada drilled. The Cat belongs to Joe Brezowski and was the first Cat with gin poles in North America. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joe Brezovski.
Location: 0175.097.3
Cliff Shaw Rig Building,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cliff Shaw Rig Building Crew from Devon Cantex Rig #10, 1954-55. Copyright belongs to George Lewchuck. Original photograph label: “G. Lewchuck.”
Location: 0175.097.4
Cantext Rig #10,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cantext Rig #10 on LSD 1-8-68-23-W5. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to George Lewchuck.
Location: 0175.097.5
 
Stock Quotes, Dec 27, 1956
Newspaper clipping
from “The Edmonton Journal,” Dec 27, 1956 Stock quote page. Most oil companies listed on this page show significant stock price gains.
Location: 2003.53.753
“Chalk Up Four New Oil Producers In Sturgeon Field” “‘Black Gold’ Stake in District Gamble”, 1953-1955
Newspaper clipping
from “The Grande Prairie Herald-Tribune,” Aug 23, 1955 Story reporting the arrival of new oil companies in the Sturgeon Lake area, attracted by the large field. From “The Herald-Tribune,” Jun 11, 1953 Story dealing with the first find in the Sturgeon Lake area, that led to the first oil boom in the area. Also a short anecdote updating readers on Cantex activity in the area; publication unknown, from Dec 10, 1953
Location: 2003.53.756
Back to Table of Contents
175.098People of Valleyview and District 1960-1969This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of families and individuals of Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
The Barron Sisters, n.d.
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Barron sisters on the front veranda of Alex and Elsie’s home at Sturgeon Lake (L-R): Ethel Williamson, Joan Benton, Margaret Sada, Anne Williamson, Vi Ferguson, Kathleen Hamilton, and Marion Tingstad. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.098.1
Group Photo, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Louis Suek, Marj Suek, Fred White, Ruth & Benny White, Graham Bodeker, Kelly White, [unknown], Dwayne, Fran, Bev, Carson and Eunice Bodeker, and Barbara Suek pose for the camera. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.098.2
Lundblad’s House, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A family gathers for a group photograph in front of Joe and Mary Lundblad’s house, south and east of Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.098.3
Taking a Break from Harvesting, 1963
1 Photograph; b & w;
Lunch in the field at harvest time in July 1963. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.098.4
Group Photo, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Workers pose for a group photograph. Bottom (L-R): Graham Bodeker, Ingvald Tingstad, [unknown], Nels Johnson, [unknown] Top (L-R): [unknown], John Yesteby, [unknown], Carl Swanson, Fred Skog, [unknown] Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Wayne Holmen.
Location: 0175.098.5
John Paulson,
1 Photograph; b & w;
John Paulson poses for the camera in front of a log buildings. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 35.
Location: 0175.098.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.099Early Oil Rigs (3) 1940-1961This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding early oil rigs in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
“Dutch” Turninga and Bruce Hollingsworth, 1959
1 Photograph; b & w;
“Dutch” Turninga and Bruce Hollingsworth in 1959. Copyright belongs to Bruce Hollingsworth. Original photograph number BH 7.
Location: 0175.099.1
1961, 1961
1 Photograph; b & w;
1961 – Ed McNaughton who worked as a swamper for Ernie Simpkins. Copyright belongs to Ernie Simpkins. Original photograph number ES 6.
Location: 0175.099.2
Velie Brothers truck,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Velie Brother’s truck in the front and J. K. Lassen’s in the background. Taken in the late 1940’s or early 1950’s. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 42.
Location: 0175.099.3
Bill Velie,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bill Velie sits for the camera. Copyright belongs to Ernie Simpkins. Original photograph number E 6 36 A.
Location: 0175.099.4
Construction of Hudson’s Bay Road, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Jim Mortimore standing in the doorway and Bruce Hollingsworth on the right. This was taken during the construction of the Hudson’s Bay Road. Reproduction available from South Peace regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Bruce Hollingworth.
Location: 0175.099.5
Reg Velie,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Reg Velie poses by a house for the camera. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 104.
Location: 0175.099.6
 
Newspaper clippings, 1953-1955
Newspaper clippings
Stories reporting news and events relating to the oil fields early wells, including successful finds, high production rates, accidents, and contract reports. [unknown publication], Mar 19, 1953 – photo not reproduced in frame; quality too poor “The Herald Tribune,” Aug 20, 1953 [unknown publication], [unknown date] “The Grande Prairie Herald-Tribune,” May, 1955 [exact date unknown]
Location: 2003.53.767
Back to Table of Contents
175.100Valleyview Building Supplies 1928-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview Building Supplise. The photos are digitalized.
 
View of Valleyview Building Supplies, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of Valleyview Building Supplies. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.100.1
Enoch Lundblad’s Homestead, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Joe & Enoch Lundblad in front of Enoch’s homestead cabin – NW-1/4-3-70-22-W5 which was filed on March 21, 1928. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lucy Lundblad.
Location: 0175.100.2
A Parade, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A parade marching past the Valleyview Building Supplies store. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.100.3
View of the Original Building, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of the original building (although it has been added onto) at the corner of 49th Street and 50th Avenue, taken from Dick and Shirley Strazer’s yard across the street. Buildings (L-R): the home was originally built by Tom Kerr and owned by the Lorne McLaughlin family as well as being Lucy and Enoch’s first home. The background building is the first Valleyview Building Supplies Warehouse, then the Valleyview Buildings Store. The original store building, the portion which would have included the door and one window, was built by Lorne McLaughlin early in the 1930’s and stood originally on the hill east of Valleyview (the “Microwave Tower hill”). Mr. McLaughlin had operated a grocery store and lived in that location until the summer of 1932, when he relocated both the house and the store to the Main Street location. This building was used by many industrious folk for a variety of businesses cafés operated by Janet McLaughlin, Ludie Bodeker and Alma Swanson to name only a few. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.100.4
View of Valleyview Building Supplies, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
View of Valleyview Building Supplies. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Joan Plaxton.
Location: 0175.100.5
 
“Valleyview Firm Completes Big Expansion Project”, Dec 9, 1955
Newspaper clipping
from “The Grande Prairie Herald Tribune,” Dec 9, 1955 Story reporting on the expansion of Enoch Lundblad’s Valleyview Building Supplies business. Also included is a small anecdotal story reporting on the grand opening dance that Enoch Lundblad gave to commemorate the occasion. (Oct 14, 1955)
Location: 2003.53.772
Back to Table of Contents
175.101Boy Scouts: Valleyview & Sturgeon Lake (1) 1950-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding Boy Scouts of Valleyview and Sturgeon Lake. The photos are digitalized.
 
A Group of Cubs, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of Cubs in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Jim Clark.
Location: 0175.101.1
A Group of Cubs, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of Cubs in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.101.2
A Group of Cubs and Scouts, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of Cubs and Scouts in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.101.3
A Group of Cubs, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of Cubs in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.101.4
 
Newspaper clippings, 1953-1956
Newspaper clippings
Short stories relating activities and events of the Cub packs and Scout troops from the Valleyview area. [unknown publication], Mar 2, 1956 “The Herald-Tribune,” Feb 26, 1953
Location: 2003.53.779
Back to Table of Contents
175.102People 1939-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of families and individuals of the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Nels Johnson and Ivor Bratland,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Nels Johnson and Ivor Bratland in front of Ivro’s home. Copyright belongs to Wayne Holmen. Original photograph number WH 21.
Location: 0175.102.1
A Group of Children, 1947
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of children pose for the camera in 1947 – Back (L-R): Juanita Bartlett, Evelyn Jacobsen, Nita Jorgensen, Esther Reichart. Front (L-R): Pearl Reber, Trudy Reichert and Ella May Reber. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.102.2
Group Photo, 1939
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group at Keillar’s Cabins in 1939. (L-R): Eunice Stenseth, Betty Bodeker, Carl Stenseth, [unknown], Mary Gradin, [unknown], [unknown], [unknown], and Bruce Fjellner. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Selma Tonne.
Location: 0175.102.3
Spring of 1958, 1958
1 Photograph; b & w;
Wallace, Svend, Margaret, Ivan and Lorna Jorgensen in the spring of 1958. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vina Jorgensen.
Location: 0175.102.4
At the George Clough Farm, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
(L-R): Arnold Holmen, Rupert Clough, Charlie Noreen, Ethel and Jack Williamson at the George Clough Farm in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.102.5
Gabe Stickel and Carl Noreen,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gabe Stickel and Carl Noreen pose for the camera beside a wooden building. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 36.
Location: 0175.102.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.103Cantex #10 1952-1955This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding oil rigs in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Pipe, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of pipe on a derrick waiting to be spun into the hole. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.103.1
Boiler House, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A boiler house on the site of an oil rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.103.2
Spinning in a New Pipe, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Spinning in a new pipe. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.103.3
George Lewchuck,
1 Photograph; b & w;
George Lewchuck – 1954-55 Cantex Rig #10 – LSD 1-8-68-23-W5. Copyright belongs to George Lewchuck. Original photograph label ” George Lewchuck.”
Location: 0175.103.4
View of the Rig Floor, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of the rig floor Pipe racks are on the ground at the front of the photo. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.103.5
Cantex Rig #10, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bags of Mud Power are left mixed with water and pumped down the hole. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.103.6
Pumps, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Another view of pumps (Jimmys). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.103.7
Motors, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Motors (Jimmys) on rig deck of Cantex Rig #10. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.103.8
 
Newspaper clippings, 1952-1955
Newspaper clippings
Stories related to Cantex Rig #10, which operated in the Valleyview area. “The Herald Tribune,” Dec 24, 1952 “The Herald Tribune,” May, 1955 [exact date unknown] “The Herald Tribune,” Dec 17, 1953 “The Herald Tribune,” Oct 15, 1953 “The Northern Tribune,” Apr 16, 1953
Location: 2003.53.791
Back to Table of Contents
175.104Boy Scouts: Valleyview & Sturgeon Lake (2) 1950-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding Boy Scouts of the Valleyview and Sturgeon Lake areas. The photos are digitalized.
 
Barry Williamson and Austin Velie, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Barry Williamson and Austin Velie dressed in their Boy Scouts uniforms. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Jim Clark.
Location: 0175.104.1
Doug and Barry Williamson, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Doug and Barry Williamson dressed in their Boy Scouts uniforms in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.104.2
A Group of Cubs, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A group of Cubs in the early 1950s shown with leader Jim Clark. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Jim Clark.
Location: 0175.104.3
Doug and Barry Williamson, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Doug and Barry Williamson on a Boy Scouts camping trip in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.104.4
Doug and Barry Williamson, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Doug and Barry Williamson dressed in Boy Scouts uniforms in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.104.5
 
Newspaper clippings, 1932, 1953
Newspaper clippings
Short stories relating activities and events of the Cub packs and Scout troops from the Valleyview area and around the world. “The Northern Tribune,” Aug 11, 1932 [unknown publication], Jun 18, 1953 [unknown publication], Jul 30, 1953
Location: 2003.53.800
Back to Table of Contents
175.105Early Oil Rigs (4) 1950-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding some of the early oil rigs in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Mud Trough, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mud trough taking the mud to the mud pit with pipe racks in the background. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.105.1
Mud Pump House, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mud pump house at the back of the rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.105.2
In Front of Halliburton Shop, 1959
1 Photograph; b & w;
George Boyd and Carl Van Gundy in front of the Halliburton Shop in 1959. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Dale Wine.
Location: 0175.105.3
Motors and Drawworks, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Motors and drawworks of a rig in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.105.4
Drilling Wellsite, 1952 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Drilling wellsite in the early 1950s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.105.5
First Discovery Well, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
First Discovery Well. Crown “O” 33-22. Drilled by Cantex #10. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.105.6
Bawden 54, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bawden 54 (?) drilling a well for Hudson’s Bay Oil & Gas. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.105.7
 
“Survey Oil Pipeline Route From Sturgeon”, Jul 12, 1956
Newspaper clipping
from “The Grande Prairie Herald Tribune,” Jul 12, 1956 Story reporting on surveying in preparation of building a pipeline from the Sturgeon Lake oilfields to the Trans-Mountain Pipeline, 110 miles distant.
Location: 2003.53.805
Back to Table of Contents
175.106Margo’s Café (1) 1945-1953This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of Margo’s Café in Valleyview. The photos are digitalized.
 
Group Photo, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Dorothy Williamson, Myrtle and Robbie Soderquist, Adeline, Myron, and Fran Halvorson and Trudy Swanson, outside a café in 1951. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.106.1
Doreen Brown, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Doreen Brown stands on a ladder outside of a Café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.106.2
At the Side of Margo’s Café, 1945
1 Photograph; b & w;
Trudy and Beth Swanson (nee: Brown) and Vi Soderquist (Reber) at the side of Margo’s Café before it was painted. After moving to Valleyview in 1945, the Brown’s purchased the Chamberlain building on the corner of 50th and 50th and converted it into Margo’s Café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.106.3
Beth Brown (Soderquist), ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Beth Brown (Soderquist) inside Margo’s Café. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family purchased the Chamberlain building, situated on the corner of 50th and 50th in Valleyview, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.106.4
1951, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Fred Lambert, Alex Williamson and Bud Brown in 1951. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.106.5
Inside Margo’s Café, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Inside Margo’s Café in March 1951. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family purchased the Chamberlain building, on the corner of 50th and 50th in Valleyview, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.106.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.107Frank Reber’s Blacksmith 1930-1955This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview blacksmith’s. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
“Valleyview’s Village Smithy”, Dec 20, 1955
Magazine excerpt
from “Peace River Magazine,” Dec 20, 1955 Biographic article about Frank Reber and his Blacksmith Shop
Location: 2003.53.822
 
Frank Reber’s Blacksmith Shop, 1942 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Frank Reber’s Blacksmith Shop on Valleyview’s Main Street Valleyview in the early 1940s. Frank and Myrtle lived there for a few years until they purchased the Catholic Church next door. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Vi Reber.
Location: 0175.107.1
The New Reber Home, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The yellow two storey house shown here was formerly the Catholic Church, which was purchased by Frank and Myrtle Reber and remodeled into their family home. (Enoch Lundblad cut the steeple off.) The house with the dormer window to the left in the background is the Reber family farmhouse (see 0175.107.4). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Margo Brown.
Location: 0175.107.2
Summer of 1938, 1938
1 Photograph; b & w;
In front of the first log house on the Reber homestead – Summer of 1938. Les (Roy’s son), Grandma Ella r, Eva (married to Bob), Lester (Jack’s son), Ida, Cliff, Myrtle, Frank, Jake (uncle to Frank), & son Hugh, and Roy (brother to Frank), and Marguerite Reber (married to Roy), and Will Siebrasse (father to Myrtle Reber). Copyright belongs to Ida Fell . Original photograph number IF 38.
Location: 0175.107.3
Frank Reber’s Blacksmith Shop, 1951
1 Photograph; b & w;
Frank Reber’s Blacksmith Shop on Valleyview’s Main Street Valleyview in April of 1951. The old community hall is on the right. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.107.4
The Reber Homestead, ND
; ;
The Reber homestead farmhouse. Frank Reber owned a blacksmith shop on Valleyview’s main street. The family later moved into an old church. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.107.5
Summer of 1938, 1938
1 Photograph; b & w;
In front of the first log house on the Reber Homestead in the summer of 1938. The family later moved into an old church which was remodeled into a two storey house. Les (Roy’s son), Grandma Ella, Eva (married to Bob), Lester (Jack’s son), Ida, Cliff, Myrtle, Frank, Jake (uncle to Frank), & son Hugh, and Roy (brother to Frank), and Marguerite Reber (married to Roy), and Will Siebrasse (father to Myrtle Reber). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.107.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.108Margo’s Café (2) 1945-1953This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of Margo’s Café in Valleyview. The photos are digitalized.
 
In Front of Margo’s Café, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Norm Ramstad, Tom Brown, and Beth Brown in front of Margo’s Café. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family bought the Chamberlain building in Valleyview, on the corner of 50th and 50th, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.108.1
Grace and Elsie Holmen, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Grace and Elsie Holmen entering Margo’s Café. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family bought the Chamberlain building in Valleyview, on the corner of 50th and 50th, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.108.2
Elsie Werklund (Kronholm) and Lucy Lundblad, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Elsie Werklund (Kronholm) and Lucy Lundblad outside of Margo’s Café. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family bought the Chamberlain building in Valleyview, on the corner of 50th and 50th, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.108.3
Margo’s Café, 1946 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Vi Soderquist (Reber) and Beth Brown (Soderquist) outside of Margo’s Café. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family bought the Chamberlain building in Valleyview, on the corner of 50th and 50th, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.108.4
Norm Ramstad and Beth Brown (Soderquist), ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Norm Ramstad and Beth Brown (Soderquist) outside of Margo’s Café. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family bought the Chamberlain building in Valleyview, on the corner of 50th and 50th, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.108.5
Margo’s Café, 1948
1 Photograph; b & w;
Tom Brown and John Brezovski in front of Margo’s Café in 1948. In 1945 Margo Brown and her family bought the Chamberlain building in Valleyview, on the corner of 50th and 50th, and converted it into a café. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.108.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.109Sturgeon Lake EldersThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of elders from Sturgeon Lake.
 
Clement Chowace,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Clement Chowace poses for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 202.
Location: 0175.109.1
Pierre Papastesis,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Pierre Papastesis poses for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 199.
Location: 0175.109.2
Caroline La Rocque,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Caroline La Rocque sits for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 206.
Location: 0175.109.3
Mrs. Philomene Mustus,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mrs. Philomene Mustus sits for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 201.
Location: 0175.109.4
Francis Moostoos,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Francis Moostoos sits for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 205.
Location: 0175.109.5
Julienne Badger,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Julienne Badger sits for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 203.
Location: 0175.109.6
Mary Thomas,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mary Thomas poses for the camera. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST 204.
Location: 0175.109.7
Mary Kappo,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Mary Kappo with grandchild Tanya. Copyright belongs to Ken Tingstad. Original photograph number KT 27.
Location: 0175.109.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.110The Adolphson Family 1939-1990This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of the Adolphson family and farm. Some of the photographs are digitalized.
 
Andrew Adolphson’s Cabin,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Andrew Adolphson’s Cabin as it looks today. Copyright belongs to Norm Adolphson. Original photograph number A 3.
Location: 0175.110.1
Aerial Photo, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Aerial Photo of the Andrew Adolphson Farm on the Little Smoky River, SE-1-70-22-W5. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.110.2
Andrew Adolphson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Andrew Adolphson standing in the doorway of his barn. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.110.3
Ed Pederson, Oscar and Andrew Adolphson,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ed Pederson, Oscar and Andrew Adolphson in a horse drawn wagon. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.110.4
Andrew Adolphson’s Homestead, 1939
1 Photograph; b & w;
Andrew Adolphson’s homestead cabin in 1939. Copyright belongs to Norm Adolphson. Original photograph number A 4.
Location: 0175.110.5
Andrew and Oscar Adolphson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Andrew and Oscar Adolphson on the homestead. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.110.6
Back to Table of Contents
175.111Guthrie Rig Fire 1957This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and an article regarding a rig fire. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Oil Well Burning, 1958
1 Photograph; b & w;
Smoke from an oil well burning – facing NE from the Lloyd Boman homestead in 1958. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lloyd Boman.
Location: 0175.111.1
Oil Well Burning, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
Smoke from an oil well burning. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.111.2
Oil Well Burning, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
Smoke from an oil well burning. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.111.3
Oil Well Burning, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
Smoke from an oil well burning. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ed & Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.111.4
Oil Well Burning, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
Smoke from an oil well burning. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.111.5
Rig Disaster, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rig disaster south of Valleyview, possibly Cantex #12, in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Adolphson.
Location: 0175.111.6
Rig Disaster, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
A rig disaster in the Valleyview area in 1957. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.111.7
Rig Disaster, 1957
1 Photograph; b & w;
(No Description) Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 44.
Location: 0175.111.8
 
“Oilwell Expert Begins Battle”,
Newspaper clipping
from “The Edmonton Journal,” (?) [date unknown–1957] Story reporting the arrival of a Texas firefighter to battle the Guthrie blaze in 1957.
Location: 2003.53.847
Back to Table of Contents
175.112Oilfield Trucking (1) 1950-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding oilfield trucking in Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Bill Velie’s Truck, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bill Velie’s truck hauling an army truck from Ft. Nelson to Valleyview, in 1956. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.112.1
Ernie Simpkins, 1953
1 Photograph; b & w;
Ernie Simpkins with his water truck in 1953. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.112.2
George Simpkins, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
George Simpkins in front of Ernie Simpkins truck at Pacific Western Mud. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.112.3
Walter Kosik,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Walter Kosik, when not out truck driving, organizing the next days work. Copyright belongs to Edna Kosik. Original photograph number EK 10.
Location: 0175.112.4
Walter Kosik’s Shop, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Walter Kosik’s shop in the Valleyview area. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Edna Kosik.
Location: 0175.112.5
Walter Kosik’s First Truck, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Walter Kosik’s first truck loading a piece of rig equipment. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Edna Kosik.
Location: 0175.112.6
Walter Kosik’s Shop, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Walter Kosik’s shop in the Valleyview area. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Edna Kosik.
Location: 0175.112.7
 
Newspaper clippings, Nov 26, 1953
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotal stories dealing with the oil & gas industry in the Valleyview area.
Location: 2003.53.856
Back to Table of Contents
175.113Highway 43 (1) 1949-1955This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview cutoff project. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Road construction, 1952
1 Photograph; b & w;
Road construction near Valleyview, AB in 1952. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number GA 2820 4.
Location: 0175.113.1
The Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff where the road gangs would meet at the Iosegun River, September, 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.113.2
Manix Construction, 1952
1 Photograph; b & w;
Manix Construction building the road between Valleyview and Fox Creek, 1952, by the present Peace Pipeline (Pembina) station south of Valleyview. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.113.3
Road construction,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Road construction near Valleyview, AB, 1949-1952. Hank McQuad’s camp can be seen in the background. Copyright belongs to Glenbow Archives. Original photograph number GA 2820 3.
Location: 0175.113.4
Road Construction, 1950 ca.
; ;
Road construction near Valleyview in 1949-1952. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.113.5
 
“Winter Clamps Lid On Weather-Plagued Cutoff Project”, Nov 5, 1953
Newspaper clippings
from [unknown publication], Nov 5, 1953. Story reporting the problems facing the construction crews building the “Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff”, later known as Highway 43. Other anecdotal stories related to the construction project. [all publications unknown], Jul 2, 1953; Sept 10, 1953; [date unknown]; Aug 25, 1955; Aug 5, 1955; [date unknown].
Location: 2003.53.861
Back to Table of Contents
175.114Highway 43 (2) 1955This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the opening of the Valleyview-Whitecourt cutoff. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
The official opening of the Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
The official opening of the Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff in 1955. This photo was taken at the crossing of the Ioesgun River south of Fox Creek, AB. Hank McQuade held the contract to clear the right of way between Valleyview and Whitecourt for the original Highway. Copyright belongs to Provincial Archives. Original photograph number PA 1901.
Location: 0175.114.1
Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff Opening, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
A crowd gathers for the opening of the Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Doug Williamson.
Location: 0175.114.2
Opening, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Opening of the Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff. Pictured on the right is Melvin and Ken James on his shoulders. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.114.3
 
Newspaper clippings, 1955
Newspaper clippings
Stories commemorating the opening of the Valleyview-Whitecourt Cutoff (Highway 43) “The Herald Tribune,” Nov 1, 1955 “The Herald Tribune,” Oct 28, 1955 “The Herald Tribune,” Oct 25, 1955
Location: 2003.53.866
Back to Table of Contents
175.115Guys ‘n Gals 1950-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of people from Valleyview. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
On the Way to Sturgeon Lake, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
On the way to Sturgeon Lake. Back (L-R): Jim Reber, Elsie Holmen, Leslie Reber, Grace Holmen and Joe Clough Front (L-R): Fred Clough and Wayne Holmen Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.115.1
Group Photo, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Cliff and Willie Reber, Grace Holmen, Vi and Rick Soderquist gather around a car. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.115.2
Group Photo, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Back (L-R): George Williamson, Graham Bodeker, Tony and Carl Stenseth. Front (L-R): Anne Barron (Williamson), Olive Peaver (Moore), Ethel Barron (Williamson), Betty Bodeker (White) Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Fran Moore.
Location: 0175.115.3
Sturgeon Lake,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Sturgeon Lake (L-R): Lutie and Ben Bodeker and Marj (Suek) Bodeker. Copyright belongs to Fran Moore. Original photograph number FM 26.
Location: 0175.115.4
Howard Sharp and Fred McLaughlin, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Howard Sharp and Fred McLaughlin on horseback. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Nita Clough.
Location: 0175.115.5
1952 or ’53, 1950 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
1952 or ’53. (L-R): Babe and Marlin Johnson, Elsie Clough, Terry Johnson, and Inga Rasmussen. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 113.
Location: 0175.115.6
At Goose Creek, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Back: Elsie Holmen, Bud Brown Front: Joe Ressler, Grace Holmen, [unknown], Rick Soderquist Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Rick Soderquist.
Location: 0175.115.7
Back to Table of Contents
175.116Oilfield Trucking (2) 1950-1969This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of oilfield trucking in the Valleyview area. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
J. B. “Benny” Gordon, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
J. B. “Benny” Gordon standing by his first fuel truck in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norma Gordon.
Location: 0175.116.1
Price-Pool Pipeline Construction,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Price-Pool Pipeline Construction employees. They are unidentified, but their initials appear under the photo (L-R): H.L., B.M., and J.B. Copyright belongs to Joan Plaxton. Original photograph number P 34.
Location: 0175.116.2
Bill Velie’s Truck, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Bill Velie’s Truck shown on Main Street Valleyview in front of Jay Lassen’s Garage. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.116.3
Farnquist Trucking, 1955 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
Trucks belonging to Farnquist Trucking in the 1950’s. Some drivers and Ann Farnquist are standing in front of them. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ann Farnquist.
Location: 0175.116.4
First Bridge, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
First Bridge across the Little Smoky River east of the Atco Station Generating Station. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Bruce Hollingworth.
Location: 0175.116.5
Gibb’s Trucking, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gibb’s Trucking on the first bridge across the Little Smoky River east of the Atco Generating Station in 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.116.6
John Ramstad’s Fuel Truck, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
John Ramstad’s fuel truck on a location near Tony Creek in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.116.7
Norm Ramstad’s Truck, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
Norm Ramstad’s truck is on the left. He hauled fuel tanks, etc. The other one belonged to John Ramstad who owned the Esso Bulk Station. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.116.8
Gibb’s Trucking, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gibb’s Trucking on the first bridge across the Little Smoky River east of the Atco Generating Station in 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.116.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.117Seismic Outfits 1950-1960“Old Sunshine,” a Cree patriarch who eventually succumbed to the “Flu”, summoned his friends to his deathbed and spoke to them of a slippery substance, brownish-green in colour, that stank so bad it almost made me sick and was hard to breathe. He said he had taken a handful of the smelly earth and squeezed it hard. I threw it on my campfire – as soon as it hit the fire, the stuff burned fiercely and gave off a black smoke. And what did while people call it? (Thirty years later). The called it “oil”! As had happened at Leduc when the great oilfield was discovered there on February 13, 1947, the Puskwaskau oil strike created a fever of excitement in the Peace River region; landowners searched to see if they owned mineral rights. None did. Except for the CPR and the HBCo, or those having bought land with mineral rights from those concerns in early years, the only ones to possess mineral rights to their property were Treaty Indians on reservations. -“Red White Man,” by David WilliamsonThis file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview oil program. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
A Seismic Shot Hole Rig,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A Seismic Shot Hole Rig parked on Main Street, Valleyview. Buildings in the background (L-R): Chamberlain Store/Margo’s Café, Windmill (possibly Mr. Reber had a wind-powered generator), Willie Reber’s Blacksmith Shop, the Roman Catholic Church. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 43
Location: 0175.117.1
Seismic Outfit, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A seismic outfit stuck in the mud. Les Reber worked on this rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.117.2
Seismic Outfit, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Seismic outfit stuck in the mud. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.117.3
Keith Ryerson, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Keith Ryerson, GSI Seismic Surveyor. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.117.4
Seismic Camp, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Seismic Camp north of the Lloyd Boman Homestead in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Lloyd Boman.
Location: 0175.117.5
Shooting Seismic Holes, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Shooting seismic holes near the Mission at Sturgeon Lake. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.117.6
Seismic Camp, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Seismic Camp in the Berland River Area. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.117.7
Backyard Party, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
One of the geophysical crews having a party in the back yard at Babe and Eileen Bassarabs’. The Bassarabs, with Harry Denny, owned the B&D Cabins at Sturgeon Lake which they purchased from Arthur Taylor in 1946-47. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Eileen Bassarab.
Location: 0175.117.8
 
Newspaper clippings, 1953
Newspaper clippings
Stories relating to seismic surveying in the Valleyview Area; also an announcement of improved phone service to the Valleyview area, a direct result of busy oilfield industry in the area. “The Herald Tribune,” Feb 12, 1953 “The Grande Prairie Herald-Tribune,” Sept 24, 1953
Location: 2003.53.889
Back to Table of Contents
175.118The Roman Catholic Church 1955-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview Roman Catholic Church. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Church,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Outside of a church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 05.
Location: 0175.118.1
Church,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Gathering outside of a church. Outside of a church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 05
Location: 0175.118.2
Interior of St. Rita’s Church,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Interior of St. Rita’s Church. Outside of a church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 17.
Location: 0175.118.3
St. Rita’s Church,
1 Photograph; b & w;
The exterior of St. Rita’s Church.Outside of a church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 53.
Location: 0175.118.4
Rectory, 1958
1 Photograph; b & w;
Rectory built in 1958, with Father Gendre as Parish Priest, was blessed by Bishop Routhier on May 25, 1958. Outside of a church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 16.
Location: 0175.118.5
Blessing of the Roman Catholic Church, Feb 26, 1956
1 Photograph; b & w;
Blessing of the Roman Catholic Church by Bishop Routhier on February 26, 1956. Outside of a church. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number VA 08.
Location: 0175.118.6
 
Newspaper clippings, 1955
Newspaper clippings
Anecdotes relating to the construction and opening of the new Roman Catholic Church in 1955. “The Grande Prairie Herald Tribune,” Aug 16, 1955 “The Herald Tribune,” Oct 14, 1955
Location: 2003.53.896
Back to Table of Contents
175.119Frohbergers 1950-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Valleyview general store. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
S. Frohberger, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
S. Frohberger, the Valleyview General Store, was completed in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Karen Ross.
Location: 0175.119.1
Building the New Store, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Building the new Valleyview General Store in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Karen Ross.
Location: 0175.119.2
Building the New Store, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Building the new Valleyview General Store in 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Karen Ross.
Location: 0175.119.3
Valleyview General Store, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Valleyview General Store, operated by Frohberger’s from 1950-54, prior to building a new one. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Karen Ross.
Location: 0175.119.4
Summer of 1960, 1960
1 Photograph; b & w;
The store in the background was operated by Doerkson’s and sold to Frohberger’s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.119.5
A United States Army Convoy,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A United States Army Convoy passing through Sturgeon Lake en route to help build the Alaska Highway in the early 1940’s. The Hudson’s Bay Store and the lake are on the left. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST100.
Location: 0175.121.9
 
Newspaper clippings,
Newspaper clippings
Short story reporting new construction in Valleyview, including a new General Store building, and an advertisement of the new Store. [publication and date unknown].
Location: 2003.53.903
Back to Table of Contents
175.120Jubilee Theatre 1953-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs and articles regarding the Jubilee Theatre in Valleyview. The photos are digitalized.
 
Jubilee Theatre Program, Apr, 1957
Program
Program showing films (incl. stars and short premise) and show times for the Jubilee Theatre in Valleyview.
Location: 0175.120.6
 
The Jubilee Theatre, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
The Jubilee Theatre opened in 1955 and was owned and operated by Trevor and Ida James (Fell). Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.120.1
Trevor and Ken James, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Trevor and Ken James shown in the lobby of the Theatre. The Jubilee Theatre opened in 1955 and was run by Trevor and Ida James. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.120.2
Trevor James, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Trevor James shown with the RCA 16mm Arc Projectors in the Jubilee Theatre. The theatre opened in Valleyview in 1955 and was run by Trever and Ida James. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.120.3
Interior, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
A view of the interior of the Jubilee Theatre. The theatre opened in Valleyview in 1955 and was run by Trevor and Ida James. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.120.4
Construction, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Construction on the new theatre in Valleyview. Shown in the photo is Danny Goodswimmer, Johnny Chalifoux pushing the wheelbarrow and Al Racketti on the far right. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ida Fell.
Location: 0175.120.5
 
Newspaper clippings, 1953-1955
Newspaper clippings
Short stories reporting the construction and opening of the new theatre in Valleyview. [unknown publication], Apr 2, 1953 “The Grande Prairie Herald-Tribune,” Aug 16, 1955
Location: 2003.53.908
Back to Table of Contents
175.121The United States Army Convoy 1940-1945This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of a US Army convoy passing through Valleyview. The photos are digitalized.
 
A United States Army Convoy, 1943 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A United States Army Convoy parked on Main Street Valleyview in the early 1940s. They were en route to help build the Alaska Highway. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 28.
Location: 0175.121.1
A United States Army Convoy,
1 Photograph; b & w;
A United States Army Convoy parked on Main Street Valleyview en route to help build the Alaska Highway in the early 1940’s. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 27.
Location: 0175.121.2
A United States Army Convoy, 1943 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A United States Army Convoy parked on Main Street Valleyview (looking west) in the early 1940s. They were en route to help build the Alaska Highway. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.121.3
United States Army Convoy,
1 Photograph; b & w;
United States Army Convoy heading west to help build the Alaska Highway. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 29.
Location: 0175.121.4
United States Army Convoy,
1 Photograph; b & w;
United States Army Convoy heading west to help build the Alaska Highway. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 30.
Location: 0175.121.5
U.S. Army Truck,
1 Photograph; b & w;
U.S. Army Truck (part of the convoy) stopped on Main Street Valleyview in the early 1940’s. (L-R): Ingvald Tingstad, Jimmy Reber, Ken Tingstad, Willie and Gary Reber, [unknown], Lloyd Lundblad. Copyright belongs to Nita Clough. Original photograph number NC 31.
Location: 0175.121.6
Building of the Telegraph Line,
1 Photograph; b & w;
Building the Telegraph Line between High Prairie and the Big Smoky. It was built by the American Army from 1942-43 who contracted Oscar Adolphson to supply the poles which were shipped from B.C. to High Prairie. The line was later turned over to Canadian National Telegraph. Copyright belongs to Donnelly Genelogical Society. Original photograph number ST102.
Location: 0175.121.7
Convoy on Main Street, 1943 ca.
1 Photograph; b & w;
A United States Army Convoy parked on Main Street Valleyview en route to help build the Alaska Highway in the early 1940s. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Norm Ramstad.
Location: 0175.121.8
Back to Table of Contents
175.122Moving Rigs 1950-1960This file consists of a scanned copy of photographs of oil rigs being transported. Some of the photos are digitalized.
 
Moving a Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving a Rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.1
Moving a Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving a Rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.2
Shell Oil Co. Moving a Rig, 1955
1 Photograph; b & w;
Shell Oil Co. moving a Rig in June 1955. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to R.B. Kraychy.
Location: 0175.122.3
Moving a Rig, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving a Parker Rig in June 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.4
Moving a Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving a rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.5
Moving a Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving a Rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.6
Moving a Rig, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving a rig in June of 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.7
Moving a Rig, 1954
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving Parker Rig #2 in June 1954. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.8
Moving a Rig, ND
1 Photograph; b & w;
Moving a rig. Reproduction available from South Peace Regional Archives. Original photograph belongs to Ernie Simpkins.
Location: 0175.122.9
Back to Table of Contents
175.123Revillon Freres Counter Book 1910-1911This file consists of a scanned copy of a 1910 Counter Sales Book from the Revillon Freres post at Sturgeon Lake. This post was established by Fletcher Bredin and “Peace River Jim” Colonel James Cornwall in 1899, and sold first to Revillon Freres in 1906, then to Alex J. Williamson in 1924. The Counter Book details sales to organizations such as the Revillon Freres District office, the Department of Public Works building the Edson Trail, the Edson Grande Prairie Transportation Co., Flour Master, the Hudson’s Bay Co., the Roman Catholic Mission at Sturgeon Lake, and individuals such as the Goodswimmer family, S. Smith, Wm. & Michel Hamelin, Old Captain, Gee Ah Gee, Red Moose, Istelle & Atwen Thoma, Louis & Peter Kakinosit, the Badger family, Chief Alixis, Harry Garbitt, Albert Fishwoman, Standing Ribbon, Sergt Butler, Vital & Victor La Rocque, Enu & Leo Charl and Leo’s Mother, the Moosis family, Dry Apples, Isiar & Old Martineau, John Felix Ghostkeeper, Kee Wa Soo, Joe Medicine Man, Thomas & Pierre JeMoose, Albert Campbell, Ben Sunshine, Napiou “Buck Lake”, Red Head, Charles Sotto, Narpue, Chief Woodpecker, Myahcheesis, S.M. Scott, Abraham, Blackbird, Angus McLean, H. L. Adair, and Jos. Giroux.
Back to Table of Contents